We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grassy Creek Cabooses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fancy Gap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grassy Creek Cabooses
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The wife, I and our dog Toby really enjoyed our stay at The Cabooses. We were going to the beach in NC and needed to stop along the way. We really enjoy the Blueridge Parkway Area so we picked this area. We had thought about finding a log cabin....but in looking we came across Donnies place. The photos looked great so we figured what the heck.....WE SURE ARE GLAD WE DID...... Donnie you have a fantasic resort. Cant wait to stop in again. Thanks The Bishops

Room Tip: all the cabooses are Fantastic....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emmaus
Level Contributor
563 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a group of four old cabooses way out in the country that have all been refurbished into very nice accommodations. They all have jacuzzis, and a small kitchenette. We stayed here in 2009 while travelling down the Blue Ridge Parkway, and again this year in Sept. Very close to the Blue Ridge Music Center and to the town of Galax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
545 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Wy wife and I found our stay at Grassy Creek Cabooses to be the highlight of our weekend get-a-way. Perched on a hill with terrific views are 3 refurbished cabooses and a depot building. Our Caboose #42, which had a cupola on top, was comfortably furnished with a small kitchenette, cable TV, sofa, bed, jacuzzi, and bathroom. The place was totally charming and quiet. We brought a picnic dinner and were glad that we did; that gave us more time to enjoy the comfortable deck chairs and watch the clouds rolling over the hill tops.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Another great stay at the grassy creek cabooses! This time we took our son and his wife,we stayed in the depot that way we all stayed together! This makes my husbands and I, 5th stay at grassy creek cabooses and we love to visit and spend the night!! The owners are very nice and even wait for us to arrive late.We will return again for another stay!!!!

Room Tip: All cabooses and a depot!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minton2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamAL
Level Contributor
268 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our anniversary trip and we were looking for a place to stay around this area of the Blue Ridge Parkway. We both grew up around railroads and when we found this on the internet it became a must stop. Don Yow and his wife were gracious hosts and have done a lot to make this a wonderful place to stay, especially the landscaping. Watching the sunset from the wooden rocking chairs overlooking the meadows and mountains was glorious. After dark we saw something we hadn't seen in years -- fireflies (or "lightening bugs). The nicest part was how peaceful and quiet it was. The outside is equipped with enough lighting to make it safe to walk around, but not so bright to ruin the peacefulness of the countryside.

The place is easy to find if you simply follow the directions on his webpage. Watch carefully because several of the mile markers along the parkway are missing. http://www.grassycreekcabooses.com.

The caboose was rustic, inside and out -- just as they showed on their webpage -- and comfortable. There were little touches (like the dimmer for the lights over the Jacuzzi) that made it very cozy, and plenty of hot water to keep it warm. This was especially nice after nine hours on the Parkway. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom had a good size shower in it. They had plates, bowls, and silverware so you could fix yourself something to eat using the microwave and toaster oven. The caboose also included a coffee-maker and coffee for the morning. We had breakfast at Mabry Mill just about 30 minutes away.

We had cell phone service (but no internet -- which I liked). The caboose had an older style television (very good quality) and DirectTV and a large variety of channels.

We are both very glad that we stopped here and would love to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveTravelingOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

there are 3 railroad caboose cabins all a little different but all have a two person jacuzzi tub and a private bathroom.They are a great find in the mountains of fancy gap Virginia!!!! very private and secluded great for a romantic weekend.The owner was very nice and helpful with directions and info..... cant wait to spend another day or two there!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Minton2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fancy Gap
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
8.4 mi away
Primland
Primland
#1 of 3 in Meadows of Dan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Motel 6 Hillsville
Motel 6 Hillsville
#4 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country View Inn
Country View Inn
#1 of 2 in Fancy Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassy Creek Cabooses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassy Creek Cabooses

Property: Grassy Creek Cabooses
Address: 278 Caboose Ln, Fancy Gap, VA 24328-4319
Location: United States > Virginia > Fancy Gap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Fancy Gap
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing