We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
$69
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Inn Motel(Front Royal)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Front Royal Motel(Front Royal)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
85
18
2
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
18
2
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrab cakeslive musicgreat weekendthis past sundaychefcountrykatiewinerappahannockvirginiacharmfarm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 113 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I spent the weekend here and enjoyed every second. The food is top-notch and the service is spot on. Each person on staff took time to get to know our group and make sure we were having a great time.

At the restaurant, I really enjoyed the fried oysters and fried pickles as appetizers. Also, I tried about every entree on the menu because I had dinner with a large party. We enjoyed every dish! The restaurant has a fantastic wine menu that features local wines. I personally enjoyed the Hume Vineyards Seyval Blanc (as well as several of the great beers they have on tap).

While in Flint Hill, I'd recommend spending a day checking out the vineyards and wineries. We spent hours sitting on the porches of Hume Vineyards, Philip Carter Winery, and the Desert Rose Ranch & Winery sipping bottles of wine. I wasn't a big fan of the reds, but found several good whites and roses.

In addition, check out the local hiking trails. We hiked White Oak Canyon and sound nearly a dozen beautiful waterfalls.

Enjoy your weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Charming staff and tasty food (especially the chicken parm, and the fried pickles appetizer). Expansive back patio is a bonus. Perfect lodging for weekend wine tours. Peaceful upstairs at night and lively downstairs in the evenings -- mingle at the bar with Rappahannock Co. locals, who are pros at recommending wineries and other excursions.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Charming getaway under two hours from Washington DC. We enjoyed the spa-inspired bathrooms and the luxurious bedroom suite. The staff is friendly and the food is excellent! Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn features terrific food and wonderful drinks--try the strawberry basil martini. Yes, basil! A perfect location for those who want to escape the bustling of the city but don't want to sacrifice luxury.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpodeuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Flint Hill Public House provides a contemporary get-away in an inn staffed with friendly people who really want you to have a great experience. The old school house was recently renovated with sleek furnishings and fixtures, as well as art from the owners' DC gallery, giving the entire place a relaxed yet upbeat vibe. The four large rooms upstairs are comfortable and surprisingly quiet given that this is an old historic structure. Get a suite if it's available - they are huge and a real deal for the price.

The fun bar and outside deck are a great place to start your meal - be sure to order the fried oysters from the bar menu. Delicious fried oysters on a bed of greens topped with shredded pork, lemon juice. Sounds strange but is VERY good. In the main dining room, steaks, fish and pastas range from very good to outstanding, and the service is warm and friendly.

This is a local establishment owned and operated by people in the community who are working to give visitors to the Shenandoah wine country affordable, delightful accomodations - with a few nice surprises. There are a few kinks here and there as they get started, but everyone was eager to go the extra mile. I could not have been happier with my stay and will be back.

Room Tip: If available, pick one of the suites - they are huge with king beds and are the same price as the standard king.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I spent last weekend at Flint Hill Public House, brought my pets, and had an incredible time. The scenery and relaxed nature of where it is located is great in itself, but the staff, service, food, and design of the place is really stellar. I had a great time with friends, visited the nearby wine country, and will be back again as a repeat customer. I rarely have enjoyed a quick weekend get away as much.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews