We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay”
Review of Ambrosia Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Floyd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambrosia Farm
Ranked #3 of 7 Floyd B&B and Inns
Waukesha Wisconsin
Level Contributor
213 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at Ambrosia Farm for a night and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Situated outside of Floyd on a quiet country road just off the Blue Ridge, Ambrosia offers a pleasant place to rest. The pre-Civil War farm house maintains a quaint charm. As the hosts were out of town, their friend Sally was a most delightful caretaker. The breakfast was excellent. The room was spacious and nicely appointed. As we had the house to ourselves (the owners have a house fifty feet up the hill), we felt very much at home. Each room has a bath (there are three in the house and two in nearby cabins). I would very much encourage you to stay here if traveling through the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philomundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent three nights inside the main house at the start of Memorial Day weekend. The hosts were gracious, friendly and helpful. Prior to arrival Caroline had helped with suggestions for massages and dinner plans. ALL of her recommendations were excellent.

Our room was comfy and cozy. The only recommendation might be adding some drawers for a little more room to "unpack" a bit as we sort of had to work out of our suitcases. No big deal.

The location is rural and great for walks on the mountain roads. However, it wasn't so rural that we had trouble finding it or felt too isolated. We were ten minutes from downtown Floyd and went there often when we wanted to explore.

Breakfast each day was different and delicious. They use fresh ingredients from their garden when possible and each day also seemed to be vegetarian so that could be appealing to some.

We plan on returning and staying again as there is more to see in the area and we have relatives nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is our favorite B & B in the country. Floyd is a special place, but a chance to stay at Ambrosia Farm makes it more even more special. Located on a quiet, farm road, the property includes the old farm house and two side by side newly constructed cabins decorated in shabby chic style with super comfortable beds and great linens. Caroline's breakfasts are to die for - and extra special when the weather allows her to serve on the outside covered patio. We will return again and again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lackeyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I only needed a room for one night as we were just passing through the area. We found the Ambosia Farm's website a couple days prior to our trip and were able to book it immediately. We stayed in one of the cabins, not in the main house. We were told it was tiny in advance, and it was, but that was all we needed. It was clean and warm, with radiant heated floors. The water for the shower was hot without any off odors you sometimes get from wells. There was a glass of wine available upon our arrival along with snacks. The breakfast was delicious and ample. Now, the house was not elegant, as it was a log home which predated the Civil War, but was beautifully and simply decorated. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were soft.

Room Tip: If you're staying on longer than the one night like we did, then choose a room in the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Such a lovely restful place to make a quick weekend escape. My husband and I enjoyed our stay. Caroline and Craig are great hosts and the setting can't be beat! We were there at the end of the peak leaf changing and it was still quite beautiful. Also, it is a quick drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Don't miss the Farmer's Market in Floyd.

Room Tip: The cabin is very very quiet! If you are looking for solitude it is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay with Caroline and Craig at Ambrosia Farm that we added an extra night to our original two night stay. The farm exudes rustic character and charm with comfortable nooks to read in and quilt wall-hangings and decorations to make the visitor feel that they're ina comfy home-from-home. The convivial chat with other guests over coffee while Caroline cooked a delicious breakfast was wonderful. If meeting fellow visitors and enjoying their company is high up your list and not cloistering yourself away somewhere anonomous, as it was ours, this is the place for you. As a banjo player, the surprise chance to jam with a fiddle-playing friend of the family was a delight and so typical of the creative, warm and easy-going atmosphere. We loved the Floyd area and Ambrosia Farm and would stay here again in an instant.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I absolutely loved my visit to Ambrosia Farm Bed and Breakfast. The house was beautiful and has a long history with tons of character and charm, the grounds were beautiful and scenic, and the inn keepers, Caroline and Craig were incredibly warm and friendly. The breakfast was so delicious!-French crepes with fresh local peaches and cream, local farm eggs, and the most delicious grits cakes with garden fresh pico de gallo! The rooms were nice and quiet, and dark; perfect for a good night's sleep. No light pollution out there; just stars for as far as the eye can see. I am already looking forward to my next trip up there!

Room Tip: The big Master bedroom downstairs is my favorite, with its own fireplace and a nice big bed, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solara36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Floyd
4.4 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
24.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Floyd
Hotel Floyd
#1 of 4 in Floyd
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Mountain Rose Inn
Mountain Rose Inn
#1 of 1 in Woolwine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mountain Song Inn
Mountain Song Inn
#1 of 2 in Willis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
16.4 mi away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Farm

Property: Ambrosia Farm
Address: 271 Cox Store Rd SW, Floyd, VA 24091-5016
Location: United States > Virginia > Floyd
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Floyd
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing