We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whatever you do..... get the Coconut Cake”
Review of Merk's place

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Merk's place
Ranked #7 of 44 Restaurants in Farmville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
773 reviews
517 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Whatever you do..... get the Coconut Cake”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stopped in for lunch - so so meal, but I got the cake to go. Oh my goodness, I was ready to turn around and go buy the rest of it.

Local diner flavor, great selection of sandwiches and subs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank orreo5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackstone, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Service....”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The food is absolutely delicious and I have never eaten anything that wasn't fantastic--once I finally got it. Service is slow here--really slow. Call it in, trust me. They have excellent take out service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Homestyle Cooking”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The pizza here is very good. The service is inconsistent; sometimes great, sometimes poor. There are lunch and dinner specials each day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank STRidgely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Looks like the locals gather here”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We've met friends several times at Merk's and it definitely appears to be the place where the locals hang out to eat and see friends. The menu is average. The prices are average. The food taste average. If you have any time constraints at all you may not want to eat here. After waiting forty-five minutes for our food we found that "a large pizza order is in front of you but it will ONLY be five more minutes." Wish they'd let us know the backlog soon after we placed our order so that we could have made our own decision to wait or to change our order. Won't be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvira3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere reminiscent of the 60s!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Have been going to Merk's ever since I started working with a local radio station. The outside of the building is so unassuming..but when you go IN there..WOW!! i have never seen such a comprehensive menu of the size of the restaurant and it is ALL prepared so well. they have steaks,hot dogs,ham,burgers, full Italian menu and a huge ice cream bar. The people there are awesome, matched only by the food.. Price is right,too! (try the BLT with extra bacon!!!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drdave57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merk's place also viewed

 

Been to Merk's place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing