We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not only awful, but not cheap by comparison either” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Top Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mountain Top Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Fancy Gap B&B and Inns
BELLINGHAM
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not only awful, but not cheap by comparison either”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our room was moldy - you could smell it, and it caused my husband's allergies to come on strong. The windows were duct taped closed on all seams - is that even legal? Bedding was threadbare, and the lights in the front made it so you could read in your room at night with all the lights out.

We didn't shower, it was so gross looking.

Owner is very nice, doesn't make it a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelCallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    3
    4
    8
See reviews for
5
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I see a few reviews that must have been expecting more than reasonable. It is an inexpensive old style motel, but it is right on the parkway, our AC worked great, the bed was reasonable, the bathroom clean. The owner Peter took my reservation without a credit card. He let us leave our car at the motel when we were out at 6:00 am to ride on the parkway. We ran into some torrential rain storms for about an hour on the way back, so we asked if we could get into a room to shower, he opened up a room he had just cleaned and would not take money, but we insisted. We will be back on a regular basis.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tldroege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I have stayed in some dumps over the years, kinda like 'em, really . But this one was below my lamentably low standards. The outside lighting was bright enough to read a newspaper inside the room at 3am; trim pieces were ripped off the wall; the towels would make a Kleenex seem large and luxurious; the electrical outlets were so worn that plugs would fall out on the floor; the bathroom fixtures (tub, commode, basin) had stains that I've not seen north of Tijuana; the TV has been around since the Ed Sullivan show; the internet access did not work; the airconditioner's bark was louder than its bite; the bathroom floow was sticky (I was afraid to imagine why) and the sheets and pillow cases were paper thin.

The appearance of the clientel made me tangle a chair into the door to at least give me time to kill myself on my own terms rather than deal with an intruder.

LOL, all of this for $25 less than the splendid and new Day's Inn less than two miles away.

Too bad trip advisor doesn't offer 'putrid' as an overall rating!

Room Tip: Hahahahaha! Pool and Fitness center? GIMMIE A BREAK!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

This motel was just what we needed for the price we wanted to pay. The owner was on site and very friendly. More than friendly...he kept us entertained in the evening with great stories as we sat out front to visit. He will inform you of what he is offering, show you the room, and if you don't like it then don't stay there. His recommendation for the restaurant across the street was appreciated. Where else could you get a great tasting fish dinner under $10? Trout, catfish, etc...with a couple sides. Breakfast was just as good. If you need a name brand hotel with all the features then don't stay here. If you need a safe, basic place to get some rest this is the place. We enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yoopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

A group of us landed here on a motorcycle trip from ny to Nashville,the owner Pete invited us into his home and treated us to bottles of wine after bottles,his hospitality was only surpassed by his life knowalge.he calls us time to time to say hello,we are now friends for life and I am a better man for meeting him.the motel is just that ,a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Tell Pete mouse sent ya.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mouse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

My three friends and I have been staying at this motel, annually, since 1993 on our way to Bridge Day in WV. It has always been neat but never as clean and accomadating as it is now. The new management has done a great job. The rooms we stayed in had a coffee pot, with coffee available, microwave new linens, blankets, remodeled bathrooms, directTV and the WiFi internet connection was great. Management was also very friendly and made us feel right at home. We will definetly be staying there again. And for some of the best food and desserts around the little restaurant across the street is really convienient.

Room Tip: If there are 3 - 4 people ask for the room(s) with 3 large beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

This ranks as the worst motel my husband and i have ever stayed in. Don't be fooled by the website or free internet access. The room was very basic, which was not the problem. The problems were this: coffee maker, but no coffee provided and the outlets in the room were not the correct ones for the maker; no toilet paper and no staff on duty to provide anymore--a phone number to contact the manager was left at the office, but there was no answer and he was asleep on the office sofa the next morning when we checked out at 10am; restaurant recommended by motel manager was awful (tho staff were friendly)--my husband was ill later that night; taps not correct for hot/cold water in shower; bathroom sink dilapidated; towels provided were more like hand towels rather than bath towels.

My husband and I are not very picky people, any one of these issues may not have been such a big deal, however, overall and particularly the lack of staff on duty to address any issues made the experience awful. If you're driving down the blue ridge, keep driving to the next town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vdurrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fancy Gap
7.2 mi away
Motel 6 Hillsville
Motel 6 Hillsville
#3 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Country View Inn
Country View Inn
#1 of 2 in Fancy Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
#7 of 8 in Hillsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
12.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
14.4 mi away
Primland
Primland
#1 of 3 in Meadows of Dan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Top Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Top Motel

Property: Mountain Top Motel
Address: 7791 Fancy Gap Highway, Fancy Gap, VA 24328
Location: United States > Virginia > Fancy Gap
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fancy Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain Top Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing