We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The State Theatre
Ranked #1 of 3 Nightlife in Falls Church
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1936, The State Theatre operated as a popular movie until the late 1980's. The first film shown was Thanks A Million starring Dick Powell and on November 27, 1988 the State closed its doors after a final showing of Die Hard starring Bruce Willis. The first theatre on the East Coast to be centrally air-conditioned, the State was the flagship of the family-owned Neighborhood Theatres chain which also operated, among others, the Glebe (now a Duron paint store), the Buckingham (now a Post Office) and the Jefferson (now a Chile's restaurant). A multi-million dollar restoration in the late 1990's turned it into the Washington Metro area's favorite new venue for live music and private events. The full theatrical stage is original, as are the 200 balcony seats and both lobbies. The theatre seats on the main floor were removed to allow for the re-design of the auditorium which now accommodates full service dining, standing and dancing areas and two full service bars. The restoration also added a full service restaurant for dining and catering private events.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

It was a nice venue. I like that the surrounding area is very nice with restaurants and things to do until show time. It is also metro accessible. We walked from the East Falls Church metro station.

Thank Kaia42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your encouragement!!!! We appreciate that you enjoying our shows, more to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 90 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

I'm surprised to see all these negative reviews about the State. I guess all I can say is that if you show up drunk and/or with a bad attitude, you're bound to tick someone off along the way and have yourself a bad time. As far as being handicapped friendly, I don't understand why one would say this place isn't. There are ramps everywhere that my buddy almost tripped over. There may be a line around the corner for some shows, but who isn't used to that? The chili was good, but pricey. Just go inside, watch the show and don't be stupid. You should be fine and have a good time.

Thank are_you_srs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your encouragement!!!! We appreciate that you enjoying our shows, more to come! We in fact do have a handicap restroom located in our lobby to the left.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Lower area usually standing room. Some tables that can be reserved in advance. Upstairs balcony area. Serves food and drink.

1  Thank VASoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your encouragement!!!! We appreciate that you enjoying our shows, more to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We called theatre day before a concert we saw advertised and asked about handicapped seating; my husband can walk but only short distances and cannot stand long. We were advised they could seat us at a table nornmally for meals (no meals w/show of interest). So, we bought tix and had to pick them up at box office (general seating). We get there about an our before start time and they make you stand outside afgter getting tix; it was very cold this particular night....so asked fo rchair for my husband which they did ultimately provide.... we were treated in a less-than-friendly manner by the box office person (very young, inattentive, took a while to understand why we needed a chair out front....really poor customer service ... we waited & waited for doors to open; my husband's back was hurting pretty bad in bad folding chair in cold as time went past when doors were said to be opened....then there was a long line of people wrapping around side of bldg for the general seating and we would have had to wait for all them to be admitted...we gave up, gave the tix away (no refunds!),,,and will simply never go back~

1  Thank KatSimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 11, 2013

We appreciate your review, we are sorry for the inconvenience. We do have ramps all throughout the venue and a handicapped restroom in our front lobby. Our doors are usually open on time, there must have been a security measure being taken care of that evening. We do hope you make plans to attend our venue this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have seen countless shows here. Such a great venue that is intimate and doesn't price gouge on tickets or alcohol. The new areas are a great addition and the set up makes a great sound. Be ready to be searched extensively at the door. Never eaten here but they do dinner before/during some of the shows and looks decent. Shows are mostly old semi has beens but if you manage to snag a ticket to the Legwarmers who play there two nights almost every month and always sell out GO!! It's a blast!

Thank CareInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your encouragement!!!! We appreciate that you enjoying our shows, more to come! Yes, The Legwarmers are a blast!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The State Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The State Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing