We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect getaway blending scenic wilderness and comfort”
Review of Paddler's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Echo Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paddler's Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Echo Bay B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our four night stay at Paddlers Inn in July 2014 was an extremely peaceful getaway combined with welcoming, friendly hosts and great paddling in the Broughton Archipelago. Bruce and Josee were very knowledgeable about the region, the environment, and, passionate about their lifestyle. They truly love to share it with others. The Paddler's Inn was a perfect combination of comfort and being out in nature. A hot shower, comfortable bed, very well equipped kitchen and fantastic massages by Bruce were welcome after full days of kayaking in a gorgeous setting. Bruce was very responsive and helpful in sorting out the details of our stay and water taxi service, even though we were a little "last minute" in making arrangements. Picnics on remote beaches; visiting Bill Proctor's museum; seeing hump back whales; and finding ourselves in the middle of a school of jumping dolphins were all highlights. We had a great stay and hope to go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

If you have ever wanted to surround yourself with a remote marine wilderness without the ability to live in the water this is the place for you. It is an extremely unique experience with a variety of opportunities to kayak and see bald eagles, seals, whales and actually hear wolves howl all the while knowing that bears roam the island. At the end of the day the inn is a comfortable and relaxing home base with hosts that make you feel welcome and taken care of. On top of all that Bruce is a spiritual magician for your body if you opt for a massage. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We won a four night stay at Paddlers Inn, and went there in September 2013. Bruce picked us up, 12 people in total, and loaded up our kayaks. After a two hour boat ride, we arrived at their rustic Inn--one large central building and two cabins. During the next four days we saw humpback whales, a "raft" of 300 dolphins, sea lions, seals, and bird of every type, As kayakers, we explored the area and observed thousands upon thousands of salmon, waiting at the river estuaries for the levels to rise so they could go upstream and spawn. Bruce and Josee are calm, helpful hosts, and their Inn, so far out in the wilderness of the Broughton Archipelago, is modern and spotlessly clean. A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The floating cabin (on a dock) is ideal for a couple.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I always wondered why Travel Agents do not know the true paradise destinations on planet earth. We made the trip through Port McNeill via car and the solid seaworthy Paddler's Inn shuttle boat. Upon arrival to this secret scenic sanctuary place we were greeted by 5 awakening senses. Breath the air filtered thru 1 billion evergreens and lightly salted Pacific Seas. The colourful array of Kayak Gear is the best in the biz layed out on the huge dock structure. Dinner was ready and delighted all the taste buds with the resident creative culinary team all smiles. Was it the wine? The quiet was mindful bliss... I was waiting for the sea otters and their pals to raise a little hell. The moment we touched the water on our voyage in the enchanting Simoom Sound, we felt the warmth. Thank-you Josee and Bruce for the most restful and pleasantly clean accommodations ever and forever! DO NOT TELL ANYONE! x.o

Room Tip: Ask for the romantic farthest float house if you are a couple. We were a father/son outing so the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StinsonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

You cannot talk about the Paddlers Inn without taking about the Brought itself.

My wife, 17 year old son and I did a 7 day trip into the Broughton. We paddled from Telegraph Cove and for 4 days camped as we moved from Knight Inlet, fairly deeply into the Broughton and then our final 2 nights at Paddlers Inn. The Broughton is spectacular in terms of scenery as well as remote-ness and isolation from the modern world. This was our 4th wilderness kayak trip so we are by no means experts. The open water crossings and currents were the most challenging for us thus far but certainly we did not find ourselves in an unsafe situation at any time.

We met several Brought locals during our travels and to a person they all gave us their radio frequencies and said to call any time if we needed help and they would come. This same, “we will assist if you need it” attitude is evident at the Paddlers Inn. Bruce is a Broughton guy. He has built the Paddlers Inn by the fortitude of his personality and it is a must visit for anyone who wants to experience the Broughton and its people. Bruce manages to provide a good mix of being there for you but leaving you on your own to do your own thing as well.

The Paddlers Inn is comfortable and welcoming. The rooms are basic but clean neat and a welcome relief if you do not love sleeping on the ground. There is a large cooking / common room where you can eat and meet other guests and the bathroom is again basic but clean and comfortable. The private cabin seems lovely at the end of the dock but was occupied so we did not get a chance to visit. There are several walks and view spots at and around the Paddler’s Inn that are amazing during sunsets or just to get a view of the area. Finally, the Paddlers Inn is an easy paddle to the community and Bill Procter’s place, again, both are must sees.

I would recommend the Broughton and Paddlers Inn as an excellent wilderness adventure for those that want to truly get away, see some of the west coasts remote and yet unspoilt wilderness and meet some of the true pioneers that still exist in British Columbia.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimCaruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The most idyllic vacation setting imaginable for anyone wanting a wilderness experience without the tents.
Unpretentious rustic summer cottage comfort with what must be the best kayaking waters anywhere. Immersion into an assortment and abundance of nature (birds, fish, whales; bio-luminescence; the elements of wind, water). Within easy paddling distances are sheltered coves for picnics, woodland trails for hikes, local cultural attractions (studios, museums), and places to explore (fish farms, abandoned homesteads), and always stunning views.
Our little group of 8 friends stayed 5 days, and it could have been -- should have been -- a much longer respite from the busy-ness of our other lives.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dana w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at the Paddler's Inn for one night at the end of a kayaking expedition. If we had known more about the inn before our trip, we may have changed our plans to stay longer. The location is absolutely stunning. Beautiful kayaking territory with very few people around. We kayaked in (over five days) and left by boat. It took us two hours by boat to make it back to the mainland (Telegraph Cove) and on the way, we saw many orcas, humpback whales - and even one breaching humpback.

The inn has a large common area with chairs, a full kitchen and a dining room table. The bathrooms and showers are also shared (we arrived with a group of 12 and there was plenty of hot water for everyone). I believe the inn can accommodate around 16 or 18 people at full capacity. My husband and I had a room on the second floor (above the common area) to ourselves which had one double bed and one single bed. There are no true dorm rooms here. I believe the most a single room can accommodate is three people. And there are at least two single rooms. The furniture was basic (what you would expect in a youth hostel or simple inn) - but the bed was very comfortable and everything looked well maintained and clean.

There is no restaurant or food provided - so you have to bring your own in and cook yourself (unless you're with a large group and make other arrangements with the owner). However the kitchen was large and fully equipped.

The inn is run by Bruce who has been in the area for years and has many great stories to tell about everything from cougar encounters to why you can't just pull a floating log out of the water and use it to build something. His stories were fascinating. Bruce is also licensed in several types of massages and offers these services on site. There are also kayaks you can rent out for use.

The Paddler's Inn is not the Hilton (and doesn't try or want to be). But it is a very comfortable, relaxing and down to earth place - and I'd return again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MellyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paddler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddler's Inn

Address: Simoom Sound, Echo Bay, British Columbia V0P 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Echo Bay
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Echo Bay
Price Range: $60 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paddlers' Inn provides sea-side wilderness accommodations.The Float-house Lodge sleeps 10.The Shoreline Cabin sleeps up to 6.The Cliffside Cabin sleeps 2+.The Float-house Cabin sleeps 2.We also provide water taxi transportation throughout the archipelago.Kayak lessons, rentals, tours and transport available, as well as on-site acupressure massage.All accommodations have kitchenettes well equipped with quality cookwares. Bathrooms, showers, and hot & cold running water.We are a Tourism BC approved accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing