We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in the Little City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Meat in a Box

Meat in a Box
Ranked #150 of 365 Restaurants in Falls Church
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem in the Little City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent kabobs and sandwiches with superb pricing and service. Don't pass this gem up! Our favorite kabobs in the city. Great food for kids.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrovePilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Okay food, but DRY”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We read good things about this little hole-in-a-recently-refaced-strip-center in Falls Church...no one we knew personally had mentioned it but we decided to give it a try a couple days ago for dinner. All meals do come in a box though there are a few tables for eat-in. The staff was very friendly and it is clean, etc. I ordered the Combo skeweres (beef & chicken) over rice which comes with bread (lavash/pita like), a small salad, lots of rice, yogurt/onion sauce and a hot green sauce. My husband ordered a box of two Shish Skewers ("Tender cubes of beef grilled with onions, peppers and zucchinis wrapped in homemade bread with, tomatoes, onions, parsley and sumac"). Well, there were three large chinks of chicken in a yellow coating...tasty but dry. There was a finely ground formed beef skewer which was tasty and a little less dry...salad was basic and good..but I added a good dose of balsamic dressing I had...the yogurt sauce is good but not as good as tzatziki sauce. the hot green sauce is truly hot but a wee bit dotted on the meat which I then wrapped in a little of the bread and added some sauce was good....but needed more moisture. Hubby's beef was NOT tender cubes of beef but quite tough cubes of beef - generous portion and nice veggies but disappointing to him. We may go back but won't necessarily crave a return visit soon

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KatSimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
226 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Falls Church absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Audie is a master chef and makes the most delicious kabobs with chicken, beef, salmon. His hummus and flat bread and baklava is out of the world the best. His restaurant is exceptionally clean and organized with cozy seating. The rose water tea is divine. The menu has all great dishes. He just opened a second one in Washington DC, which our family will definitely visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great kabobs and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

It is easy to miss this place, for it is a little hole in the wall fast food restaurant, but the food is great and the people that own it are fantastic. The lamb and chicken kabobs are both fantastic and the hummus is pretty good too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mugro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fresh and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have been twice. Their food is fresh (especially anything with salmon, as it is the utmost in quality and freshness) and delicious. Service is friendly and the entire place, including rest room, is clean.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat in a Box also viewed

 

Been to Meat in a Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing