We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Worth Your Money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fishin Pig

Fishin Pig
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Farmville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not Worth Your Money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Most of the locals were really excited about this place so me and a few friends tried it..... bad decision. The food was NOT good. The BBQ was bland and not seasoned, the macaroni & cheese was cooked too long and bland and the baked beans must have been sitting for a couple of days... my friends pulled pork was the same... under-seasoned and bland. Just because you smoke meat does not mean that its BBQ. My only good thing on the menu was the French Fries and the Shirley Temple drink that I had. The staff was very friendly and that was a plus. My stomach was kicking me by nights end for such a poor choice. Sorry Farmville, The fishin pig is not your finest.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank rhall26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    65
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appomattox, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Barbecue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have had barbecue in a lot of restaurants but this is some of the best barbecue you will ever eat and it is cooked fresh every day. The sweet potato fries are excellent and you must try their green fried tomatoes! They have great drinks and the prices are very reasonable. They also have live music several nights a week. The staff are all very friendly and Its a great place to go with family and friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneVa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Waited almost 2 hours for a table. Food wasn't that good. Never will I go back! Waitress smiled a bit but totally wasn't wanting to be at work.

Helpful?
3 Thank koi_loverr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Post, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SPLATTERED!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

BBQ was delicious. Homemade hush puppies were outstanding. Homemade coleslaw great, too. This brings me to the BBQ sauce. I had the Memphis (as did my son) and it was wonderful. His roommate had the Texas and it...welllll...okay...you gotta understand...the sauce is made fresh so there aren't any preservatives. This led to a little blockage in the neck of the squirter. Instead of using a toothpick or fork to unclog it (college students, y'know), he squeezed harder. When it let loose, it exited the bottle with tremendous force and, in an instant, there was Texas BBQ sauce EVERYWHERE. It looked like a scene from a Quentin Tarantino movie.

The staff was _immediately_ on it with napkins and club soda. The manager was mortified. He gave us all free Fishin' Pig t-shirts and comped the dinner. In an instant. I NEVER write reviews but the way the management and staff handled this was unlike anything I've seen before. Truly first class. I wish much success to this establishment.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner hear New Years Eve. As always the food was excellent. It is our favorite place to eat in Farmville.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishin Pig also viewed

 

Been to Fishin Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing