We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Weekend - Including Mother Nature's Light Show”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake
2 reviews
“A Perfect Weekend - Including Mother Nature's Light Show”
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Mark and Sue greeted us with “Welcome to our Home;” our entire stay had all the comfort of a weekend visit with old friends. From the very well maintained grounds – an enjoyable stroll past the pond with its soothing water sounds and blooming lilly pads while en route to the stables to visit the horses and the miniature donkey – to the clean, comfortable, spacious rooms and delectable breakfasts – well “fantastic” describes the food, ambiance, and conversation with the other guests. An easy exit off I-81, close to Lexington and surrounded by some of the best wineries in Virginia – location, location, location. Sue helped us with dinner plans at Osceola Mill – absolutely perfect, another great experience. We are going back to Fox Hill! See you there?
Chuck and Mary Joe Bush

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBXDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
60
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Fox Hill is impeccably clean and the setting is beautiful.This is one of the best B 7B's we ahve stayed at in a long time! Sue and Mark are wonderful hosts and we plan on spending more time thee as soon a our schedules allow.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblesup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We had a fantastic two-night stay in the "Cornwall" room. The entire inn was immaculately clean and comfortable, and the beautiful pastoral setting was so relaxing. Ours was an upstairs room with a balcony overlooking the valley and mountains. Hosts Mark and Sue were welcoming and helpful, and they make an absolutely delicious three-course breakfast! (Though it is at 8:30 am, and you do have to eat with the other guests. Not a big deal, except if you aren't exactly a morning socializer...) Luckily, they are also dog friendly for a reasonable $15 per night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Maine
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Fox Hill offers the best view, located on a beautiful horse farm in Virginia, beautifully appointed, spacious rooms, great hosts, and the best breakfast we've had in a B&B. Although we only had one night to spend there, Fox Hill was one of the best lodging experiences we have had in our extensive "road warrior" travels.

Gail & Cindy, Palermo, Maine

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2009

My husband and I just moved to DC from California and were looking for a relaxing weekend away from the stress of new jobs and the snow on the ground. This was the perfect getaway! The rooms were so cozy, and the surroundings are just breathtaking- even in January. And our two dogs had a blast running around in the fields around the inn! We will be back for another visit soon!

  • Liked — gorgeous location
  • Disliked — 3 hrs from home
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wendyhoffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2009

It was a wonderful experience at Fox Hill. We waited in anticipation for the wonderful breakfasts that were created for us! We were in a secluded beautiful area, but close enough to town and interesting points of interest. The rooms was amazing and so comfortable and charming. We would rate it 10 out ot 10! Best bed and breakfast we have experienced thus far.

  • Liked — the friendliness of the innkeepers and the room, breakfast
  • Disliked — leaving!
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cammycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
203 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

We are not the typical B&B visitor. When we travel we like to keep to ourselves, mostly we stay at hotels and resort facilities. Our visit was the result of a gift for a two night stay. We set off to this B&B warily. Our concerns were unfounded as everything about the place was wonderful. The house is less than ten years old; our room was very clean and comfortable and we felt like we were in a brand new home!

The Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast and Cottage Suites is a beautiful B&B with spectacular views of valleys and the Blue Ridge Mountains. There are also stables and two fish ponds on the property. Mark, one of the owners met us at check-in and immediately made us feel comfortable being at his home. We enjoy hiking and a large number of trail options are within 45 minutes on this location. Sue, his partner is knowledgeable about a range of trails and can provide all the necessary maps.

Each morning’s breakfast was different and tasty. This is a great place to relax and unwind. Since we live two hours away this gave us a chance to tour the surrounding countryside. We enjoyed visiting and dining out in Lexington. Like many areas in Virginia there are a number of historic stories to be told here. Two small size colleges are also located here.

Dinner the first night was at the Southern Inn, the food was really good, and price seemed a bit high for small town dining. The second evening we wanted a less expensive option and stumbled onto the Redwood Family Restaurant. The owner has been in business fifty years! The atmosphere is basic, servers friendly, food tasted like Mom’s home cooking and the price was so low it was amazing. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and posted this review to share our recommendation to go visit.

  • Liked — Scenic Views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joeworf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 16 in Lexington
147 reviews
23.1 mi away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
730 reviews
4.5 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
6.0 mi away
Maple Hall Inn
Maple Hall Inn
#6 of 18 in Lexington
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites

Property: Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites
Address: 4383 Borden Grant Trl, Fairfield, VA 24435-2010
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fairfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and delight in the quiet, comfortable elegance of our 38-acre Shenandoah Valley retreat. Relax in your private suite, or curl up on the porch and watch the clouds float over the Blue Ridge Mountains. We welcome dogs and children, and offer spacious Bed & Breakfast or Kitchen Suites, private baths, AC, HDTV HBO and Showtime, fireplaces, mountain views, walking trails and warm hospitality. Come stay with us, experience the tranquility and beauty here in our Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing