We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel in the Fairfax Virginia area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice clean modern hotel. Rooms are suites with kitchen areas which I didn't really need but there was plenty of space. There are two buildings which required a walk through an outdoor courtyard to get to the lobby and the breakfast area which can be a small problem if the weather is bad. Breakfast was average. Very conveniently located next to a shopping center with restaurants, drug store, etc. All together no real issues.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KI57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 249 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Took my teenage daughter to D.C. again this summer - did the same two years ago also. We stayed here both visits. Close to the Metro, clean, spacious suite, outdoor pool & spa, decent breakfasts, relatively inexpensive. Perfect for a family or other visitors to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olympia_P_and_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

stayed here September 21st for 3 nights in a very spacious 2 bedroom suite which is basically a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment with a full kitchen. very quiet rooms, friendly and really helpful front office and waitering staff. very good breakfast, although very busy at peak times. coin operated laundry and plenty of free parking. 15 minute walk to the Metro, and 1 minute from the I-495, route 50 intersection. 5 minutes drive from Tysons Corner, and 20 minutes to Potomac Mills Mall. 25 minutes to Dulles airport. Kitchen cabinets and furniture a little dated, but in very good condition. We paid US$ 125.00 per night on the wkd AAA rate. Excellent value for size of rooms, and facilities. pool and basketball court, gas BBQ for cook-outs and tiny exercise room. Highly recommend this Residence Inn to families (lots staying when we were there) and people wanting spacious rooms and free parking. Housekeeping staff efficient and kept the room clean and freshly stocked with coffee etcetera

Room Tip: High floors get a view over the tree tops, laundry if very busy during the breakfast rush, undergrou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrtravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here over the Labor day weekend, in a 2 bed suite with our teenage daughters. I would highly recommend it. It is not a particularly plush hotel, and not done to the newest Residence Inn style, but it was very comfortable. It is a large hotel and we were in a room way down at the bottom of a long corridor, but even so we felt at home. We did not hear any other guests.
The breakfast was fine, fairly typical fare. The pool was quite small, but was set in a pleasant courtyard. Our daughters enjoyed it. The location of the hotel was great, right behind a small strip mall with a few restaurants, a Starbucks and a CVS. It was an easy drive to everywhere we wanted to go.
We took our lives in our hands and walked (we're British) to the Sweetwater Tavern just across the street, but I wouldn't recommend walking again! It was a scary and hairy experience crossing the road with no pedestrian crossing. Sweetwater Tavern itself was simply great, the best meal we had all holiday.
We got a fantastic deal for the hotel, which was the deciding factor for us on this stay, but I would not hesitate to recommend it, or to stay here again. It was great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toton-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My extended family and I stayed at this property and had 5 rooms. The best features of this hotel were a generous buffet breakfast with ample seating, free parking, and proximity to a shopping center with numerous restaurants, CVS, etc. If you are in good shape, you can leave your car at the hotel and walk about a mile to the Metro station.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axnaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Large, sprawling (just under 160 suites), 4-story Residence Inn (RI), surrounding lovely courtyard & outdoor pool. Courtyard tables & chairs are pleasant spot for eating breakfast or dinner outside in nice weather.  Overall pleasant environment.

Largest TV (42 inches – 1 meter) I’ve ever seen in RI living room – not complaining, just noting. (After becoming accustomed to it, other TVs seem puny.)

Typical older, yet comfortable, RI accommodations:

• Free internet/WiFi.

• Two computers & printer to print documents & boarding passes.

• Small exercise room with working treadmills, ellipticals, weights.

• Rows of working washers ($2) & dryers ($2) in 1st floor guest laundry that seemed continually in use by guests. (Had to keep checking for available washer.)

• Free on-site self-parking in: above ground lot & secured underground garage.

• Surprisingly *quiet* room considering proximity (& convenience) to highways:
 -- Beltway (I-495)
 -- Route 50
 -- Gallows Rd.(650)
 -- I-66


Approximate Drive Times (Depending on Traffic):

• 5 min. -- 1.5 miles (2.4 km) -- to Dunn Loring-Merrifield metro station (orange line) on 2700 Gallows Rd. (Vienna, VA); $4.75 all day parking space at metro station.

• 15-min. -- 4.1 mi. (6.6 km) -- to Tysons Corner.

• 25-min. -- 12.5 mi. (20 km) -- to DC Washington Mall, Smithsonian Museums, Memorials, Sightseeing.

• 30-min. -- 21 mi. (34 km) -- Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD); no RI shuttle.

• 30-min. -- 15 mi. (24 km) -- Washington National Airport (DCA); no RI shuttle.


Budget Eating & Shopping:

• Standard RI breakfasts (hot & cold items) with some healthy options & evening fare (Mon., Tue., Wed.) served in gatehouse. (Hoped for better quality meals, which are served at other RIs & Homewoods; always hope for Greek yogurt, whole grain breads, & greater assortment of fresh fruit.) *Convenient* if you haven't time to prepare your own meals.

• For evenings when food isn’t served, brief walk or drive to numerous nearby eateries; call-in order & pick up on your way home from day’s activities.

• If you’ve time/ inclination, food shop & prepare your own meals in furnished kitchenette. Approx. 10-minute drive (depending on traffic) to 2 groceries in Falls Church, VA (each about 2.2 miles (3.5 km)):
  --  Safeway  on 7397 Lee Highway
  --  Giant  on 7235 Arlington Boulevard

Standard, good quality RI -- clean & comfortable -- for short- or long-stay whether traveling with family, as a couple, or alone on business.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gnomemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Due to the recent power outages in the D.C. area, we were diverted from a different Residence Inn to this one. It turned out to be a great location -- close to Metro, a parking garage, an above-average outdoor pool. Rooms were spacious, which was especially nice since we were having a family gathering there. The only issue we had was something used by the housecleaning staff smelled just awful, and there seemed to be no way to stop it other than opening the windows when we returned to the room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falls Church
0.6 mi away
Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Falls Church
0.6 mi away
Hyatt House Falls Church
Hyatt House Falls Church
#1 of 3 in Merrifield
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Falls Church
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
#1 of 15 in Falls Church
463 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Dunn Loring Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield

Address: 8125 Gatehouse Rd, Falls Church, VA 22042-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range: $108 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn hotel in Falls Church, Virginia is situated just one mile from the Dunn Loring DC metro rail station, adjacent to shopping, dining and entertainment options and is easily accessible from both I-495 & Route 50. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the Dunn Loring Metro Station and to the local area, upon request. This hotel in Merrifield, VA is convenient to Tysons Corner businesses, Washington DC, the Inova Fairfax Hospital and more. Guests feel at home in our spacious extended stay suites offering separate living, sleeping and dining areas. Each suite at our Falls Church extended stay hotel features fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with pullout sofa beds, a 42" flat screen TV. Work easily while traveling for business in a large desk with convenient outlets, ergonomic desk chair and complimentary internet-access. In addition, this hotel serves complimentary breakfast daily, offers social hours on select evenings and provides 24-hour access to the hotel’s fitness center. This Falls Church, Virginia hotel also has a meeting room perfect for training sessions or small gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield Hotel Falls Church
Residence Inn Falls Church
Falls Church Residence Inn
Fairfax Merrifield Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing