We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”

White Oak Civil War Museum
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Falmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private Civil War museum.
Angola, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have visited this museum several times. I believe it is the best privately owned civil war museum I have ever been to. The curator has a wonderful knowledge of the area. Die-hard civil war buffs will love it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family Museum”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My favorite aspect of this museum is that it is the personal collection of a citizen of Fredericksburg/Stafford. He and his family walk around the museum and personally share moving stories of the collection - a collection for which they take great pride! Well worth the visit for the small-town feel with a huge collection - I was surprised - pleasantly so!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For die-hard civil war buffs only”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you're interested in seeing hundreds of bullets upon bullets, than this is your place. Otherwise, the other artifacts and the description of the artifacts aren't worth the visit unless you are an extreme die-hard civil war buff.

Helpful?
1 Thank DaniC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambrigdeshire, uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Real Museum”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

White Oak Civil War Museum is a wonderful small museum. It houses thousands of Civil War artifacts and photographs. Its curator is from the local area and has a great depth of knowledge on the war in general, and particularly how the war was waged in the local area. Wonderful place for the whole family to visit, even if you're not a huge Civil War buff. Even if walking around the battlefields isn't your thing (it's not mine), you will probably enjoy this museum.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank car10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden in Plain Site”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I had driven by this almost daily. Our family visited with our son's Cub Scout Den. It is an interesting collection of local history.

Helpful?
Thank foxteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Oak Civil War Museum also viewed

 

Been to White Oak Civil War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing