We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't judge by the appearance... It will surprise you!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macado's

Macado's
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Farmville
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is one location of a small chain of sandwich shops.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't judge by the appearance... It will surprise you!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

At first glance this place will probably make you want to look for another place to eat. I ADVISE YOU TO STAY AND EAT. The menu is FULL of choices and the food is awesome. I got a burger (done perfectly) , fries, and a beer (pint) for $10. Where else can you get a great meal for that price? The bar outside is quite a cool spot to hang out and enjoy a cold beverage. Waitresses were very friendly (not to mention quite attractive too).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jlix430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    62
    23
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“How do you like your Club Sandwich?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We're not going to say that the appearance of the place didn't give us pause - but don't let it stop you from going on in - you'll be sorry if you don't! The food here was among the best we had on this two-week trip around Virginia and Washington.
Macado's has a very large menu - of every possible sandwich combination. It's just a little bit confusing - we had a hard time discerning the minute differences! When we gave up on comparing the fare offerings and just settled on finding a sandwich (we actually weren't all that hungry but it was after noon and a long drive to Williamsburg), we each got a different club sandwich - of which there must have been a dozen on offer. My sister had a California Club and though I can't recall the name of mine, it was spicy with smoky turkey. Very large and very good... and our server was absolutely a doll!
The rain was coming down in buckets by the time we were finishing - and we were made to feel at home without any rush to leave. I wouldn't have minded staying long enough to get another rush of appetite but the road called when the rain paused. I highly recommend stopping here when in the Farmville area. I'm so glad we did.
[As my sister said to me: Macado's is the kind of place you wish you could go to at least once a week to eat through the menu...]

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TinainToronto81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Slow Service/Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The outdoor deck is nice, but the service was very slow. The food was average. We had to wait to be seated even though no one else was waiting and there were not that many people on the deck. The smokers are on the deck, so if you don't like that....go inside. The inside seems noisy and crowded

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bigeye149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“LOTS of Sandwich Choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

It'll take you a while to go through all the sandwiches available at Macado's. That's their specialty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank STRidgely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Big selection, big sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We've been to Farmville three times and each time have eaten lunch at Macado's. The menu is almost overwhelming with choices and if you can't find a sandwich you want you can build your own. The sandwiches we got (rueben and smoked turkey club with avacado) were loaded to the point that we almost could have shared. Each came with a side and a pickle and we both chose the potato salad. All passed the yum test. Service was good. Parking is chancey. Take a sweater - it was freezing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alvira3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macado's also viewed

 

Been to Macado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing