We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent value, comfortable beds, close to Inova Fairfax Hospital” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence
nc
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent value, comfortable beds, close to Inova Fairfax Hospital”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for one night with one of my teenage children and my two youngest children. We were visiting a very sick relative at Inova Hospital Fairfax. I chose the hotel due to its proximity to the hospital and because of the hourly shuttle service. The hotel is very attractive and clean, our rate was $89.00 a night which I thought was very reasonable. It looks like a full service hotel but did not have a valet at the door to help us with our luggage or park our car and at first I was disappointed but figured for the rate I probably should not expect it. Check in was easy. The rooms are very comfortable and the bed and sheets were awesome. We had a view of trees and the hotel felt very safe and private. We were very tired due to the stressful nature of our visit and were very thankful. The restaurant food was excellent and we ordered room service late as we got back to the hotel late and the white fish with capers and artichokes was awesome. The food was hot and arrived quickly.
We were very disappointed with the shuttle service. Even though I called the hotel to pick us up at the hospital, they forgot us and we ended up waiting over 30 extra minutes to be picked up. If they had a more dependable shuttle service and a valet at the ready at the front door, our stay would have been perfect for the circumstances. We were afraid our relative had taken a turn for the worse and we were going to have to stay additional days and the front desk was VERY acommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buttercup16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    225
    76
    33
    14
See reviews for
193
127
44
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waitsfield VT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

My reservation was made for a king room on the concierge floor. No kings were available when I checked in. I took a king on another floor, assuming that the concierge privileges would apply. Not so, I was told, by a moderately rude operator.
The Wi Fi should have been free in a $300/night room, but cost $12.95. And didn't work. I complained, had it taken off my bill, and never could get it to work properly.
The bathtub was cracked, the bathmat was torn, there was no hair dryer in the $300 (did I mention that already?) room, which was small and offered a spectacular view of the back roof.
When I went to have lunch at the Ellipsis dining room, I was told--rudely, by a man who barely spoke English, "Closed. Closed. Eat in bar now." At the bar, I was waited on by a woman who spoke NO English. Literally. I ordered a swordfish nicoise salad, which took 40 minutes to arrive, despite the fact that there were only three others in the bar and it was only a SALAD. I ordered a Diet Coke, which was flat. Just water and syrup, no carbonation.
All in all, a frustrating and disappointing experience.
On the plus side, there were no bedbugs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarge32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVPM, General Manager at Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the unfortunate set of circumstances you encountered during your recent stay. Paying $300 or $80 a night should not matter as every one of our guests should expect higher standards than the ones experienced during your visit. While the charge for the Wi Fi is company mandated the condition of the room and the service shortfalls you received were not typical of the experiences our guests have enjoyed through the years.
My sincerest apologies again and I hope we will have another opportunity to have you as our guest and creat a more memorable stay for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

Reasonably close to the DC metro and quite nice all in all in terms of cleanliness, room quality and friendliness of the staff. We had a good deal that included breakfast, which would have otherwise been quite expensive. Convenient for exploring some of the nice rural areas to the west, as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribIbnBattuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

This is a great place to stay when visiting Washington DC. The hotel is in a corporate park, very wooded and quiet (at least on weekends). But very convenient to highways and the Metro. Our room was a bit small, but very clean. The lobby is spacious and comfortable and offers plenty of seating. The first room had an odor, the front desk gave us a new room quickly and courteously. No problem. If you are going into DC, the Metro is close by. The hotel runs a shuttle or you can park and ride (easy drive). The only thing lacking is free internet.
This was our second stay and we will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaki13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

every thing was excellent definately recomended!!!!!
loved the whole part....great hotel for family, friends kids, or business.. the interior was excellent too. i wish i could go there again and have some fun with my family very time soon.. too good to be true..rate was for $80/night

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

Our offices are located in several Northern VA locations and with DC traffic it is difficult and time consuming to have multiple people commute from one place to the other. Therefore we very often book accommodations at the FVPM. We have always booked directly with the hotel and have stayed often enough so that we know the staff by name and are recognized in the hotel. Our experience has been outstanding with very few hiccups. However, in reading several of the other posts it is apparent that there are pockets of excellence and lethargy. It only takes a single person to ruin an experience while it takes significant effort to establish a great reputation. Up until today the FVPM has exceeded my expectations for a upscale business class hotel. The restaurant staff have been outstanding and of a quality that I associate with 5 star property’s. They now know our ordering habits and anticipate our requests. The manager greets us each day of our stay, and the chef has even accommodated the persistent request of one of our staff for Mediterranean fair although this was never expected. It was presented as a surprise one afternoon when the dish was completely unexpected.

However, today, for the first time, I booked a hospitality suite for a meeting and the experience was horrible. I was bounced around 6 people with three people stating “I will not transfer you again; I promise I will take care of you”. I initially called the hotel where I was transferred to reservations, who transferred me to sales, who transferred me to a corporate automated attendant where I was transferred to group reservations (no option for booking a hospitality suite) where I was transferred to a Manager who then transferred me back to the hotel.

After nearly 30 minutes of being handed from person to person I was finally in contact with a person who took my reservation.
The only reason I did not hang up was that after 20 minutes I called the Mason Inn at George Mason University with the intent of booking with them if the Marriott did not pick up and book my room before the Inn could book an accommodation. The Marriott just made it. My recommendation is to book this location for business with the expectation that your event will be handled professionally and without problems but avoid it for a pleasure trip where you are expecting solid 4 star accommodations, service, and attractions on the property. There are many other locations in this price range that have more to offer.
The hotel itself is upper business class (bordering between a low 4 star and a mid 4 star rating) rooms are comfortable and clean. The reception area is spacious and provides for a very quiet lounge where a small group can meet in a quite comfortable environment. The indoor pool is nice and of good size for an indoor hotel facility. Food is good but not great. In rush hour (6 am – 9:30 am) it is more than an hour into DC from this location and if there is an accident on either rt 50 or rt 66 expect much longer delays. Outside of the pool there is NOTHING for the kids. Closest shopping and restaurants are between 2 and 3 miles (Lohman’s Plaza – strip mall has a few restaurants but is NOT a shopping destination). At the intersection of rt. 50 and Annandale rd. is a restaurant named “Present” which at the time of this post is the BEST Vietnamese restaurant in the DC metro area and is ranked in the Washingtonian Magazine as a TOP 100 DC restaurant while prices are $15 - $20 per person without drinks). A short 15 minute trip to Tyson’s Corner put you in the shopping Mecca of Tyson’s Corner. Two very large malls (Tyson’s with about 250 stores + upscale restaurants and a large movie theater and The Galleria with about 100 stores which is very upscale featuring Neiman Marcus, Sacs 5th avenue, and Macy's along with Gucci, Armani, Hermes, etc…)
My advice is that you book here with confidence but if you are given any hassle immediately get in touch with the Manager and make sure they make it right. No one should have to put up with slip shod service in an establishment that stakes its reputation on the service provided.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip_Herring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVPM, General Manager at Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park, responded to this review, October 4, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments. I want to first thank you for patronage of our hotel and your kind comments regarding the staff here. We will certainly share your positive experiences with the staff especially with our restaurant and kitchen personnel. As you mentioned it takes a great team effort to establish a great reputation within the business world but unfortunately it sounds as if we missed an opportunity in accomodating your meeting needs. I would like to apologize for this mishap. We have a successful meetings department and I hope we will have another opportunity to host your guests when you next require some meeting accomodations. Thank you again for your continued business and please do not hesitate to let us know how we may be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

The hotel is in a great location - only 10 minutes from DC (about $30 cab ride) and they provide a free shuttle to the Metro which was convenient and saved money. The hotel lobby is very inviting and they have a nice restaurant with great food. The pool and spa area was worth checking out - a nice spa room with sauna, hot tub and indoor/outdoor pool. We had was a corner room which was a good size (but a little cramped) but clean and well maintained. We requested a fridge during our reservation and we were surprised that they actually brought one up for us even though they said they can't guarantee. The bellman was very helpful and provided good tips. Actually we found all the staff to be professional and friendly. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was up to date with nice toiletries and amenities. It's what you'd expect from a Marriott but even better because of the price! Parking is free and in a good location - we felt safe. I'd definitely stay here again especially if traveling to DC. You can expect quality and professional staff. No surprises which is always good!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alibuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falls Church
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Falls Church
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
#1 of 15 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Falls Church
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield
3.3 mi away
The Westin Tysons Corner
The Westin Tysons Corner
#4 of 15 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
2.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Falls Church
TownePlace Suites Falls Church
#5 of 15 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park

Property: Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
Address: 3111 Fairview Park Dr, Falls Church, VA 22042-4550
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Falls Church
#5 Business Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located and impeccably appointed, the Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park provides a stylish home away from home for both business travelers and families on vacation. You'll love our newly refreshed hotel rooms and suites, which offer plush pillowtop mattresses, flat-screen TVs, and well-lit workspaces. PURE(R) allergy-friendly rooms are available on request. Get your morning here in Falls Church off to a great start with breakfast at Ellipse Restaurant, or visit the Coffee Kiosk for some much-needed caffeine. Additional hotel perks include a heated indoor pool and a fully-equipped fitness center. If you're planning an event or a meeting here in Falls Church, allow us to provide the venue; our hotel features over 17,000 square feet of versatile space and full-service catering. And great local attractions, including the fascinating Mosaic District, Tysons Corner Center, and Tysons Galleria, are just a short distance away. We look forward to your visit at here the Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Park Marriott Hotel Falls Church
Marriott Fairview Park
Marriott Falls Church
Falls Church Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing