We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oops - my previous review of Sfiziz was intended for the Falls Church location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sfizi Cafe

Sfizi Cafe
Ranked #10 of 365 Restaurants in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Oops - my previous review of Sfiziz was intended for the Falls Church location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Okay, I goofed. My previous review of Sfizi was intended for the Falls Church location, so please excuse the mix up. Haven't eaten at the other Sfizi in Fairfax, and only realized my mistake after it posted. Mea culpa.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rossvesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    37
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Trattoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've been coming to Sfizi for many years now - since they were located in Fairfax - and I've always found it to be a great place to get a good Italian "trattoria" style meal. To be clear, Sfizi does not try to come up with crazy new dishes and push the boundaries of what is possible with food. They stick to the classic recipes that have evolved over centuries of Italian cooking, and that emphasize flavor and good ingredients over presentation. Some favorites include Linguine alla Vongole (with clam sauce), pasta with pesto and scallops, Gnocchi Bolognese, Linguine alla Cinghiale (wild boar sauce), Pollo alla Valdostana, and my favorite sandwich - a bunch of Prosciutto di Parma topped with fresh mozzarella, mixed greens, and olive oil / balsamic dressing between two pieces of fresh made focaccia.

They have a great Italian (and ONLY Italian...) wine selection both to drink there and to buy to take home. They have GREAT espresso - the brand is Pascucci which is near impossible to find in the USA but is amazing. They've also got some pretty awesome desserts which you can check out in the glass display case before ordering. The profiteroles, torta della nonna and torta frutti di bosco are particularly good.

They've got a nice little Italian market too, so you can stock up on hard to find items like Italian anchovies / sardines, artisanal pastas, san marzano tomatoes, good balsamic, olives, Italian candies, etc.

If you go there, make sure to say hi to the owner, Lino. He's a great guy and loves to please his customers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoVANick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great low-key Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We hit Sfizi about every other month. Usually, it's great; although we did have one meal that wasn't up to the restaurant's usual quality, but I think it was because they were slammed that night - every table was taken and there was a line. Mid-week dinner seems to be the best time to go; it's more relaxed and the service is better. This place is very similar to trattorias we visited in Italy; they don't rush you and are always glad to assist with a food or wine selection. Sfizi has about the most reasonably-priced wine collection you can find in this area. They charge a $10 corkage fee, but there are many good wines to be had for less than $15, bringing the cost of a fairly good bottle of wine to under $25, which is unusual for good restaurants in northern Virginia.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A little bit of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Really good Italian food at reasonable prices. We had pasta and veal dishes, just like Nonna used to make. Will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deano65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant/Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Since we live in Falls Church and have sampled most of the local restaurants, my wife and I have been a couple of times now and felt we needed to write a review. We enjoyed both visits, starting with the joint "chef's choice" pasta dish. The quality of pasta is excellent. We even enjoyed the Italian tradition of not pressuring you to leave at the end of the meal by bringing the check before asking for it. Having recently returned from Italy, it bought back good memories from our trip. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPE69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sfizi Cafe also viewed

 
Falls Church, VA
 

Been to Sfizi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing