We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average brew pub”

Mad Fox Brewing Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Mad Fox Brewing Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 367 Restaurants in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Better than average brew pub”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I've been here a few times now over the years and I feel like they have improved over the years. The menu includes some creative items, as well as some standard items. They source some ingredients locally, which I appreciate. The food is good - makes it worthwhile to go back again for dinner. The beers are very good - it's awesome to sit on their patio on a warm evening, sipping a hand-crafted beer. Their brewers do a good job - and I'm from Colorado where we have A LOT of craft beer and I'm still saying this. :-)

The one downside - it's a bit pricey, even for the Northern VA area, in my opinion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllzeyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    131
    74
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good brew pub”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Above average for pub food. Good value. Kid friendly, both in neighborhood apsphere and memu. Good variety of beer. A bit noisy for my taste though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Portfoliofotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“The bacon wrapped meatloaf was delicious!!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very busy, lots of noise (in a good way) and good food. Six of us including two young children. Promptly seated, good service. Lots of choices besides traditional meat dishes. Appetizers were good as was the main course. The bacon wrapped meatloaf was delicious!!! We'll be back....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The2TravelingFools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent brewpub but the restaurant can be hit or miss.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We really like Mad Fox most of the time. They have a number of really good beers but the restaurant is hit or miss. We have had both outstanding dining experiences and some not so much, when they are on point they are excellent and when then they are not, not so much.

Our last visit, they messed up two orders, on for a large pizza and they delivered a small, to their credit they gave us a second pizza and I ordered a small salad and they delivered a large. We also ordered the calamari and it was way over done and very chewy. But we have also had superb food on other visits so it's very hit and miss.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“The beer & food are good but pretentious and overpriced”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

For my money, I would rather go to Dogfish Head in Seven Corners. Mad River has some good tasting beers and their food is a bit more pretentious, but not worth the extra prices. This is a bit unfair, though, for Dogfish Head 60 minute IPA is probably one of the best beers in America. Hard to compete with that!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mugro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Fox Brewing Company also viewed

 
Falls Church, VA
Falls Church, VA
 

Been to Mad Fox Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing