We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views, Great Food and Unique Winery Tour / Tasting”
Review of Chateau Morrisette

Chateau Morrisette
Reserve with OpenTable
Chateau Morrisette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Floyd
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Black Ridge Road
Description: Chateau Morrisette offers fine dining in a casual setting. Located along the Blue Ridge Parkway in Floyd County, Virginia, Chateau Morrisette sits at 3500 feet with spectacular views of the valley below. Chef Slade Mankins creates authentic Appalachian fusion cuisine designed to pair with the wide assortment of wines produced in our cellar. Guest favorites include Our Dog Blue paired with Bacon-wrapped Shrimp with Grits, herb crusted sirloin with Petit Verdot, lamb paired with Chambourcin, and our Chateau Filet paired with Merlot. Vegetarians enjoy a variety of dishes as well. With two estate gardens, Chateau Morrisette provides seasonal offerings to insure quality and freshness. Guest may dine by the fire in the colder months or outside on our terrace in the warmer months. And of course, a visit to Chateau Morrisette is not complete without a stop in our Tasting Room for a sampling of our wines and a little shopping for unique gifts and accessories.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is a stop you don't want to miss. From the short 15 minute winery tour to the wine tasting, to a fabulous dinner, you will not be disappointed. The tour guide gives you onsite to the family history and 'Black Dog' labels that you find on their wine bottles. The tasting experience is extensive and lots of fun. Make reservations for dinner after you enjoy the tour / gift shop. Our party of four ordered shrimp and grits, lamb chops and filet entries -- all were extremely tasty and uniquely prepared. The caesar salad was quite nice and my husband and son shared an appetizer egg roll dish that was perfectly prepared. The views over the hills along the Blue Ridge Parkway are not to be missed. This is a great stop for a special occasion dinner - we were there while an outside wedding was being held. We did not feel any less attended to and the staff was focused on those of us in the dining area that were not a part of the wedding group. And, of course, don't forget to try several of the exceptional wines!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MLL_KLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurDogBlue, Public Relations Manager at Chateau Morrisette, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

I'm so glad you had a nice visit with us. It can get a bit crazy when weddings are taking place and I appreciate your letting us know that the staff made you feel welcome and you did not get lost in the shuffle. Come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 234 of 349 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

Having never thought that Virginia produced wine, I was very surprised at the quality of the wine from Chateau Morrisette. I liked every wine we tasted! Did not stay for lunch, I feel that we missed an opportunity for excellent food as well. We have the Chateau on our list of places to eat when next in the Blue Ridge Mountains

Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurDogBlue, Public Relations Manager at Chateau Morrisette, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Virginia is producing some high quality wines these days and I think you would enjoy many of our wineries. I'm so glad you selected Chateau Morrisette as a place to visit and taste our award-winning wines. You should definitely include a meal at our restaurant the next time you're here. I'm sure you will enjoy it. Thanks for the very nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Fantastic customer service. Greeted nicely, with reservations we were seated promptly and met our server Kelly. Excellent experience from beginning to end. Virginia pit ham was excellent as was the barbecue chicken. The quiche, sweet potato salad and the vegetable dishes, carrots, collard greens and a few other selections were excellent. Many varieties of desserts to satisfy the taste for something sweet. Drink refills brought without being asked. All the covered foods were kept warm and replenished as needed, something for everyone. Today they had live music on the lawn near the winery. Plenty of parking and the surrounding mountains viewed through the windows in the dining area were outstanding. You will want to come back and visit again...guaranteed !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fred460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurDogBlue, Public Relations Manager at Chateau Morrisette, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thanks for the great review. Did you know that we grow much of our own produce served in the restaurant right here on the estate. These fresh ingredients are often what make our entrees so delicious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Everything about Chateau Morrisette is top notch. They have an excellent Sunday brunch which from Easter until the fall is a buffet. The stars of the show are the omelet station, craved prime rib and Virginia pit ham and pancakes. Also, they had other breakfast items - cheese grits, bacon, quiche with a mixed green salad, tabouli salad which had rice and wheat berries in it- yummy. Plus numerous other items. The had. Large dessert selection, but I found it lacking. I sat in the bar area at a table overrlooking the deck and Blue Ridge Mountains. It was a windy overcast day so eating on the deck was out of the question. My server was great! Wish it was closer to home!

Thank travelbunnyngeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurDogBlue, Public Relations Manager at Chateau Morrisette, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us and for such a favorable review. I will share your thoughts about the dessert portion of the brunch with our Chef and see what he can do to bolster the selections.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is one of the most unique wineries I've ever visited - including those in California. The grounds, high in the mountains, are magnificent; the winery itself is huge and lovely, and the wines have won many awards. The wine tasting is not to be missed. Open year-round with beautiful plantings outside and well worth touring the largest salvaged timber frame structure of its kind in the United States. Don't miss dining in the elegant award-winning restaurant and the marvelous wine/gift shop. I'd go back again and again when in Virginia.
It's located at 287 Winery Road, Floyd, VA 24019 at milepost 171.5 on the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Thank Arline Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Morrisette also viewed

 

Been to Chateau Morrisette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing