We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscany Comes to VA”

Villa Appalaccia Winery
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Floyd
Attraction details
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tuscany Comes to VA”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Small nicely done wine tasting experience. Pleasant atmosphere - good, reasonable wines. Much more enjoyable than the larger winery up the road.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We love finding new places for wine tastings. But this winery left a bad impression on us. When we walked in, an employee was sweeping the porch and didn't pay us any attention. We stood at the tasting room for over 5 minutes without anyone coming to greet or assist us. The lady who had been sweeping finally came in and said that she would be with us in a moment and added if she didnt do the sweeping it wouldn't get done. (It seems like that should have been done before they opened for business). Then she disappeared again for a few minutes. We were about to walk out when she came back and began telling us about the winery, but then she had us wait as more customers arrived. She then started her talk all over again. The other group pulled up chairs to sit on during the talk and the employee was very gruff in telling them that they could not legally sit for a tasting. She was flustered and started the talk all over again. We left after only a few tastings as her personality was not warm enough to keep us interested. The wines were good, but we won't be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Littletoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome location and really good wine”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a must stop if you are wine tasting in the area. The wine is very good - not your typical Virginia wines - labeled as Italian style but not really - not quite as robust but very very good.

While we were there they had an acoustic guitar player - Don? - who was very good and had a nice lunch with bread, olives, salami and cheese.

Don't pass this place up!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good wine”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We sought out this stop because of the dry wines (unusual in North Carolina) and we were not disappointed. The flavors were great and we bought some to bring home. We visited on a Friday afternoon and the winery wasn't really set up for guests so we got a "bare-bones", somewhat rushed experience. However, the owner was very forthright with opinions which made for an interesting experience. They probably have more amenities on the weekend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcbiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A little hard to find, but worth it!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Appalachia Winery is a lovely gem tucked into a "holler" off the Blue Ridge Parkway, close to Floyd, VA. Wines are made in the Italian fashion and they do both reds and whites you won't find just anywhere. I admit to being a white wine drinker, but found myself liking the reds as well during our most recent trip. Try this, really. I think you might like it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roanokefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Appalaccia Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing