We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome location and really good wine”

Villa Appalaccia Winery
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Floyd
Attraction details
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome location and really good wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a must stop if you are wine tasting in the area. The wine is very good - not your typical Virginia wines - labeled as Italian style but not really - not quite as robust but very very good.

While we were there they had an acoustic guitar player - Don? - who was very good and had a nice lunch with bread, olives, salami and cheese.

Don't pass this place up!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We sought out this stop because of the dry wines (unusual in North Carolina) and we were not disappointed. The flavors were great and we bought some to bring home. We visited on a Friday afternoon and the winery wasn't really set up for guests so we got a "bare-bones", somewhat rushed experience. However, the owner was very forthright with opinions which made for an interesting experience. They probably have more amenities on the weekend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcbiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A little hard to find, but worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Appalachia Winery is a lovely gem tucked into a "holler" off the Blue Ridge Parkway, close to Floyd, VA. Wines are made in the Italian fashion and they do both reds and whites you won't find just anywhere. I admit to being a white wine drinker, but found myself liking the reds as well during our most recent trip. Try this, really. I think you might like it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roanokefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
506 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Unfortunately, it was so foggy the day we visited that we couldn't really see the grounds. But you could tell when you walked into the winery that it's a neat place. And then to hear that they serve brick oven pizza in the summers....I'm sold. The wine is okay, so that's not what will bring me back. But I bet it's much better with the pizza! If you're going to be up here to visit Chateau Morrisette, you may as well drive the additional mile to hit this place as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small, enchanting winery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had no expectations of this winery, since we had not heard of this place before. We greatly enjoyed this wine tasting experience. The tasting was facililtated by the owner, who was friendly and easy to talk with. Tasted several wines for $5 which includes a souvenier wine glass. Very close to another, bigger winery in the area, so I would definitely recommend hitting them both. Beauiful setting to bring a picnic lunch to as they have a good amount of outide seating available.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mamaluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Appalaccia Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing