We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good bust needs updated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scottish Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fancy Gap
Hazard, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good bust needs updated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The beds were very comfortable, room smelled okay. Lobby smelled of cigarette smoke so we didn't eat in there, the rooms need updated, okay hotel in a pinch. Could hear everything going on in the next room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firechick10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    33
    26
    26
See reviews for
37
29
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Doors on rooms are hard to get shut.house keeping poor.There was soap pieces left in shower from the last guess.We are non smokers.When we went into lobby to get breakfast (donuts, bagels, coffee) the first thing you smelled was cigarette.smoke.We did not stay in there.If you had to stop in fancy gap it would be a okay stay But not for me.tk

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It is really convenient for the Hillsville Antique and Gun Show, but leaves a lot to be desired.
Sink looked like someone had cooked in it, tub would not drain, valve for shower had as much going into tub as shower head,and carpet was sticky to bare feet (not sure why, maybe it had been cleaned incorrectly), sheets were old and knotty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fancy Gap hotels

Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way north from Florida. There were no fitted sheets on the bed, the pillows were half the size of regular pillows and the room was dingy. At breakfast there were a few stale doughnuts, 2 stale bagels and some dry cereal (no milk provided). No coffee or juice provided either. Since the motel is on top of a hill you get a wonderful view of the truck stop at the bottom of the hill. All night long you hear trucks pulling in and out and you get to smell diesel fumes. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunnmovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were forced to stop here on our drive home from a cruise because the weather was bad. We were tired, it was foggy and this hotel was right off the road. At first it seemed like a decent hotel, but then again it was the middle of the night.

The rooms were average and nothing fancy and not at all what we expect from a Days Inn. We checked the beds and everything seemed ok, but they weren't the most comfortable. Thank goodness we were only staying 1 night.

My oldest daughter and her boyfriend took 1 bed and we took the other. I noticed something weird about it. There were no fitted sheets on ours, but there was on hers??? They had just thrown a regular sheet over the mattress. Weird. Well the rest of the night we would battle that sheet trying to keep it on the bed with no success. :(

They had a continental breakfast in the morning and it was just nasty and tasted old. They didn't even have much out and they had cereal, but no milk. Donuts tasted old and stale. The weird thing about this was we stayed on the back side and there wasn't a way to get to the front to the lobby without walking all the way around the building. It was raining and this made it a bad experience trying to even get there.

We would not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitsugirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fancy Gap
0.4 mi away
Country View Inn
Country View Inn
#1 of 2 in Fancy Gap
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
13.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Motel 6 Hillsville
Motel 6 Hillsville
#3 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
6.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
Red Roof Inn Hillsville
#7 of 8 in Hillsville
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn

Property: Scottish Inn
Address: 142 Kelly Rd, Route 1, Fancy Gap, VA 24328-2542 (Formerly Days Inn Fancy Gap)
Location: United States > Virginia > Fancy Gap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fancy Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Scottish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Fancy Gap Hotel Fancy Gap
Fancy Gap Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing