We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight to see them back and beautifully redone!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flint Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Flint Hill B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a delight to see them back and beautifully redone!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Somehow we had missed word that the Public House in Flint Hill was not only back with new ownership but beautifully redone both in terms of ambiance and the kitchen. We made the 30-minute drive from Warrenton on a whim and were not disappointed at all. Not only is the drinks menu beautifully recast with an array of choices (and a broad, all-Virginia wine selection) but the new bar itself is lovely and defines a clearly separate space from the dining areas. Anyway, so as not to fawn too much I will say our dinners eaten outside were very good and the service was knowledgeable and attentive (as well as local ... which was refreshing in the "greater Little Washington area"). The vegetables were fresh from "Marvin's garden" growing merrily just steps from our table (Marvin is head chef) and the glaze on my steak was really well conceived (I didn't need one shake of pepper to make it zesty.) My wife's catfish was good and dusky. Maybe the Calamari wasn't exactly seaside level fresh but it was a good starter over drinks for two hungry souls. Bottom line, so happy the Public House is in reach again and that it offers a cool mini-trip in the Piedmont for either a night out or an overnight stay in the attached Inn rooms. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evanowenjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    18
    2
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
57
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

My sister gave my wife and I a stay here as a present. We took our dog (they are very dog friendly) and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The room was spacious and very comfortable. All of the conveniences were good and our room overlooked the Main Street of Flint Hill, VA. They have a sizable restaurant with patio dining as well as tables under a huge awning. There was bluegrass music the night we were there which was excellent. I am not sure of the cost since it was a gift but my guess is that we would not hesitate to go back and enjoy the country ambience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent one night at the Inn as a little getaway from Washington, DC. After a pleasant drive along Skyline Drive we arrived at the Inn. Check in was easy and soon we were enjoying the huge back yard. My husband and brother enjoyed the hammocks and our dogs enjoyed chasing tennis balls.

Our room was lovely with a large sitting area, king sized bed, and high end sheets and towels. A "dog towel" was left with a couple of dog biscuits since they knew we had a dog. (For the non-dog people they do have a room that is dog free.)

We enjoyed drinks on the patio and a local band was playing. The only issue was the huge rainstorm that forced us inside. We all enjoyed our dinner and took advantage of a wine sale they were having! We all enjoyed our dinners.

My brother and I were up early while our spouses slept. We wandered around the small town and enjoyed the quiet of the countryside. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcdogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden VA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We celebrated a very special birthday and the whole experience was simply amazing. Everything from the decor, ambiance, menu and service was out of this world! What a gem in the Shenandoah valley . A must visit for discerning travelers .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuppMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent the weekend of March 23 - 24th at the Inn. We were treated royally from the time we arrived until we left. The Manager John & staff greeted us warmly, quickly got us into our suite (the Washington suite overlooking the patio & grounds in the rear) and directed us to sights in the area for an afternoon visit. Before we left for afternoon sightseeing they offered us chocolate brownies with peanut butter and oreos baked in....yummy.

Dinner at the Inn was wonderful (steak and breaded scallops for me and crabcakes for the Mrs.) Everything was delicious, well presented and cooked to our wishes. The best part was dessert. We sampled a little of 4 different wonderful tastes - the chocolate/chocolate one is to die for.

On Sunday morning we hosted relatives with one teenager and a 10 year old for brunch. Chef Marvin greeted us and told us he would cook anything he had in the kitchen - just to our tastes. We had omelettes, pancakes, french toast, scrambled eggs, and eggs over easy - just as we requested. No one rushed us although we visited for some time after our meal.

Our stay was terrific from start to finish. Clean, modern conveniences, quiet country side, friendly staff, and wonderful food - all at reasonable prices. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Lodging at Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn was such a luxury for such an affordable price! The rooms are modern and beautiful; clean, very comfortable bed, eco-friendly facility. The staff were all very nice and accommodating.

We stayed 2 nights, spending our days hiking and exploring (SNP, Luray Caverns, various vineyards, etc.) Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn was located in a wonderfully convenient place for our plans.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend this establishment to a friend. We are already looking forward to our next stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We loved our stay at Flint Hill Public House. A bit leary before our arrival as everything else in the area was at least three times more expensive. We were pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful historic inn in a scenic setting. In addition to the four rooms upstairs, there is a lovely restaurant and a very nice small bar. The decor is sleek and modern, and there is a large outdoor deck to enjoy during warmer months. Breakfast can be ordered by those staying at the inn. Our steak, eggs, and home fries were excellent. The staff really goes all out to make their guests feel welcome; we enjoyed our stay so much that we plan to return again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sperryville suite and can highly recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAVI_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlintHillPublicHouse, Manager at Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Wow! Thanks for the feedback. Chef Marvin loves personalizing breakfast because it gives him a chance to interact more with the guests. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flint Hill
20.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
974 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
832 reviews
11.2 mi away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#3 of 9 in Front Royal
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
234 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caledonia Farm - 1812  B&B
Caledonia Farm - 1812 B&B
#2 of 3 in Flint Hill
27 reviews
19.3 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn

Property: Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn
Address: 675 Zachary Taylor Highway, Flint Hill, VA 22627
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Flint Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Flint Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than 100 years of history..Perched on a hill above the namesake village it overlooks, Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn is a large white house that is hard to miss. The building is a former schoolhouse that has been a fixture in the area for more than 100 years. In the early 1900s, a one-room schoolhouse was moved from the premises to make room for a new school called the Flint Hill School. Built in 1906, the new school was instrumental in educating Rappahannock County children until 1960, when the property was sold and became a private residence. In 1986, the schoolhouse/residence was sold and renovated and opened as The School House Restaurant. In 1992, the restaurant operation was leased as The Flint Hill Public House until it closed in 2008. In June 2011, new owners purchased the property and undertook an extensive renovation and redesign, hiring noted Washington, DC, architect Ernesto Santalla. The complete renovation took the building down to the bare walls and included moving an interior stairwell to the outside to accommodate four luxury suites on the expansive second floor. The new Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn opened in early 2012 – ready for another 100 years as a local landmark and gathering place. CLOSED MONDAY-WEDNESDAY. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flint Hill Public House Hotel Flint Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing