We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A nice peaceful trip to relax.”
other travelers have booked this property
Two cabins overlooking a stocked mountain pond.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Two cabins overlooking a stocked mountain pond.
Open all year. cozy great room with gas log fireplace, pull out sofa,with a ottaman and leather chair
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Two cabins overlooking a stocked mountain pond.
Open all year.
cozy great room with gas log fireplace, pull out sofa,with a ottaman and leather chair
Fully stocked kitchen w/micro,fridge,oven,coffee maker,
kitchen table with pullout leaves
Cozy fireplace to warm your toes on a cool mountain night.
springtime
Loft bedroom that the kids will love.
Log and hickory porch with an authentic Amish swing.
snowy weather
trout fishing in the chestnut creek which is stocked
Loft bedroom with full size bed.
Two cabins for large groups.
Buffalo Mountain hike nearby.
entrance with a doggy gate
Stocked fishing pond.
View from the master bedroom.
landscaped and decorated
Cross country skiing on the blue Ridge Parkway right out of the cabin door.
pond view
Small mouth fishing on the New River
Blue Ridge Parkway Views
Snow Nov 1, 2014.
New River in the fall.  Lots of fishing guides, and canoe rentals
BRPW views
Late afternoon sun on the private grill area.
A bird lover's paradise.
We provide the fishing gear.  You provide the worms.
Lunch just minutes away at the Gap Deli.
Boutiques at the intersection of highway 52 and the Blue Ridge Parkway.
Nearby historic sites on the Blue Ridge Parkway.
One of the 6 historic rock churches that inspired the book, 'The Man Who Moved a Mountain'.
Spring time in the mountains.
View of the pond in the early morning fog in the spring.
Rent both cabins and have your family reunion in the community shelter.
Forget something? Less than 1 mile away, fast food, sundries, entertainment.
We welcome your comments.
Blue Ridge Music Center
The moon over the Blue Ridge Music Center just a few miles away.
Creek Bottom Brewery and Distillery
Galax's famous Ole Time Fiddler's Convention.
Local apples, pick your own or buy from the stands.
Summer daylillies on the Parkway.
Biking on the Blue Ridge Parkway.
Buffalo Mountain
Do your genealogy research at the historic Carroll County Courthouse in downtown Hillsville.
Follow the Crooked Road for authentic Mountain Music.  Several venues nearby.
Take a self-guided road tour of all six rock churches.
Tour the historic Hale Cater Wilkinson house.
Another rock church, one of six built by Rev. Childress.
Memorial and Labor Day weekends.
Roadside stands for fresh local produce abound from early spring to late fall.
Hike, bike or ride your horse on the New River Trail State Park, nearby.
The New River.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Fancy Gap, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ronpickle...
Chesapeake, Ohio
1 review
“A nice peaceful trip to relax.”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Great cabin and view. Caught a fish cooked on grill and relaxed. the owners were super nice and made sure our stay was comfortable. We do plan on going again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2016
Please return and enjoy the cabin again! The fishing is excellent in our area!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jputman08...
Archdale, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Get Away!”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Cabin is very nice and very well kept. The weather was stormy and didn't permit the fishing trip on the New River but it didn't matter. You cant help but relax and enjoy the scenery. Its nestled on a hillside overlooking a small lake with a Mountainous horizon in the distance.
We will definitely come back to this one!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K
Rock Creek, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just what we are looking for.”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Quiet. Clean. Beautiful inside and out. Has everything for a comfortable stay. Great place to unwind and refresh. A true value. Indulge yourself!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerReuv
Lilburn, Georgia
1 review
“Great place!”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We loved the cabin! We planned this trip to go to Mt. Airy and this cabin was a real find. The place was really nice and we loved the area. Everything about the cabin was great. I did make a couple of suggestions for the suggestion box. A listing of close by grocery stores and restaurants and the distance from the cabin would have been really nice. Even copies of menu's to look at. The only other problem we had was trying to figure out the electric heater and the light switches. Never could figure out how to turn on the spots in the kitchen. Other than that, we would certainly stay there again. I have to say it was a pleasure to not have to worry about bringing condiments since this cabin is fully stocked that way! Thank you for a great time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C
Stafford, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better Than Expected”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I am a single father and decided to bring my 3 kids ages 10/15/16 up to the mountains to get away for a bit. The drive through the mountains was gorgeous but when we got to the cabin we were amazed. The cabin was clean, neat, and stunning both inside and out. It had everything that we needed and more. The list of things to do in the area really helped. We went to the Candy Factory as recommended and the kids loved it! We also traveled to Winston Salem one day and Carowinds Amusement park another day, both were within driving distance. The fishing was on and off due to it still being cool out but my girls caught fish on night crawlers and I managed to catch a few bass on plastic worms!! Would go back again in a heart beat!! Thanks for the memories!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pond and the View
Liked least: the weather was cooler than expected but we cant control that.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2016
Way to go! What an awesome Dad to enjoy a mountain get-away with the kids. So glad you loved it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBar
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What's NOT to like!”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This property is a gem. Two couples and a shih tzu. The gas fireplace made it cozy. Appreciated the wi-fi/internet access (would've missed our NCAA BBall game otherwise!). Enjoyed a rather longish reading spell from the porch swing. The guys did a lil fishing in the well stocked pond early one morning. Made s'mores in the fire pit after dark. My daughter and her spouse were thrilled by the loft bedroom. Just too many thoughtful touches to name, such as the really nice body wash in the walk in shower, the full-sized coffee pot, coffee and filters, bread and eggs (perhaps left by previous guest(s), strawberry preserves, garbage bags, laundry detergent, dishwashing liquid, AL foil, dishwasher tabs, olive oil, etc. AND, it was clean; we could see that without looking hard. Being able to open the windows to enjoy the fresh air rejuvenated us. It felt safe and peaceful so we took several long walks though we could have made the short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Cooked our meals and decided the food and the water just tasted better here. We felt rested and ready to face the challenges ahead as we drove away. Yeah--pretty lucky to have found this cabin and definitely plan to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view, the layout of the cabin, the swings, the fire pit!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Cleanliness is so important to us as travelers so we know what you mean! We strive to keep the cabins spotless and in great repair.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie F
Eden, North Carolina
1 review
“Great Place to get away.”
Reviewed January 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

A few of my girl friends and I rented the cabin for a little girl time , We had the best time , the cabin was beautiful , the porch was fantastic , sitting there , looking out towards the mountains ! We made smores at the fire pit , tried to fish in the pond they had beautiful landscaping , with the prettiest flowers , it's not far from WalMart , so we shopped , and cooked , the kithch had everything you would need. I could go on & on , Jodee is a sweet heart. When you leave there you feel new and refreshed & hating that you have to leave. Can't say enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The porch
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2016
Thanks so much for a review and we try to keep our guests coming back, year after year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing