We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bust needs updated”
Review of Scottish Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scottish Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fancy Gap
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The beds were very comfortable, room smelled okay. Lobby smelled of cigarette smoke so we didn't eat in there, the rooms need updated, okay hotel in a pinch. Could hear everything going on in the next room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firechick10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 108 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Doors on rooms are hard to get shut.house keeping poor.There was soap pieces left in shower from the last guess.We are non smokers.When we went into lobby to get breakfast (donuts, bagels, coffee) the first thing you smelled was cigarette.smoke.We did not stay in there.If you had to stop in fancy gap it would be a okay stay But not for me.tk

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It is really convenient for the Hillsville Antique and Gun Show, but leaves a lot to be desired.
Sink looked like someone had cooked in it, tub would not drain, valve for shower had as much going into tub as shower head,and carpet was sticky to bare feet (not sure why, maybe it had been cleaned incorrectly), sheets were old and knotty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way north from Florida. There were no fitted sheets on the bed, the pillows were half the size of regular pillows and the room was dingy. At breakfast there were a few stale doughnuts, 2 stale bagels and some dry cereal (no milk provided). No coffee or juice provided either. Since the motel is on top of a hill you get a wonderful view of the truck stop at the bottom of the hill. All night long you hear trucks pulling in and out and you get to smell diesel fumes. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dunnmovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were forced to stop here on our drive home from a cruise because the weather was bad. We were tired, it was foggy and this hotel was right off the road. At first it seemed like a decent hotel, but then again it was the middle of the night.

The rooms were average and nothing fancy and not at all what we expect from a Days Inn. We checked the beds and everything seemed ok, but they weren't the most comfortable. Thank goodness we were only staying 1 night.

My oldest daughter and her boyfriend took 1 bed and we took the other. I noticed something weird about it. There were no fitted sheets on ours, but there was on hers??? They had just thrown a regular sheet over the mattress. Weird. Well the rest of the night we would battle that sheet trying to keep it on the bed with no success. :(

They had a continental breakfast in the morning and it was just nasty and tasted old. They didn't even have much out and they had cereal, but no milk. Donuts tasted old and stale. The weird thing about this was we stayed on the back side and there wasn't a way to get to the front to the lobby without walking all the way around the building. It was raining and this made it a bad experience trying to even get there.

We would not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitsugirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Therese D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Scottish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn

Address: 142 Kelly Rd, Route 1, Fancy Gap, VA 24328-2542 (Formerly Days Inn Fancy Gap)
Location: United States > Virginia > Fancy Gap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fancy Gap
Price Range: $61 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scottish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Fancy Gap Hotel Fancy Gap
Fancy Gap Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing