We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend at Flint Hill Public House & Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flint Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Flint Hill B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Weekend at Flint Hill Public House & Inn”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent the weekend of March 23 - 24th at the Inn. We were treated royally from the time we arrived until we left. The Manager John & staff greeted us warmly, quickly got us into our suite (the Washington suite overlooking the patio & grounds in the rear) and directed us to sights in the area for an afternoon visit. Before we left for afternoon sightseeing they offered us chocolate brownies with peanut butter and oreos baked in....yummy.

Dinner at the Inn was wonderful (steak and breaded scallops for me and crabcakes for the Mrs.) Everything was delicious, well presented and cooked to our wishes. The best part was dessert. We sampled a little of 4 different wonderful tastes - the chocolate/chocolate one is to die for.

On Sunday morning we hosted relatives with one teenager and a 10 year old for brunch. Chef Marvin greeted us and told us he would cook anything he had in the kitchen - just to our tastes. We had omelettes, pancakes, french toast, scrambled eggs, and eggs over easy - just as we requested. No one rushed us although we visited for some time after our meal.

Our stay was terrific from start to finish. Clean, modern conveniences, quiet country side, friendly staff, and wonderful food - all at reasonable prices. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    18
    2
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
57
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Lodging at Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn was such a luxury for such an affordable price! The rooms are modern and beautiful; clean, very comfortable bed, eco-friendly facility. The staff were all very nice and accommodating.

We stayed 2 nights, spending our days hiking and exploring (SNP, Luray Caverns, various vineyards, etc.) Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn was located in a wonderfully convenient place for our plans.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend this establishment to a friend. We are already looking forward to our next stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We loved our stay at Flint Hill Public House. A bit leary before our arrival as everything else in the area was at least three times more expensive. We were pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful historic inn in a scenic setting. In addition to the four rooms upstairs, there is a lovely restaurant and a very nice small bar. The decor is sleek and modern, and there is a large outdoor deck to enjoy during warmer months. Breakfast can be ordered by those staying at the inn. Our steak, eggs, and home fries were excellent. The staff really goes all out to make their guests feel welcome; we enjoyed our stay so much that we plan to return again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sperryville suite and can highly recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAVI_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlintHillPublicHouse, Manager at Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Wow! Thanks for the feedback. Chef Marvin loves personalizing breakfast because it gives him a chance to interact more with the guests. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amissville
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been frequent customers of this wonderful establishment and had many great meals there. We had often wanted to stay the night and last weekend my husband surprised me with a suite . Evette helped my husband select a great bottle of wine and the entire staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy with our suite. If you haven't tried the restaurant you are missing a great meal. It's very relaxed , you can dress up or dress down, entertain your guests there with no worries of bad service or meals. Or have a great date night with that special person.
I would give it more than an excellent rating!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We popped in on MLK day and learned they offerred two for one pulled pork BBQ, asparagus and mushroom quiche and martinis specials! All presented in a comfortable and classy bar. The outdoor area in back looked to be a great place for a party or wedding in warmer days. Attentive staff, knowledgeable about the area, an agrotourism county. They also spotlight local vineyards and prepare seasonal, local foods. Nice!

Room Tip: we did not stay in a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Girlfriend and I stayed here January 13, 2013. We reserved the Washington Suite. Be advised this inn is furnished and decorated in an attractive, contemporary fashion - nothing "Ye Olde" about it. The Washington Suite is spacious, with windows looking out on the garden and the Blue Ridge mountains. The sitting room has a large couch & chair, the king bed was very comfortable with soft pillows and nice thick quilt. The TV and internet access were great.

We ate dinner downstairs in the restaurant - both of us chose steak that was cooked perfectly and accompanied by a nice red chambourcin from a local vineyard. Because we needed to depart in the morning before the 11:00 lunch time, the chef graciously accommodated us by preparing and serving us an early breakfast that was again delicious.

We highly recommend staying and dining here, and plan to do so again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GREGORY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had an outstanding dinner on New Years Eve. Every course including the lobster was fantastic. The service was also great. Everything was perfect. We had dinner earlier in the year at Thanksgiving and were equally impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flint Hill
20.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
973 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
829 reviews
11.2 mi away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#4 of 9 in Front Royal
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
234 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caledonia Farm - 1812  B&B
Caledonia Farm - 1812 B&B
#2 of 3 in Flint Hill
27 reviews
19.3 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn

Property: Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn
Address: 675 Zachary Taylor Highway, Flint Hill, VA 22627
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Flint Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Flint Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than 100 years of history..Perched on a hill above the namesake village it overlooks, Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn is a large white house that is hard to miss. The building is a former schoolhouse that has been a fixture in the area for more than 100 years. In the early 1900s, a one-room schoolhouse was moved from the premises to make room for a new school called the Flint Hill School. Built in 1906, the new school was instrumental in educating Rappahannock County children until 1960, when the property was sold and became a private residence. In 1986, the schoolhouse/residence was sold and renovated and opened as The School House Restaurant. In 1992, the restaurant operation was leased as The Flint Hill Public House until it closed in 2008. In June 2011, new owners purchased the property and undertook an extensive renovation and redesign, hiring noted Washington, DC, architect Ernesto Santalla. The complete renovation took the building down to the bare walls and included moving an interior stairwell to the outside to accommodate four luxury suites on the expansive second floor. The new Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn opened in early 2012 – ready for another 100 years as a local landmark and gathering place. CLOSED MONDAY-WEDNESDAY. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flint Hill Public House Hotel Flint Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing