We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard(Falls Church)(Great Value!)
$98
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$77
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$157
$132
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$141
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Governor House Inn(Falls Church)(Great Value!)
$79
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falls Church Inn(Falls Church)
$109
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveler rating
350
283
93
38
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
283
93
38
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge loungeoffice parkbusiness parkcorner roomevery hournice hotelfull service hotelparking garageweekend staybreakfast buffetdc areafront desk staffgreat rateup to datemetro stationbusiness travelmini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
482 - 487 of 783 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I didn't know what to think after reading some of the reviews. I thought I had picked the wrong hotel.

Upon arriving, I was pleasantly surprised. If you time the traffic right, the drive into Washington or Arlington isn't bad at all. The hotel itself is in a quiet suburban office park. The lobby was very nice. The fruit infused water was nice -- especially since many Marriott hotels skimp on this, even though I believe it's required.

I didn't receive any special recognition at the front desk for being an elite member. I didn't even get addressed as "Mr. XXX" or shown to where the elevator was located. I was told it was around the corner, even though there were several corners. I didn't have much baggage, but would have been disappointed if I had because there was no bellman. I also wasn't given a room upgrade or a room on the concierge lounge floor, though my elite status at least gave me access to it.

The room was standard Marriott, but mostly clean and refreshed. It wasn't contemporary but hardly outdated. The TV was a flat-screen, but the picture quality could have been better. The wireless internet was fine for YouTube videos, Facebook and corporate e-mail systems.. Unlike other Marriott hotels, there was no bathrobe or slippers in the room. Also, there was no mouthwash or grooming kit -- two things that, in my experience, are typically found in the better rooms that elite level members often get.

The fitness room was very large, although it was located in the pool area. This might be a problem if you wanted to workout outside pool hours. The indoor/outdoor pool was nice and kid-free. The outside area was a little dirty and the poolside furniture seemed a bit cheap and dated.

While this Marriott was better than I expected, it failed where it counted: Bathroom cleanliness. When I went to shower in the morning, I found a large and thick piece of hair -- at least six inches long -- hanging out from the shower head. Needless to say, I wasn't happy. I didn't shower and complained to the front desk. They didn't offer anything, except a "Sorry." I thought they might at least offer to clean the room or give me another room so I could shower before leaving for a day of work.

Because of this, I cannot recommend this hotel. This wasn't a small piece of hair. This was a big piece that was clearly visible. Sure, I should have checked the shower the night before when I arrived, but you expect -- and deserve -- a clean room, especially at a Marriott. You shouldn't have to play housekeeper.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planetraincar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVPM, Manager at Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for your thoughts regarding your stay with us. I am glad to see that you liked the infused water in our lobby. However, it was disappointing to see that our bellman was not available when you arrived and that we could have done a better job of recognizing you. I am sorry about that. But it is certainly unacceptable for your room to be anything less than perfect and I am sorry that it's cleanliness was not up to either of our standards. We will strive to correct these things, and I appreciate your bringing them to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights recently and the hotel was clean, the room was nice. The parking in front of the hotel is very limited, but there was plenty of parking for free in the garage, which was nice. I did miss having valet parking and a bellman help me with my bags. That would have been nice.

The bar area was huge and had plenty of room for dining and hanging out. The food was good.

The dining room was good. We ate breakfast and dinner there. The server was attentive and super honest. He had added a 20% gratuity on the bill because of the large party. My husband didn't hear him say that and tipped him an additional 20%. He came back and asked my husband if he meant to do that - and we didn't. We gave him some additional cash to reward his honesty.

The room setup was a little odd - the front door looked directly into the bathroom and the side of the bed. It made me a little nervous thinking that someone could look through the peep hole and see both the bathroom and the bed. I just put a band aid over the peephole. The shower looked clean but there were 7 hairs on the walls (not mine) and shower curtain that I saw after I got in. I wasn't happy at all. I called and requested that they clean the room again. They got most of them, but there were still a few hairs on the walls. I was deeply disappointed. I've never experienced an issue like this at a Marriott. The downside was that it made me question the cleanliness of the entire hotel.

Overall, it was a nice hotel with nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irishfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVPM, Manager at Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your observations of our hotel. While I appreciate the kind words, I am disappointed to see that your room was anything less than perfect. I apologize for this as it never should have happened. We will certainly work to correct this and I appreciate your bringing it to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I have been an exclusive Marriott Rewards member for the last 10 years and have stayed at Marriott properties now nearing 400 times in that last 10 years. Out of all my experiences at all the different Marriott properties this one has by far been the worst. I think I would have been better off staying at a Fairfield rather than this Marriott.

First let's talk about the Shuttle service. This is the main reason that I chose to stay at this property. It had a reasonable rate with easy access to the Dunn Loring Metro Station. Since I have not completed my stay yet at this time of this writing, I have used the Shuttle service 5 times. I have had to either call or alert the front desk that it was time for the Shuttle to depart 4 of those 5 times. This Shuttle would be much more useful and maybe attract more guests to the hotel if it ran every 30 minutes during the morning and evening hours rather than once an hour like they advertise. Tonight we waited about 45 minutes for the Shuttle to arrive at the Dunn Loring station only to have many more people that the van can hold need to use the Shuttle. They had to resort to sitting on the floor and sitting on laps in order to accommodate everyone. This would have not happened if the Shuttle had been running every 30 minutes during the evening hours.

Next let's talk about the first night in the hotel in the kids running up and down the hallway knocking on doors for hours. Really kids staying alone unattended at a Marriott? Again maybe at a lower level Marriott branded hotel but not at a actual Marriott hotel. Out of all my stays I have never seen this. I was pretty shocked and we did finally see a security guard in the hallway that was insuring order was maintained.

Finally the reason that this hotel went from a 2-3 rating down to a one rating was the fact that the pool was closed without notice or even a sign explaining the circumstance. My family and I got our swimwear on headed down for a nice evening in the pool and hot tub only to find a locked door. After a few minutes of trying to figure out how to open the door, I headed to the front desk to ask them. When I arrived I was informed that the pool was closed until the following day at noon. And she didn't even know why, she said it was either an emergency closing or for a deep cleaning. Allright that is fine but why isn't there a sign or a notice on the webpage or even a letter going around to each room informing everyone of the situation and offering an apology and maybe an alternative? Again I would expect this to happen at a lower level Marriott property but not a full Marriott!

Very disappointed and probably would not choose to stay at this hotel again when in the DC area. It also is embarrassing to the Marriott brand name and I hope that someone at corporate will see this review and find out the problems and get them fixed ASAP!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csnapp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVPM, Manager at Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay with us. While we both would have preferred better results, you have given us an opportunity to improve, which I very much appreciate. I apologize that our shuttle was busy at that time. Usually when that happens we offer guests a taxi at the hotel's expesne, and I regret that we appear to have not done this in this instance. Also, while we made efforts to notify guests of the temporary pool closing, we clearly failed to get you that message, and I am sorry for this. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I realize that any noise in the hotel can be frustrating, and in this case it looks like the chaperones and our security team were late in responding to the noise. We regularly welcome groups like this to the hotel with no incident, and I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by this noise. We will work to address these concerns and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here for one night to attend an annual pageant event held at this hotel.

Pros: Guest service was great -- I had to call a couple of times to request extra shampoo and razors and they brought them to our room with no problem. Management must have read my review from last year because room service was open until midnight this year -- a definite plus since my kids did not like the entrees served during the pageant event. The room was ready with the special requests I put in my reservation -- extra towels and a fridge, so that was a nice touch!

Cons: Not much they can do about the room sizes -- a room with two double beds is pretty tight. It would be so much better if they had 2 queen-sized beds. Our room had adjoining doors on both sides so we heard noise on both ends. Housekeeping also knocked twice on our door before 9:00am -- not cool when you're trying to sleep in! I've learned my lesson -- I'll make sure to put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on our door before going to bed! We were lucky to get a room on the Concierge level, but since it was Memorial Day weekend, the lounge was closed Sunday night. Womp, womp...

While this doesn't have to do with our actual room stay, I also have to add that the service during the dinner event we attended was really, really bad and the food was not up to par. Our servers never refilled our water or tea glasses and never brought back an extra basket of bread that was requested; and we had to flag other servers to get coffee during the dessert portion of the meal. On top of that, the restrooms outside our meeting space were never checked on, as soap, paper towels, and toilet paper were never refilled (at least in the women's room); and Security never walked down the hallway. Otherwise, they would've noticed that smokers kept leaving the door propped open allowing smoke to enter the dining area. Very annoying to those of us who are allergic to smoke!

Again, I'd probably only stay here again if I attend the pageant in the future.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a room that doesn't have a door to an adjoining room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sayhi2tinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVPM, Manager at Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you very much for your observations from your stay. I appreciate that you were happy with the service at our hotel. However, it was disappointing to hear that your experience at the dinner event could have gone better. I'm sorry about that, and we will strive to work on that for next year's event. Thanks again for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I've stayed at the Fairview Park Marriott previously and it is very consistently a well run, clean, quiet place to stay. The staff are exceptionally friendly (especially for the DC area) and seem to have been trained in how to meet and exceed the expectations of customers. Parking is free and very convenient. I am absolutely going to stay here again (and again) as business call me to this area of DC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVPM, Manager at Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you very much for the kind words. We are happy to hear that your stay went so well. We are looking forward to your next visit, and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews