We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location, great service.”
Review of Governor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Governor House Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Falls Church
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, great location, great service.”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel for the price! Astha checked us in and made us feel welcome right away. Near the metro and a variety of restaurants. We would definitely stay there again. My kids enjoyed the cookies and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Anna,
Thank you for such a great review and for letting us host your visit - the staff and I can't say how much we appreciate these reviews! They do such a good job in summing up what we try to accomplish here.

Thank you taking the time to share your experience for others!

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    54
    31
    16
    16
See reviews for
73
39
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

While the owner has made the issues he's been having with this property clear in his recent reviews, it still has a long way to go. When we arrived, the first room had a broken lock, the second a broken toilet, thankfully the third was good, we were given a breakfast coupon for the inconvenience which was nice.. We did have to buy our own soap to because the bars given by the hotel were so terrible. Further, we had to remind housekeeping to come clean our room every day for reasons I don't quite understand. The continental breakfast needed staffing and was under supplied for such a full hotel. Pillows were much too soft.

Room Tip: Check everything in your room works before unpacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sglbgg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper - at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing and I am personally sorry this occurred.
With the on going work we are slowly catching up with her but as you stated have a lot of work to still do. Your suggestion on checking the room first is great and in addition folks- please ask for me personally if you experience any disappointments during your stays.

Thank you for taking the time to share and I hope to meet you during a future trip out our way,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while travelling with a school group in early April. Not only were they professional and kind to our eighty or so high school students, they were also considerate of the other guests - thoughtfully providing them with alternate breakfast arrangements in case they did not want to dine with our large group in the morning. The rooms are clean, the breakfast is tasty and the location is convenient to D.C. Would definitely recommend to any traveler who needs to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFD_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
THANK YOU!
Thank you for allowing us to host your school group - honestly a four bus move through out lil' ole' Inn worried me when Miro brought it up with me, but It was indeed an outstanding group of teenagers!!!!!!!!!! Every member of your staff and every parent is to be saluted, I have been doing this a lil while and do not recollect meeting such a group of students!

Thank you for allowing us to host and looking forward to seeing everyone next year!

Regards,
Dave & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The staff's excellent attitude was definitely the best feature, and possibly only reason this hotel gets more than one star. The shuttle into Washington is a bonus for guests who do not want to drive. The breakfast that is included was a modest menu, and satisfying enough to start the day.
If you can deal with a property that is long overdue for a physical update and maintenance, is located far away from main area attractions, and in a rather drab neighborhood - then you may find this is a good value. The room was clean enough., We did not need to use the heater or air-conditioner, so we cannot comment on them. The hotel had few guests the night we were there, so it was also quiet. But the furniture is old, the bed could have used a better mattress, door frame had gaps around door, and the pavement outside had hazardous cracks and chunks missing.
We are curious to see if coincidentally we stayed there just before major facilities improvements were scheduled.

Room Tip: If you can deal with a property that is long overdue for a physical update & maintenance in a bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philly-awe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for the review. With having only purchased the property a year ago there has not been nor likely will be a "Major Renovation" as we are individually owned and operated. That being said every penny is and will continue to go back into restoring her to the original 1958' look and feel. The main lodge is complete and work is focusing on the rear building now which I feel may be where you stayed based upon review.

This year we were able to get a lot of furniture finished and finalize refrigerators and flat screens for the main buildings with just a few to go. The entire parking lot has been filled, sealed and striped. Goal is to continue the improvements this way as to allow us to maintain the best value in the area.

Over all your review was on spot and I thank you for sharing -
Thank you,
Dave C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My company is in the construction trade, and we send our crews out for weeks at a time. We've stayed in over 100 hundred hotels in the last few years and without a doubt, The Governor House Inn has been the best of all of them! The manager, Dave Crance, is beyond willing to accommodate our crew needs, the large equipment trucks in the parking lot, the odd hours we're in and out, and he is so helpful with every single request. Miro in Customer Service is absolutely amazing as well- she doesn't hesitate to help with whatever we may need whenever we may need it. From simple requests like extra towels to more troublesome requests like grouping our rooms together or making sure we have a microwave and a fridge, the folks at Governor House Inn in Falls Church make you feel like you're staying at the MGM Grand! The only place you'd be happier staying away from home is if you were staying with Grandma! This hotel is absolutely wonderful for the property, staff, and amenities, and when you discover that the rates are ridiculously low, you have to wonder what's wrong with it...the truth is NOTHING! If you are traveling in the DC area, work your way into Falls Church to stay with Dave and Miro....you won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Stephanie,
I know this review made Miro's Day - thank you for taking the time to share and especially for trusting us to handle your companies needs! It came to feel like family with your folks coming and going each week. Please remind your employees and yourself- company rates can and are extended for our project teams families on vacations and such also.

When time permits and any of ya'll are ready to head up for vacation vs. work sometime just reach out to myself or Miro!

Thank you again for this post and sharing!
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We enjoyed our stay so much! Now this place is definitely not the Ritz but it served our purpose, a place to sleep. The staff are awesome which made up for so much! The shuttle to the metro helped in keeping within our budget too! Thank you for a great trip!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jame S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Jame S,
Thank you for such a great review and for letting us host your visit - the staff and I can't say how much we appreciate these reviews! They do such a good job in summing up what we try to accomplish here.

Thank you for the comments and especially taking the time to share for others!

Dave & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Staying here you will find the staff very friendly, especially Dave the manager, who will do everything he can to make you happy. The hotel is dated to the point where you feel as though your taking a step back in time. The rooms are clean, but items in the rooms (carpet, thermostat, plumbing, lighting, etc.) appear to be 20+ years old. If you take in consideration the cleanliness, affordability and great location to DC, it's the right choice, just don't expect the amenities of a newer hotel. The trip was good and staying here made it affordable and nice, we will return to this hotel next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T5330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Front Office Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
With Mr. Dave out of town I'm responding to the reviews -Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share for others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falls Church hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Falls Church - Arlington Area
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Falls Church
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
#7 of 15 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
#1 of 15 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.4 mi away
Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Falls Church
TownePlace Suites Falls Church
#6 of 15 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor House Inn

Property: Governor House Inn
Address: 6650 Arlington Blvd, Falls Church, VA 22042-6608 (Formerly Quality Inn Governor)
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Style 1959 American Motor Inn located in the shadow of Our Nation’s Capital, just minutes from D.C. in Falls Church, Va. inside the Capital Beltway. With three buildings and exterior corridors featuring Seasonal pool, Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary Breakfast, in addition to Bentley's Falls Church Diner - a decades old local tradition! Our property offers a great location and value with the service you can expect from a locally owned and independently operated business. We wish to stress, we aren't Fancy, justa simple little Inn where our amenities are Value, Location, Service and a smile. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Governor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor House Hotel Falls Church
Quality Inn Falls Church

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing