We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Horse
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveler rating
315
144
63
28
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
144
63
28
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubcopper baththe pubprivate courtyardfresh milkreading glassesstag roomvenisonsouth downsromantic getawayroll top bathlovely toiletriessecret escapeslittle touchesrain showermain buildingunderfloor heating
Filter
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 577 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My boyfriend booked us into the hotel and after seeing the website and how beautiful it looked i was so excited! We arrived and it really was beautiful, set in the middle of fields and forests and country roads. The pub / restaurant looked really sweet a homely, the gardens were gorgeous and the beer garden looked lovely. We went inside and were shown to our room - The "Stag" with the outdoor hot-tub. The private garden area was fantastic and the room looked great, but i pulled out the chair to sit at the dressing table and the seat was dirty with bits of food on it (not a huge deal) but there were no less than 6 flies in the room on the bed, on the window seal, on the cieling.. which we noticed straight away. The bathroom was lovely and shower was nice & big. Our 3D glasses for the TV were snapped too which meant they were totally useless so god knows why they were still in there. The moment we stepped into the private garden area we could smell something terrible - which we assumed was horse manure (with us being in the country and all..) but we opened the hot tub and the water had scum on the top and was not clear, the water was YELLOW and stank real bad. I'm really not over exaggerating. We don't enjoy complaining at all but we were so disappointed after looking forward to it so much but we just couldn't stay in that room, although decorated beautifully it was dirty and smelly. We went to reception and were moved rooms . The guy then asked how much we had paid for the room, we told him the price and he even told us that we'd paid too much for that room and we should have been put in the bigger room - WHAT?! so already they had bumped us, imagine we hadn't complained, i was completely shocked that he actually admitted that! Anyway, we were moved straight away & apologised to. The next room was lovely, a great 4 poster bed. NO FLIES!! It was clean and there was no smell. The hot tub in this room had definitely been cleaned and you could see the bottom of the tub (as you're supposed to) and you could smell the chlorine that had been put in. thank goodness. Anyway, now we were happy. We unpacked and went to dinner in the restaurant. Which is really stunning. The food was lovely too, but overpriced - although i guess you pay that price at any little countryside B&B probably. My boyfriend really enjoyed the lobster. I was thinking that we may be given a token of compensation for the terrible room incident earlier - like a free drink or a free starter, but no. There were also quite a few annoying flies in the restaurant too, my boyfriend said that the flies were obviously only where it was dirty. And looking at the state of the floor (we were one of the first diners that night ) it had obviously not been cleaned from the day before. It was such a shame that they let themselves down so much. The waitress was lovely and really friendly. During the night when we were sleeping i woke up so many times because someone had obviously left a gate open which kept banging real loudly in the wind - although i know this is probably of no fault of the hotel but i just had to mention because it was annoying and i couldnt get a good sleep, but the bed was comfy and the room was lovely and warm. We went for breakfast in the morning and i asked for scrambled egg on toast with beans - but they said they didnt have beans that day so that was also dissappointing, so i had it dry and my boyfriend had a dry fry-up but i must say the food was lovely there. All in all the place could be so fantastic, it is so beautiful but we really felt that they let themselves down in so many areas and we were completely gutted. That first hot tub experience was so bad! It's such a shame

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinziRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam K, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. Please be aware that we are reading these carefully and really want to learn from them and improve.

I am sorry to hear of your rather disappointing stay with us, we have started to action certain points already and I will be making sure that some of the finer details in the rooms will be triple checked from now on, especially the points you mention.

But, I am glad to hear you like your 2nd room and also that you enjoyed your food. The flies are a real problem this year but we have in the last few days really managed to get them under control through various measures.

there is a lot more to respond and discuss here so could I kindly ask you to e mail me directly landlord@thewhitehorse.co.uk or call me on 01243 519444

Kindest Regards

Sam King

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Two nights, unfortunatly. The rooms are much, much smaller than you might think from the photographs! The price for that would be ok in Paris but not Chichester! Their web-page-claim "spacious rooms" is a bold lie.
After a friendly complaint we were friendly shown two other rooms to choose from, so it wasn't just the one. The ceilings are very low, so we chose "Spike" - a room with a higher ceiling. Couldn't make up for the lack of space to store the luggage, though. The "luxurious steamer trunks" are there but useless.
The bathroom had: a missing toilet seat lid (the seat was a bit loose), a loose tap that missed the basin, a window shade that couldn't be closed due to a missing cord, and loose screws here and there. Whatever had happend in that bathroom before our visit: these things should have been fixed before letting new guests in.

Also the rooms are badly soundproofed. We could hear kids and talking from one room and TV from the other. Inacceptable and very sad, as the surroundings are quiet and once everyone was still we had a good sleep.

The web page suggests the rooms have "rolling views of the lush Sussex countryside". Not true. One side a patio, pasture on the other. In fact we found the landscape here rather dull, i.e. flat.

All this might be acceptable, but not at this hefty price (£ 320 for 2 nights) and their claims for "luxury".

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank_and_Steffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A surprising modern room awaited our arrival including an outdoor spa where we were able to stretch out in the nude - unobserved! The room itself was ultra modern but maintenance rather let the side down. It seems a shame what could be finished to a high standard was let down by lack of attention to detail.
The restaurant was excellent with service being polite and efficient and all courses well prepared and tasty. The extensive wine list included some really excellent bottles, especially those from Barry, the previous owner who now has his own wine shop just over the road in the old smithy.
This hotel is also very convenient for Goodwood and the various festivals that take place there.

Room Tip: Choose one with an outdoor spa and pray for fine weather
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PROLLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Food good..almost very good and a sensible collection of serious wines. Very polite, if struggling. staff.

Bill was wrong, white wine served warm,

But the big black mark is the incessant, moronic, cliched muzak which spoils the atmosphere. The place was half full on a racing night. When are owners going to realise that atmosphere is generated organically and NOT by playing droning Coldplay followed by Hound Dog? Intrusive and unnecessary.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank tomnewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My friends and I went to the White Horse for a Wedding Anniversary and their were about 25 other guests but we were treated like we were the only one's in the restaurant the bar staff and the front of house people were extremely polite and were easy to have conversation with as they were all very chatty. We then ordered our food I had the prawn Caeser salad and within 10-15 minutes we were all eating the food was delicious and we didn't have to wait long at all. As were staying at the hotel we all went back to our rooms and The rooms themselves are brilliant crisps sheets and a lovely bath. I don't no what Chris b was talking about in one of the other reviews you phone up and you choose either a bath or a shower as you can't have both. So overall the experience was amazing and would recommend it to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews