We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice”
Review of Present

Present
Ranked #4 of 369 Restaurants in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Present Restaurant is home to a melting pot of tasty regional authentic Vietnamese cuisine. Most of the best Vietnamese food can be found at a humble-looking street stall and from the inside of a home kitchen. Present Restaurant is your guide to favorite Vietnamese foods in the Fairfax Co area. Enjoy a quiet dinner with friends with a glass of wine. Present restaurant offer an ambiance of tranquility with our indoor cascading pond that allows our guest to enjoy a quiet dinner with friends with a glass of wine. We also cater to special events and occasions. Surprise your quest with a catered and elaborate Vietnamese buffet.. Thank you to Mr. Tom Sietsema of the Washington Post for the kind review: Editorial Review 2009 Fall Dining Guide By Tom Sietsema Washington Post Staff Writer Plenty of Vietnamese restaurants serve green papaya salad. None that I've sampled makes a better impression than Present's. Freshly roasted nuts give the dish an edge, and so does a "bowl" of purple cabbage, although the crowning touch is lavished on the surface: matchsticks of rich liver instead of the usual beef jerky. Other Vietnamese restaurants are welcoming, but few more so than this place. Need a recommendation? Want to know more about an ingredient? The servers respond with enthusiasm and intelligence, and they make top-notch guides for novices in particular. I've eaten in this serene dining room at least half a dozen times now, yet I always find something new to appreciate.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Dined here while staying at The Governor's House Inn across the street,
Not big on Asian food knowledge so can't even tell you what I had- But outstanding food, service and very cozy restaurant with a patio walking distance from hotel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CervezaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin F, Manager at Present, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2015

It was our honor to have you as our guest.
The night was more rewarding for us when you came to visit Present Restaurant.
We look forward seeing you again and being part of our family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Present
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 154 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Soft-shell crabs, whole rockfish and shrimp & pineapple dishes are outstanding. The only disappointment was the Chicken medallions which were hacked up pieces of chicken with the bone still in. Monday and Wednesday are 1/2 price bottles of wine. Make reservations for Sat. night or you will wait in line for 1/2 hour. I prefer a table in front near the windows.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mvburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin F, Manager at Present, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2015

It was our honor to have you as our guest.
The night was more rewarding for us when you came to visit Present Restaurant.
We look forward seeing you again and being part of our family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went here with family - very unsure what to expect. Wanted to get Pho, but was told that it was a meal in itself. Ended ordering duck with orange sauce which although difficult to get all the meat was scrumptious. Service was attentive.

1  Thank Elkz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin F, Manager at Present, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2015

It was our honor to have you as our guest.
The night was more rewarding for us when you came to visit Present Restaurant.
We look forward seeing you again and being part of our family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

When I first went there, I was so swept away by its charm, authentic food and friendly waiting staff. I have kept going back and loved it each time. Nothing there is frozen except its green tea ice cream!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin F, Manager at Present, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2015

It was our honor to have you as our guest.
The night was more rewarding for us when you came to visit Present Restaurant.
We look forward seeing you again and being part of our family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Present consistently serves fresh, attractive, delicious food. Their menu is poetically descriptive, and somewhat tongue-in-cheek.

The fried spring rolls are fantastic, the exterior is cellophane noodles, making them light and crunchy.

Servers have always been friendly. Interior decor is nicer than most.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SweetPea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin F, Manager at Present, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2015

It was our honor to have you as our guest.
The night was more rewarding for us when you came to visit Present Restaurant.
We look forward seeing you again and being part of our family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Present also viewed

Merrifield, Fairfax County
Falls Church, VA
 

Been to Present? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing