We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Winery”

Chateau Morrisette Winery
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Floyd
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chateau Morrisette Winery and Restaurant is known for its quality Virginia wines, its scenic location along the Blue Ridge Parkway, its Black Dog Music Festivals and other special events, as well as its top-notch fine dining restaurant. The winery is open 7-days a week and offers wine tastings for $8 per person (for $2 more you may keep the souvenir glass). The tasting includes a tour of our winery. Hours vary by day of the week. The Chateau Restaurant is open Wed-Thu 11-2, Fri - Sat 11-9, and Sun 11-4. Open for lunch everyday in October. Guests may purchase wine by the bottle or glass and spend time relaxing in our courtyard, in a private gazebo, or from our terrace overlooking the scenic New River Valley. Live entertainment is offered every Sunday afternoons, June through October and we invite guests to check our website for the many special events we produce throughout the year, including the Black Dog Music Festivals.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Martinsville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful Winery”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The views are stunning and the location is so near to both Floyd and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Their gift shop has some very interesting and unique items. The restaurant has a variety of delicious entrees. Great side trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Treehouse-2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurDogBlue, Manager at Chateau Morrisette Winery, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your experience and hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    91
    34
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
familylovestotravel
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I have never been to a winery before so I don't have anything to compare this experience to but I did enjoy it. You must go to the cash register to purchase a ticket for the wine tasting. We had to figure this out on our own, would have been nice to have had this explained to us somehow. It was a little confusing until we figured it out. We did purchase several wines but later realized that some of the wines can be bought cheaper at the Galax Walmart. The area is nice, the views are good, they have lots of outdoor space. There was a wedding going on while we were there, the guests all came down into the tasting room which made it really crowded, not sure why...They just stood around for a while and then went back upstairs. I would return here again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank famllylovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful but mediocre”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the winery, but wines are mediocre. Service wad okay, but not outstanding. Would return again, but wouldn't go out of our way to do so.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurDogBlue, Manager at Chateau Morrisette Winery, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Andrew, We're very sorry you did not have an excellent experience while you were here. It's good to know you would return again. I would guess that you prefer the dryer wines and if that is the case, I hope you will give us another try after harvest. We have a new winemaker who has been making wines in France and Argentina for the last several years and he plans to completely re-engineer our dry wines incorporating more of the European traditions in winemaking. You should begin to notice a vast difference once those new wines are released. Our sweet wines and blended wines will stay the same for the most part as those are very popular and many of our customers are loyal to them. Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to seeing you back at Chateau Morrisette very soon. Let's hope that your next experience will be excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Wine Tasting Close to Blue Ridge Parkway”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The wines are good value for money and well made. We visited in terrible rain and didn't see anything of the outside, just a short walk round the wine storage room. Friendly staff but not as knowlegable as at some wineries.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurDogBlue, Manager at Chateau Morrisette Winery, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Pat M, thank you for the review. It's always good to know where we need improvement. Our Tasting Room Manager has been notified about your concerns regarding the knowledge level of the front line staff and we will implement additional training to help improve their depth of knowledge about our wines. Very sorry about the weather while you were here. You would certainly have enjoyed the view! Again, thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love this Winery”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Chateau Morrisette is one of my favorite Wineries. We live in PA so do not get a chance to visit very often. It's worth the trip, though. Great WIne, beautiful winery, friendly staff. Plan a trip, it's worth it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjbchlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurDogBlue, Manager at Chateau Morrisette Winery, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Mjbchlvr, thanks for the great review! Come back and see us again very soon. Pennsylvania is not THAT far away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Morrisette Winery also viewed

 

Been to Chateau Morrisette Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing