We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Floyd
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Woodberry Inn(Meadows of Dan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Ridge Motel(Meadows of Dan)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveler rating
437
95
12
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
95
12
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe blue ridge parkwaybluegrass musiclocal artdecorated differentlygeneral storethe friday night jamboreecrooked roadshort walkchateau morrisetteback porchmain buildingcontinental breakfastoatmealwonderful hotelthe staff was friendly and helpfulstayed one nightrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
509 - 514 of 551 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Great welcome and info,Great room for the price,Great people and experience in the town. Will be back !!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiebuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

My family stayed at Hotel Floyd two years ago in one of their suites. We remember it as a very positive experience and were very satisfied. When we were coming back in January 2011, Hotel Floyd was our first and only call. We were booked for the Harvest. Moon, room #105, and were looking forward to our weekend away. We have been completely underwelmed! The room was very small. There was a king sized bed, one night stand, a dresser with a small fridge and coffee pot on the top, with a microwave stacked on top of the fridge. There were two small chairs with a very small octagon shaped table not much bigger than a checker board. These chairs were dinette-like as opposed to easy chairs which means that there was really no where comfortable to sit and relax. There was a narrow desk & a wooden chair. There was barely enough room for us to get out of the bed and to the bathroom at night. My wife and I each need two pillows to sleep on. The bed had two king size pillows. The rest of the pillows were decorative pillows which were not meant to be slept on. There was only one light in the bedroom (a weak 11w cft) which meant that only one of us could read at a time, There wasn't even a lamp on the desk which was located in a dark corner. Internet access was very slow. It wasn't dial-up, but it seemed like it. When we brought left over pizza back after dinner, we discovered that the fridge didn't work, so we took the pizza back out to the car so that it would stay cold.
I will say that the room was clean, nicely decorated and the shower was great. The bed was comfortable (except for the lack of pillows). The location is excellent; easy walking distance to restaurants and other entertainment.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank x_purposes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFloydManager, General Manager at Hotel Floyd, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

x_purposes

I wanted to apologize for any inconveniences we may have caused you and your companions on your visit to Hotel Floyd. Our rooms can feel smaller than normal with the local artisan furniture. We strive to make everyone's experience at Hotel Floyd the best possible, so we've tried our best to accommodate all while creating a unique atmosphere. The 2 bedroom suites are much bigger than the standard rooms and provide common area to those who chose to upgrade. Also, we've provided reading lamps in the guest room closets to help with the lighting issue. If you ever decide to visit Floyd again, please don't hesitate to contact me, Derek Wall, and I would love to help you out and provide a better experience on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

My colleagues and I had the great fortune of conducting several seminars in beautiful and ultra-friendly SW Va. To qualify this review, we travel over 200 days a year both domestically and internationally. We agree that our experiences at the Hotel Floyd rank in the top 1%. I was accomodated with the Old Church Gallery Suite which was not far from awesome. One colleague in particular described his accomodations as "super-fantastic." Traveling is not judged solely on the physical aspects of the experience, service ranks more than 50% of the experience. As an author of a book on customer service excellence entitled Championship Habits, Soft Skills in Hard Times, we give the 2011 Service Excellence award to Mr. Derek Wall, Hotel Manager. Often in our travels, due to air traffic delays, weather, etc., we arrive to our destinations at unusually late hours. This trip was not the exception. However, Hotel Floyd "left the lights on," assigned us our rooms with appropriate access, and left plenty of after hours emergency information. Needless to say, we were thoroughly impressed, but the story does not end here. Following a wonderfully long seminar day, we requested a late check-out, typical of our travels. Due to the lateness of our arrival, on the day of our engagements, we were both excited and exhauasted. Hotel Management suggested "We take a load off and rest up before continuing our journey." In an era where customer service appears to be an oxymoron, Hotel Floyd GOT IT! Please keep your passion for your industry....You are not just creating customers, you are creating fans! -Dr. Adolph Brown, III

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAgamechanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Hotel Floyd is the way all hotel should be. Each room is unique, featuring the work of local craftsmen. Only in Floyd can you stay in a room with the them of the the Floyd Country Store. Only here can you have a wonderful suite of rooms decorated with locally made quilts, furniture, tiles, even locally roasted coffee. In the warmer weather you can enjoy music right outside your room in the ampitheater. You can walk to the Floyd Country Store for a Friday nite of local music and dance. You can dine at the Pine Tree Tavern featuring good family style meals, even warm yourself at their crackling hearth. You can have a country breakfast at the Blue Ridge, just a short walk from your hotel and you can pick up fresh local products at the Harvest Moon. You can have a magnificant wood-fired, artisan pizza at Dogtown Pizza and you can wash it all down with a bottle of local wine, cider or mead. But don't go, because I want to keep it all to myself!!!!!!

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank jeanandjim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for the weekend and was very impressed. It is actually one block off the main road so you can enjoy the quiet and yet still be in the midst of things in a couple of minutes. The hotel was very clean and decorated to represent the area. Hotel staff were very hospitable and helpful when it came to local information. The rooms are very large and has a microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot. There is a spacious closet to hang your clothes in. There was pamphlets with additional local information in the room. The hotel and the area are both must-sees for people who enjoy country life. I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebeccapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews