We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful break !”
Review of The White Horse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Horse
Ranked #1 of 2 Chilgrove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just had a couple of nights here, and the experience could not have been better. A gorgeous room, with a hot tub - lovely to use after a long day walking the South Downs . Delicious breakfasts, and suppers with lovely recommended wine. Lovely touches like reading glasses by the bar, rugs by the fire, underfloor heating in our room, and very courteous and friendly staff. Try the custom made Bloody Mary, the Lemon Sole, and especially the Chocolate Fondant for pudding.
We will be returning.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more, and have a hot tub - it's worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 540 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

The problems with my recent stay here were due to the incompetence and poor to indifferent attitude of the management and staff. With a little thought, effort and courtesy many of issues could have been resolved.

They tried to overcharge us by £180!

Food – luke warm food, uncooked completely inedible vegetables
Table service – a sarcastic remark was made when asked politely to change an item.
No television—we were told that we were lucky to have electricity let only a working TV. They did get it working for one day and we were told that it cost £250 for them to get someone out to fix it. The television was not working the next morning and was never repaired during our stay. No apology was given we were told they were unable to get anyone to fix it. This was a major problem for an older member of our party.

The walls of the rooms are so thin you can hear every sound from the surrounding rooms.

They tried to overcharge us by £180! It is not a mistake I have typed this twice.

I did ask to speak to Niki before I left, but she was unavailable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A wonderful stay had by all at the White Horse! Our room was amazingly comfortable and the brass bath was a bonus! We had a delicious meal with some lovely wine and all topped of with great service! We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoundWorldin246days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The White Horse is set in a beautiful location. We had a lovely warm welcome. The rooms are lovely, the beds are so comfortable, the bedding is of a high quality. The food was wonderful, the staff very friendly and attentive. This was our second visit, and we will defiantly be visiting again, can't wait!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ap64Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I've been to this pub before and liked the atmosphere, so I took my 80 year old Mum here for a drink. I got our drinks at the bar and I was asked if we wanted any food. I said "could I see the menu" and went into the restaurant area because the pub was very busy and the restaurant was empty. We had some very nice food from their 5 items for £15 menu, followed by a coffee. My Mum paid the bill, but when I looked at it, we had been charged 10% on our food and on our drinks including those from the bar. So in future (if we go back) I will get the drinks first and pay for them before we sit down.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marvin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed one night at this lovely Inn in the heart of the West Sussex countryside, The accommodation was excellent and very clean and décor tastefully done, we were lucky to have a room with a hot tub just outside in the secluded garden which we found very relaxing on a cool winters evening and again the following morning. We had a lovely evening meal with wine, the service was very good and complements to the chef , and also the full English breakfast the following morning could not be beaten. And we will definitely be back Tim & Tina H

Room Tip: Ask for the VIP suite with a hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dev0nish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed two nights pre and post a family wedding. Room was very comfortable-underfloor heating made them very warm and cosy. Excellent shower. Bed and linen made for a comfortable nights sleep. Family 'fish & chip' casual dinner was of an excellent standard. Breakfast was good but service a bit slow but we were a big party.
Hotel is set deep in the country-a perfect base for walking or biking.
Dont expect WiFi but all in all a very good rural retreat

Room Tip: We stayed in Stag which had an outdoor. jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris47_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilgrove
6.6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
5.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
7.9 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
952 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Address: 1 High Street, Chilgrove PO18 9HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chilgrove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chilgrove
Price Range: $118 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Horse 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the South Downs National Park, in acres of rolling Sussex countryside, The White Horse is an award-winning country inn offering seasonal British cuisine, stylish bedrooms and a warm and friendly service. Combining rustic elegance and contemporary design, The White Horse has won 'Best Pub' of the year at GQ Food & Drink Award 2015, 'Best Drinks Offer in a Pub' by Harpers Awards 2015 and has been awarded 1 Rosette and 5 Star Accommodation by the AA. The White Horse is also part of 'Pub Group of The Year 2016' by The Good Pub Guide and is 'South East Winner' in Guns on Pegs Good Shoot Hotel Awards 2015. The spacious rooms include king-sized beds draped in the finest Egyptian cotton and luxurious English wool throws. The en-suite bathrooms are a mix of roll top copper baths and calming rain showers, complete with handmade bath oils and soaps from Branche d'Olive. Some bedrooms also feature private patios fitted with large hot tubs. Rooms also include 50" flat screen televisions, free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk delivered at the door every morning. Dogs are very welcome and dog beds and bowls are available. Guests can enjoy seasonal British food including home-made bar snacks, fresh game, fish and seafood and pub classics. The Chef sources his produce from the surrounding estates and farms and from the South Coast. To accompany the food, an extensive wine list and some regional ales are available. Goodwood Estate, featuring a golf course designed in 1914, motor racing, horse racing and flying club is just 10 minutes' drive from The White Horse, as well as the Chichester Festival Theatre and Weald & Downland Open Air Museum. There is free parking and an helicopter landing pad at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fish House Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing