We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another great trip - Skydivers and Motorcycle riders” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Top Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mountain Top Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Fancy Gap B&B and Inns
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another great trip - Skydivers and Motorcycle riders”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We've been going to bridge day in WV since 1993. We always stop at the Mountain Top Motel on the way up and spend a couple of days enjoying the parkway. Prior to the new owner, Peter, taking over, the motel was in need of some repairs. The new owner has made numerous improvements and my wife and friends always enjoy a clean room and have made a number of new friends while staying there. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. We have also now started spending additional nights there on our return trip. It's also very convienient to have the restaraunt across the street. Great food and fantastic pies.

Room Tip: If you have several people with you, ask him about the rooms with three beds. If you get there in O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skydiver-Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    3
    4
    8
See reviews for
5
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midway, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The room smelled very musty. If you have any type of allergies I would not even think about staying there. We checked in around 10:30pm and checked out by 7am. In those few hours we became ill. It was a bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fancy Gap hotels

Turtletown Tn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed there for two days on the 3rd and 4th of June 2013. There were 9 of us ,our time there was great. The owner Peter was great to us,he showed us the rooms to see if we wanted to stay.Peter took some of our group down to Mount Airy for dinner in his van.The restaurant we found to be great,we ate there three times. The rooms we found to be clean and everything else was just fine also. Peter was the best host we could ever hope to have.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I expected a very low budget room, but this one was terrible! Water was turned off in the basin, had to turn it on and off at the floor or it ran constantly. A new washer in the faucet would have taken care of that. The room was OK but the bathroom was disgusting. One reviewer said they were given a chance to look at the room before checking in, I wish I had been given that opportunity, I would have gone elsewhere.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobson, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this motel 37 years ago on our honeymoon. We decided to go back this year for our anniverary and had a great time. The owner Peter was very friendly and helpful as was his manager Matthew. Thanks to both of them for helping us enjoy and celebrate 37 years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLINGHAM
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our room was moldy - you could smell it, and it caused my husband's allergies to come on strong. The windows were duct taped closed on all seams - is that even legal? Bedding was threadbare, and the lights in the front made it so you could read in your room at night with all the lights out.

We didn't shower, it was so gross looking.

Owner is very nice, doesn't make it a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelCallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I see a few reviews that must have been expecting more than reasonable. It is an inexpensive old style motel, but it is right on the parkway, our AC worked great, the bed was reasonable, the bathroom clean. The owner Peter took my reservation without a credit card. He let us leave our car at the motel when we were out at 6:00 am to ride on the parkway. We ran into some torrential rain storms for about an hour on the way back, so we asked if we could get into a room to shower, he opened up a room he had just cleaned and would not take money, but we insisted. We will be back on a regular basis.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tldroege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fancy Gap
7.2 mi away
Motel 6 Hillsville
Motel 6 Hillsville
#4 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Country View Inn
Country View Inn
#1 of 2 in Fancy Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
#7 of 8 in Hillsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
12.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
13.2 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Top Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Top Motel

Property: Mountain Top Motel
Address: 7791 Fancy Gap Hwy, Fancy Gap, VA 24328-4398
Location: United States > Virginia > Fancy Gap
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fancy Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain Top Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing