We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volunteer Gap Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fancy Gap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volunteer Gap Inn
Save
You added Volunteer Gap Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 2 Fancy Gap B&B and Inns
Ruther Glen, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

This Inn (they have cabins too) has rustic charm and it is tastefully decorated and very clean. Each room has it's own character and details. The rooms look as if they were just painted and carpeted. I have been in pricey hotels where I haven't felt as comfortable. The owners are attentive, helpful and friendly. They respect your privacy but are available if you choose to socialize with them. The rates are very reasonable. I highly recommend this exceptional Inn. The views will amaze you, particularly early in the morning as the early morning fog settles in and then lifts the sun rises and warms the day.

Room Tip: visit their web site at www.volunteergapinn.com to view the rooms and choose the one that is right f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We've stayed here several times as a couple. The last time we went I took my parents and grandparents. The inn was perfect for my grandparents as there were no steps to climb. My parents loved their cabin. It's a great place to escape the pressures of daily life. I love having my morning cup of coffee on the front porch while looking at the mountains and ponds.

It is right off the Blue Ridge Parkway and only a short drive to Mabry Mill for a delicious breakfast! There's a lot to see and do in the area, if you can force yourself to leave the property. I recommend driving the parkway and going to Villa Appalachia if you enjoy wine.

The innkeepers are terrific and strive to make your stay special. Each cabin and room is very nicely decorated and I notice something different with each stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Clean, comfortable, spacious, tasteful decor, roomy. While not a B&B, we did have a coffee maker in our rooms, microwave and fridge. There is a single tub jacuzzi in each room.

The view off the back porch is beautiful of the mountains and land.

A simply delighttul place to stay at an incredible price!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimeili8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campobello, SC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Very nice room at a great price. The property looked nice but because of bad weather we didn't get to see much of it. The room was clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but it has a nice sized bathroom and a comfortable bed. We loved the way the room and the entire property were decorated with an antique motif. The owner was exceptionally nice and helped us out a lot when we got hit with an unexpected snow storm. She volunteered us some food since we couldn't get to the store and let us stay late. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ponytang66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge la
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This is our 2nd time staying here and it was even better than the first. We even changed our vacation plans up to be able to stay an extra day here.The owner is such an incredible pet friendly person who made us feel like old friends. Rooms were clean and very comfortable and it is so pretty there, and so close to the Blue Ridge Parkway. And the price is unheard of cheap. I was shocked at how nice the place was. It is such a joy to discover these hidden gems while traveling, this one was the best

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harpo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We just spent the weekend with a group and used the meeting facilities in the converted Barn. The whole experience was great. Deena and Ron managed a full Inn without a hitch and offered personal attention without hesitation. A beautiful place, super nice folks.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Best place I stayed lately... Friendly welcome, free wifi, very clean and best of all sooooo quiet that you feel like a newly born

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jengooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fancy Gap
11.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
12.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#5 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
6.5 mi away
Country View Inn
Country View Inn
#1 of 2 in Fancy Gap
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Primland
Primland
#1 of 3 in Meadows of Dan
5.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volunteer Gap Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volunteer Gap Inn

Property: Volunteer Gap Inn
Address: 579 Volunteer Road, Fancy Gap, VA 24343
Location: United States > Virginia > Fancy Gap
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fancy Gap
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing