We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Indian food!”
Review of Raaga Restaurant

Raaga Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 364 Restaurants in Falls Church
Price range: $30 - $30
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy Indian food!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Raaga, located in Falls Church near Bailey's Crossroads, is a charming Indian restaurant that serves a nice variety of chicken, lamb, seafood, and veggie dishes that make it worth the 15 min drive from my home.
The service is excellent. I never had an empty water glass, and when my friend sent back the Nan for being burnt it was whisked away and a fresh order was quickly brought to the table.
Try the Palak Chat its fried spinach with a delicious sauce. It is crispy and the taste and texture reminded me of potato chips (although a fork is recommended)
The Chicken Tikka Masala exceeded expectations. If this is your first experience at an Indian restaurant and you are hesitant about ordering a curry I suggest this dish. The Nan was tasty and freshly prepared. My friend prefers the Lachha Paratha over the standard Nan (but I can't tell the difference).
The desserts are not worth mentioning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    39
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wash dc
Level Contributor
244 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Peaceful atmosphere and delicious food”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I've driven by Raaga for years and never noticed it but thanks to a Restaurant.com coupon we tried it for a weeknight dinner. It has a lovely atmosphere and unobtrusive but attentive service. The butter chicken was melt-in-your-mouth and the lamb was tender and had complex flavors. I'd like to see more veggies and less rice with the entrees but they do have many vegetarian options. We'll definitely come back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank equinoxWashDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I'm not sure what was here previously, but on a whim my wife and I decided to check this place out. We were both craving Indian food and stopped by for dinner this past weekend. The interior was well done with new carpeting and ample seating. Service was on point and very responsive. We ordered the tandoori wings for appetizers. Granted, two of the wings were not fully cooked, but they promptly replaced them with a new order. The wings were extremely flavorful and we were excited for our entrees. We ordered the Chicken Tikka Masala (aka Butter Chicken) and the Rogan Josh - and neither disappointed. This was simply the best Indian food I've had in a long while. The Roti was freshly baked and complemented the meal perfectly. We even ordered Chicken Biryani to go for lunch the next day. We are definitely going back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hume, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Indian food in a pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We go here once a month or so, and the food is always very good. Service is good, prices are reasonable. Some dishes are a bit oily, but it's that fat that tastes so good, isn't it? I like the atmosphere better than most Indian places I've been, it just seems more professional, airy, and light.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AoifeCuRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best Indian food in the metro DC area!!!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have dined here for years and the service and the food continue to be excellent every time. The portions are big and the atmosphere is perfect. This is an excellent restaurant for vegetarians, too. They have many options and the waiters are happy to explain the dishes. This is a great place for an anniversary or birthday dinner or any special occasion. You'll want to take home a gallon of their tikka masala sauce, but, alas, it is not available!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VAtravellerTofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raaga Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Raaga Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing