We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wines, great folks, beautiful spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fincastle Vineyard & Winery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fincastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fincastle Vineyard & Winery
Save
You added Fincastle Vineyard & Winery to your Saves list
Charlotte
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent wines, great folks, beautiful spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you're visiting the Western Virginia area and want to make sure that you visit a winery that has great wines, beautiful scenery, and friendly people, go to Fincastle! We stopped at Fincastle on our last day in the area and wish we had visited sooner. They are very friendly and completely unpretentious - an absolutely must for us. Their wines are excellent, and we were so happy to be able to bring our dog along to enjoy this wonderful country oasis.

My favorites of the labeled wines we tasted were the Chardonnay and Cabernet Sauvignon. I'm not normally a Chardonnay fan, but theirs was delicious with a smooth, crisp finish. We bought a bottle of each of those and it will be hard to keep our hands off! They also had a bottle of the test run of their new sparkling wine that we were lucky to be able to try - which will be the only champagne-style bubbly from a Virginia winery! It was incredibly good, and if they had it labeled and ready for sale we would have purchased at least one for sure!

Our dog had a blast playing with one of theirs, Max, a super friendly and sweet dog that loves people and other dogs. Their other dog, Duchess, a German Shepherd, is also very sweet, and sticks right to the owner's daughter like she is her own. So nice to be able to visit a place with our fur kid and feel like he had as much fun as we did!

Their tasting room is nice and very comfortable, connected to a half covered patio area where we enjoyed a glass of their bubbly and admired the scenery. If we had gone here earlier in our trip, it would have been hard not to spend the entire day there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewfickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here in March 2009 and it fantastic. We arrived late, about 9pm after travelling all day and they had wine and glasses ready for us as we walked in, wanting to give a taste and tour of what they had. I should have mentioned that we don't drink but it was still lovely to chat about there business and I bought a few gifts for friends.
The room was spacious, filled with antiques and the bed was deep and comfortable. We slept great. They had coffee and tea and snacks in the room and the breakfast the next day was a full meal cooked to perfection. I spent a few hours just relaxing on the veranda in the many rocking chairs taking in the beautiful valley view with horses grazing in the distance.
wonderful stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conniecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

beautiful house with large veranda on the front with plenty of rockers to sit on and look out at the view. My wife enjoyed this one night stay just off the blue ridge parkway. With winery attached we were given a tour and a free wine tasting - and thoroughly enjoyed it. wonderfully quiet and lovely views, beautifully decorated bedroom with a charming bathroom. this was yet another B&B on the Ridge that was hard to leave.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikkyfab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

This was my Me and my wifes first stay at a bed and breakfast. After staying 2 nights in NYC and 1 night in DC. We headed West to virginia. Our trip had been planned for months. I came across fincastle B&B on google and it seemed like what we were looking for. The location is secluded, very quite, relaxing. LARGE property. We arrived late and were nervous because it was so secluded, to is anyway. The Innkeepers stayed up and met us outside, helped us in, showed us to our room. The B&B is also a winery and we had a wine tasting upon our arrival. The wines are all made on property and all very good. The "Hybrid" was our favorite and we ended up purchasing 3 bottles. The room was huge, way more than we needed, and very clean. Bed was super comfortable. Service was was good and not intrusive. A "bell" was provided to call the innkeeper for any service. Wish we could have stayed longer. Breakfast was all homemade and fantastic. Very laid back atmosphere. Beautiful property. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Close access to blue ridge parkway. Great way to start a wine tasting adventure along the parkway. No complaints. Better suited for couples than groups. Great views.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wkuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central va
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Booked the stay thru a wine festival as we love the south west of VA. It was a beautiful location, away from main roads but accessible to them so that we could then visit to other locations we had on our list. The wine tasting room is beautiful and attractively attached to the B&B. The wine was great, the service and friendliness of the inkeepers was spot on and the breakfast was nicely served and was more than we could have asked for. The rooms were comfy and roomy and view was beautiful!
Thank you for a most pleasant weekend!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank all4sum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walden CO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

with graceful hosts, fine breakfast, even very nice wines sold at the adjoining winery. Managed to put together a dinner of cheese and other goodies along with a well built cabernet and felt that we should have managed another day to truly experience this countryside paradise.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDACHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fincastle
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
5.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville
11.9 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Troutville
Comfort Inn Troutville
#4 of 5 in Troutville
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
9.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fincastle Vineyard & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fincastle Vineyard & Winery

Property: Fincastle Vineyard & Winery
Address: 203 Maple Ridge Lane, Fincastle, VA 24090
Location: United States > Virginia > Fincastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Fincastle
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Fincastle Vineyard & Winery Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing