We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“buyer beware of this hotel!!!!!”
Review of Scottish Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scottish Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fancy Gap
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Where to began. When we checked in the lady was rude first of all. I asked some questions and felt like, the lady looked she could care less about my needs. When arriving to the room, it smelled bad like meldew and sewer. Got ready to take a shower an found a hand towel with some kind a CRAP on it, Big Brown Something on it. Nasty!!! The beds are very uncomfortable, pillows are flat. The rooms are paper thin. There's suppose to be quiet time hours not here. It was nosie all night. After drive 10 hours we wanted to sleep in a quiet hotel. Not here. There is nothing around to find to eat in the area. The next morning apon getting up my kids were playing on the beds and one of them pulled the flat sheet that was suppose a fitted sheet pulled back a found PEE STAINS on the mattress on both beds in the room. Then on my bed there a red stain of some sort. Could'nt explain what. The breakfast room was smaller then my kids room at home. Breakfast was nasty. Frozen food bagels, donuts etc. I contacted the main hotel branch. They told me some one would contact me that day. It took two weeks by mail. I got a reply back, they are sending a check for half back of the room rate. And sent pictures to them, noone said sorry for anything from them. I still have the pics and will post them here. So BEWARE OF THIS PLACE. I did not complain to the front office after the staff was rude.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank dough1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 108 of 108 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2008

This was very close to Rt. 77 and we needed that, got in late. It was a clean Motel and we would stay there again. It is what I expected for the price.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank LouiseFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2006

We stayed here because we wanted a starting site on Blue Ridge to drive to Asheville, NC. There is nothing "fancy" or even close in Fancy Gap. Front desk sent us to a dive for
dinner. Better to stay a few miles away in Hillsville where are there are several hotels and restaurants, though nothing upscale. No shampoo or conditioner in room. Front desk employee did give me some small bottles that had been previously OPENED.

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank BocaGators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brooksville Florida
14
Reviewed July 24, 2003

My husband and I were in serious a car accident on May 13,2002 on Interstate 77 we spent the night at the Days Inn needless to say we totaled our car. we had no choice but to leave the room a mess (sry about that) clay and glass all over the room. We were not badly injured husband cuts on arm, myself sprained both Knees mostly shaken up and upset,scared. lol My deer meat made it home ok. I want to say thank you to the gentleman that helped us in the things that we needed mostly towels and garbage bags for our things, and plenty of shampoo to get the clay and dirt off us. Thank you again and would recomend your establishment to anyone coming through your area.

Dorothy Painter Woodbury

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank wolfgang3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fancy Gap
0.4 mi away
Country View Inn
Country View Inn
#1 of 2 in Fancy Gap
50 reviews
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
465 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountain Top Motel
Mountain Top Motel
#2 of 2 in Fancy Gap
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn

Address: 142 Kelly Rd, Route 1, Fancy Gap, VA 24328-2542 (Formerly Days Inn Fancy Gap)
Location: United States > Virginia > Fancy Gap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fancy Gap
Price Range: $62 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scottish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Fancy Gap Hotel Fancy Gap
Fancy Gap Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing