We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Morrisette

Chateau Morrisette
Reserve with OpenTable
Chateau Morrisette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Floyd
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: French, Fusion, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Black Ridge Road
Description: Chateau Morrisette offers fine dining in a casual setting. Located along the Blue Ridge Parkway in Floyd County, Virginia, Chateau Morrisette sits at 3500 feet with spectacular views of the valley below. Chef Cooper Brunk creates authentic Appalachian-French fusion cuisine designed to pair with the wide assortment of wines produced in our cellar. Guest favorites include Our Dog Blue paired with Bacon-wrapped Shrimp with Grits, herb crusted sirloin with Petit Verdot, lamb paired with Chambourcin, and our Chateau Filet paired with Merlot. Vegetarians enjoy a variety of dishes as well. With two estate gardens, Chateau Morrisette provides seasonal offerings to insure quality and freshness. Guest may dine by the fire in the colder months or outside on our terrace in the warmer months. And of course, a visit to Chateau Morrisette is not complete without a stop in our Tasting Room for a sampling of our wines and a little shopping for unique gifts and accessories.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and ate here for lunch today and it was a fabulous meal. They had many nice specials of the day but we chose menu items -Butternut Squash/duck Ravioli and a chili rubbed tenderloin. Both were excellent. The ravioli was so good I could have licked the plate!!! Definitely a place to stop when traveling on the Blue Ridge Parkway in the Floyd, VA area.

Helpful?
Thank PT30548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    69
    32
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An anniversary I will never forget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Chateau Morrisette was the most amazing wine/dine experience I have ever encountered.

The Wine: Exquisite
The Food: To die for (so moist and flavorful)
The Chateau and Landscape: Beautiful

From the tour, to the wine tasting, to the dining, everyone was very accomodating and very excited of what they do for a living. Thank you so much for making our 5 year anniversary special and unforgettable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelsSwiftly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Kentucky
Level Contributor
166 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Christmas Holiday Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The 4 of us drove from Roanoke, Va. to dine and go to the winery. It is a pretty long drive from Roanoke. As we got up in the mountains a winter fog came in and we had very limited visibility (about 30 feet). It was so foggy that we had to forego going to the winery and had an early evening dinner. A lot of customers were coming in with their Christmas attire. There was a very welcoming fire in the entrance room with the bar. We were shown to another room down the hall and enjoyed a nice blazing fire there too on a cool damp December evening. The fried green tomato appetizer was excellent. My salad was the quionoa and poached pear choice and it was very good. My wife had the shrimp and grits and she thought they were as good as she has had. Our daughter in law had the duck ravioli and our son had the cajun ribeye and I had the regular ribeye. Everyone thought their meal was excellent and we all enjoyed the complete dining experience. The waiter was very good and attentive with no time wasted on getting our meals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Corvette1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No other place like it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

From the scenic drive to the restaurant.....to the atmosphere of the restaurant...and throughout the meal; you know this will be an experience each and every visit. The food is exceptionally delicious. Again, it is truly an experience you will remember for many years and want to come back time and time again...great for groups, couples, or girls day out. The view of the Blue Ridge Parkway sets the scene and the meal completes this moment with friends, family, or that someone special. Chateau Morrisette also offers special dinners and a Sunday brunch. It is always a treat to dine at Chateau Morrisette....Mary W.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“My experience was was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I can't count my visits they have been many. I have toured Europe and the setting here reminds me so much of Germany. I make visits all year round. Every season give me a new look.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Morrisette also viewed

 

Been to Chateau Morrisette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing