We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely decor and fresh food”
Review of Present

Present
Ranked #4 of 367 Restaurants in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Present Restaurant is home to a melting pot of tasty regional authentic Vietnamese cuisine. Most of the best Vietnamese food can be found at a humble-looking street stall and from the inside of a home kitchen. Present Restaurant is your guide to favorite Vietnamese foods in the Fairfax Co area. Enjoy a quiet dinner with friends with a glass of wine. Present restaurant offer an ambiance of tranquility with our indoor cascading pond that allows our guest to enjoy a quiet dinner with friends with a glass of wine. We also cater to special events and occasions. Surprise your quest with a catered and elaborate Vietnamese buffet.. Thank you to Mr. Tom Sietsema of the Washington Post for the kind review: Editorial Review 2009 Fall Dining Guide By Tom Sietsema Washington Post Staff Writer Plenty of Vietnamese restaurants serve green papaya salad. None that I've sampled makes a better impression than Present's. Freshly roasted nuts give the dish an edge, and so does a "bowl" of purple cabbage, although the crowning touch is lavished on the surface: matchsticks of rich liver instead of the usual beef jerky. Other Vietnamese restaurants are welcoming, but few more so than this place. Need a recommendation? Want to know more about an ingredient? The servers respond with enthusiasm and intelligence, and they make top-notch guides for novices in particular. I've eaten in this serene dining room at least half a dozen times now, yet I always find something new to appreciate.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely decor and fresh food”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

When I first went there, I was so swept away by its charm, authentic food and friendly waiting staff. I have kept going back and loved it each time. Nothing there is frozen except its green tea ice cream!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin F, Manager at Present, responded to this review, September 6, 2015
It was our honor to have you as our guest.
The night was more rewarding for us when you came to visit Present Restaurant.
We look forward seeing you again and being part of our family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    33
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top-notch inventive Vietnamese food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Present consistently serves fresh, attractive, delicious food. Their menu is poetically descriptive, and somewhat tongue-in-cheek.

The fried spring rolls are fantastic, the exterior is cellophane noodles, making them light and crunchy.

Servers have always been friendly. Interior decor is nicer than most.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetPea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin F, Manager at Present, responded to this review, September 6, 2015
It was our honor to have you as our guest.
The night was more rewarding for us when you came to visit Present Restaurant.
We look forward seeing you again and being part of our family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese Restaurant”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Don't be deceived by outward appearances! Located in a small older strip shopping center in Falls Church, VA, the inside is nice with a waterfall and orchid on each table. Tables and booths are well spaced. Service is very good and the food is excellent. The menu is very extensive.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin F, Manager at Present, responded to this review, September 6, 2015
It was our honor to have you as our guest.
The night was more rewarding for us when you came to visit Present Restaurant.
We look forward seeing you again and being part of our family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprising find in metro area”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We visited Present the other night with our neighbors - something we do now and then to different restaurants. This time they chose, and we were not disappointed! The food was delicious, exquisitely presented and our servers took time and attention to deliver what we wanted. We ordered an interesting combination of entrees: "Shrimp in the Fresh Ocean" (a great presentation of lightly sauteed salt and pepper shrimp on a pineapple boat), "Gift from the Sea on a Haystack" (a succulent combination of select seafood and fresh vegetables on a shaped nest of tiny egg noodles with an interesting but light sesame sauce) We will definitely return soon!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank outtoeat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin F, Manager at Present, responded to this review, September 6, 2015
It was our honor to have you as our guest.
The night was more rewarding for us when you came to visit Present Restaurant.
We look forward seeing you again and being part of our family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Delicious food, superior service”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I frequent Present because we love the fresh, complex flavors. The absolutely fantastic wait staff always give us great recommendations and treat us like royalty. Finally, though it's located in an unassuming strip mall, it has nice ambience inside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCmetrodogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin F, Manager at Present, responded to this review, September 6, 2015
It was our honor to have you as our guest.
The night was more rewarding for us when you came to visit Present Restaurant.
We look forward seeing you again and being part of our family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Present also viewed

 

Been to Present? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing