We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian”
Review of Sfizi Cafe

Sfizi Cafe
Ranked #10 of 364 Restaurants in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I've eaten here 4x times and I've had a great food experience each time. The wine choices are affordable - they the bottles around the restaurant and you can walk around and look at them all and bring a bottle back to the table. They do have a corking fee.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheMartinsVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    38
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Falls Church!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Tucked away but right in the heart of Falls Church is Sfizi's. Don't let the pronunciation of the place deter you from wandering in. It is unconventional for a restaurant in America but truly like an Italian cafe. Eat in, carry out deli and part store. The mood is light and relaxed. Perfect place to meet with friends and just maybe pretend you've flown across the Atlantic. The food is wonderful as are the wines (all Italian). The service was a bit slow but then again it's ok cause you feel like you are on vacation!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBLoves2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
226 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice place horrible parking and we had to fetch our own silver settings”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Nice place horrible parking and we had to fetch our own silver settings
You would think this place would have excellent wait staff with its excellent location atmosphere and food. No it does not have a nice wait staff who recognizes customers return for great service too. We hope they seriously improve this so that they have longevity. It can be a deal breaker. Cool atmosphere very chic!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Oops - my previous review of Sfiziz was intended for the Falls Church location”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Okay, I goofed. My previous review of Sfizi was intended for the Falls Church location, so please excuse the mix up. Haven't eaten at the other Sfizi in Fairfax, and only realized my mistake after it posted. Mea culpa.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rossvesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Trattoria”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've been coming to Sfizi for many years now - since they were located in Fairfax - and I've always found it to be a great place to get a good Italian "trattoria" style meal. To be clear, Sfizi does not try to come up with crazy new dishes and push the boundaries of what is possible with food. They stick to the classic recipes that have evolved over centuries of Italian cooking, and that emphasize flavor and good ingredients over presentation. Some favorites include Linguine alla Vongole (with clam sauce), pasta with pesto and scallops, Gnocchi Bolognese, Linguine alla Cinghiale (wild boar sauce), Pollo alla Valdostana, and my favorite sandwich - a bunch of Prosciutto di Parma topped with fresh mozzarella, mixed greens, and olive oil / balsamic dressing between two pieces of fresh made focaccia.

They have a great Italian (and ONLY Italian...) wine selection both to drink there and to buy to take home. They have GREAT espresso - the brand is Pascucci which is near impossible to find in the USA but is amazing. They've also got some pretty awesome desserts which you can check out in the glass display case before ordering. The profiteroles, torta della nonna and torta frutti di bosco are particularly good.

They've got a nice little Italian market too, so you can stock up on hard to find items like Italian anchovies / sardines, artisanal pastas, san marzano tomatoes, good balsamic, olives, Italian candies, etc.

If you go there, make sure to say hi to the owner, Lino. He's a great guy and loves to please his customers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoVANick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sfizi Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sfizi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing