We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Getaway!”
Review of Volunteer Gap Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fancy Gap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volunteer Gap Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Fancy Gap B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway!”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We've stayed here several times as a couple. The last time we went I took my parents and grandparents. The inn was perfect for my grandparents as there were no steps to climb. My parents loved their cabin. It's a great place to escape the pressures of daily life. I love having my morning cup of coffee on the front porch while looking at the mountains and ponds.

It is right off the Blue Ridge Parkway and only a short drive to Mabry Mill for a delicious breakfast! There's a lot to see and do in the area, if you can force yourself to leave the property. I recommend driving the parkway and going to Villa Appalachia if you enjoy wine.

The innkeepers are terrific and strive to make your stay special. Each cabin and room is very nicely decorated and I notice something different with each stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Clean, comfortable, spacious, tasteful decor, roomy. While not a B&B, we did have a coffee maker in our rooms, microwave and fridge. There is a single tub jacuzzi in each room.

The view off the back porch is beautiful of the mountains and land.

A simply delighttul place to stay at an incredible price!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimeili8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campobello, SC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Very nice room at a great price. The property looked nice but because of bad weather we didn't get to see much of it. The room was clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but it has a nice sized bathroom and a comfortable bed. We loved the way the room and the entire property were decorated with an antique motif. The owner was exceptionally nice and helped us out a lot when we got hit with an unexpected snow storm. She volunteered us some food since we couldn't get to the store and let us stay late. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ponytang66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge la
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This is our 2nd time staying here and it was even better than the first. We even changed our vacation plans up to be able to stay an extra day here.The owner is such an incredible pet friendly person who made us feel like old friends. Rooms were clean and very comfortable and it is so pretty there, and so close to the Blue Ridge Parkway. And the price is unheard of cheap. I was shocked at how nice the place was. It is such a joy to discover these hidden gems while traveling, this one was the best

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harpo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We just spent the weekend with a group and used the meeting facilities in the converted Barn. The whole experience was great. Deena and Ron managed a full Inn without a hitch and offered personal attention without hesitation. A beautiful place, super nice folks.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Best place I stayed lately... Friendly welcome, free wifi, very clean and best of all sooooo quiet that you feel like a newly born

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jengooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Stayed at the Volunteer gap inn in October 2009 while touring the blue ridge parkway and chasing the fall colors. This is a great place to stay, and i loved the simplicity, peace and quiet. The innkeepers - Deena and co - are great people. They were very polite and understanding even before we got here, especially during the reservation process. The check in and billing is handled very well.

We stayed in Cabin 1, which we really liked. All the cabins overlook a small 'lake' and are very quiet and private. There is a small kitchen, comes in handy since options for eating places are limited here. I didnt see the rooms in the main house, I just got to the office during check in and check out. The property is right off the parkway around milepost 190, and a short distance from Fancy gap. Fancy gap is a great place to hang out, there is nice deli and a wonderful antique store. A short drive north of the Inn and off the parkway is a small town called Floyd, very nice place to stop by.

Overall, I loved Volunteer gap inn and would certainly return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAmember10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fancy Gap
11.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
14.9 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
6.5 mi away
Country View Inn
Country View Inn
#1 of 2 in Fancy Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Motel 6 Hillsville
Motel 6 Hillsville
#3 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
12.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volunteer Gap Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volunteer Gap Inn

Property: Volunteer Gap Inn
Address: 579 Volunteer Road, Fancy Gap, VA 24343
Location: United States > Virginia > Fancy Gap
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fancy Gap
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing