We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield is located in a great location that makes it easy for one to do anything in the Washington, D.C. Metropolitan area. It is close enough to the Dunn Loring Merrifield Metro Station to allow one to easily slip into our Nation's Capitol and enjoy all that there is; it is also within a short drive to the largest mall in Northern Virginia (if you are a shopping fanatic), and it is a short drive to the many battlefields and other historic sites, if you are a history buff like me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigfoot62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review about our great location. Our Residence Inn is located one mile from the Dunn Loring DC metro station, adjacent to shopping, dining and entertainment and is easily accessible from both I-495 & Route 50. This hotel is also convenient to the Mosaic District, Tyson`s Corner, Washington DC, Inova Fairfax Hospital, and offers 1 meeting room ideal for small group events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    83
    26
    9
    6
See reviews for
109
25
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I had a two bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms. The room size was nice and the beds were comfortable. Room service was prompt and accommodating. Breakfast was good. The pool is small but clean. Overall I would return here if in the area and I'm looking for an economy room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geministoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Please come back and see us when you visit the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here with our family of five and ill start. By saying wow! When I checked in the first evening the man at the front desk was spot on courteous and very welcoming. We stayed here as an alternative to DC because of cost. But I will say I'd cost didn't play a roll I would still stay here again for my DC trip. This place was very family friendly and intimate. It was almost like being in an apartment community. Great spread for breakfast! We have been here now for five days and are loving it! I will definitely be back. You simply can't beat the value or service . Perfect place for families. We will surely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience. I am happy to hear we made your trip to the area enjoyable and relaxing. The staff will be so happy to hear your comments; I cannot wait to share your kind words. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

First impressions of this location: The property is nestled back near office buildings. Parking lot smallish, no drive up area to unload, only two 10 mins spaces for this. Construction workers were parked in one of those - inconvenient. The rest were handicapped spaces.

We called ahead and were allowed to check in early and given a first floor room. However, the shortest route to get to this room from lobby was to go outside and circle around the pool, sports play area, etc. If you didn't take this shortcut the only other way was thru the long, long neverending corridors with luggage etc. Thankfully, two nice housekeepers helped us out. This was a rainy, chilly long weekend and I didn't appreciate having to go out in the elements to get to my room. If the weather was better and pool open we would have had to march thru other guests using the pool/ play area. Poor design. When we asked front desk staff to switch rooms we were told this was the only room available for early check-in.

We checked in on a weekday. Be aware that office workers from nearby buildings were walking and sitting outside during lunch so close blinds on for security if facing.

This is an older hotel. - furniture shows it. The free breakfast was basic. I will not seek out this hotel again.

Room Tip: We arrived lunch time thru the week and there was foot traffic from nearby workers so be aware if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review on July 6, 2013. We deeply regret the experience you encountered with the location of your suite and offer our sincere apology. After receiving your review, I gave the front desk team some feedback so they offer alternative parking options at our hotel. We offer both above ground parking and garage parking. While the above ground parking offers easy access to guest registration and public spaces areas, the parking garage also offers 3 different entrances to the hotel, which allows access to all levels and suites, as well as, providing you with a secure and covered area. Again, please accept our sincerest apologies if we failed to point out the different parking options. Hopefully, you will allow us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed May 2-6 ... the suite was perfect for our family of 5 ... we were able to put our teenager on the sofa bed in the living room, with his own TV and the little kids in the second bedroom. There were even two bathrooms, which made getting everyone ready in the morning a snap! We all enjoyed the hot breakfast each morning - it was a nice mix of healthy options like fruit, yogurt and oatmeal, as well as waffles, sausage and eggs. The staff at the reception desk was very friendly and helpful ... even provided my daughter with a toothbrush which she had forgotten. The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and there are two Metro stations a short drive away. We also were pleased with the location, near McDonalds and Wendys, but also some family sit down restaurants. If we go back to the DC area, we will stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite ... it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpikesMom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at the Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield. We sincerely appreciate your detailed review of the hotel's suite features, the amenities we offer and our convenient location. Next time you are in the area, please stop by the reception desk. I would enjoy the opportunity to say hello and welcome you back to the Northern Virginia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed there during our weekend trip to DC. It's half an hours drive away from DC - not too far but much cheaper than staying anywhere in DC in the peak tourism season. The hotel appears quite plain from outside and in the lobby, but the room is awesome - a kitchen area equipped with everything you need to work out your best cooking, spacious living room and bedroom, very clean bathroom and nice shower. The supplementary breakfast beats our expectation with a large variety of selections, fresh and delicious - we actually had so much and skipped the lunch. Really think this place got all that is needed for a nice and pleasant stay of a few days or even a week.

Room Tip: Make use of the kitchen if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xyangt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Xyangt,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear you found the room to be awesome and that the complimentary breakfast surpassed your expectations. We hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent location, ample parking space, near to a couple of shopping centers and Dunn Loring Metro station.

They also serve good and healthy breakfast on daily basis. Top of that, complimentary dinner is provided on certain days.

TV channel is sufficient to keep you occupied, news, HD sports, cartoon and HBO.

Room service as usual, checking in is as expected, there's just nothing to complaint on this hotel as it suits the 'Inn' category.

Room Tip: Ground floor, near to exit for breakfast and parking area, facing the woods as the opposite sometime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FHariri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to be your host during your recent visit to the Northern Virginia area. The staff and I appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falls Church
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Falls Church
0.6 mi away
Hyatt House Falls Church
Hyatt House Falls Church
#1 of 1 in Merrifield
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Falls Church
TownePlace Suites Falls Church
#6 of 16 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
#1 of 16 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Dunn Loring Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield

Property: Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield
Address: 8125 Gatehouse Rd, Falls Church, VA 22042-1203
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn hotel in Falls Church, Virginia is situated just one mile from the Dunn Loring DC metro rail station, adjacent to shopping, dining and entertainment options and is easily accessible from both I-495 & Route 50. This hotel in Merrifield, VA is convenient to Tysons Corner businesses, Washington DC, the Inova Fairfax Hospital and more. Guests feel at home in our spacious extended stay suites offering separate living, sleeping and dining areas. Each suite at our Falls Church extended stay hotel features fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with pullout sofa beds, a 42" flat screen TV. Work easily while traveling for business in a large desk with convenient outlets, ergonomic desk chair and complimentary internet-access. In addition, this hotel serves complimentary breakfast daily, offers social hours on select evenings and provides 24-hour access to the hotel’s fitness center. This Falls Church, Virginia hotel also has a meeting room perfect for training sessions or small gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield Hotel Falls Church
Residence Inn Falls Church
Falls Church Residence Inn
Fairfax Merrifield Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing