We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Shenandoah Valley Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband surprised me with an overnight getaway after a tandem jump at this lovely inn for my birthday.
Our navigation app located the property without a problem, but if arriving late one needs to be paying close attention to avoid missing the sign to turn into long driveway as there is nothing to illuminate the sign. The inn sits far enough back that there is no road noise to disturb the tranquility of the setting. It is a haven of peace that is still convenient to the area's attractions. Nestled approximately halfway between Lexington and Staunton, we could access a range of wineries, restaurants, and activities that ranged from the Blackfriars Theater to Civil War History to ballooning to hiking. It was absolutely delightful.
Mark and Sue were perfect hosts, attentive and charming. The property is spotlessly maintained inside and out. The lovely grounds invite leisurely evening (or morning) strolls. The breakfast was divine; Sue definitely knows her way around a kitchen.
All-in-all, it was just right.

Room Tip: The Devon Suite offers lovely views and direct access to the deck. One added perk for bird lovers--t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hubby, our pup and I went to Fox Hill Bed and Breakfast just on a whim. We were searching for properties that allow pets and man did we find a treasure hidden in the hills of Virginia. The innkeepers, Sue and Mark were extraordinary hosts. We stayed in a suite as the cotteges were already booked. Again, our last minute weekend trip. We arrived on Friday after a short drive from the Washington, DC area. This BnB is tucked so far off the road we were a bit nervous. Just as we saw the Fox Hil sign and drove the winding rock driveway up to the property, we knew nothing but peac and calm were waiting for us. The meadows with a pathway mowed through just perfect for the walks with the pup. The barn for the horse and the donkey were so pectruesque. The accomodations couldn't have been better. Sue and Mark were full of excellent dog friendly suggestions. Brix, a nice restaurant in Lexington has a small patio that allows pets. But the tapas style food was superb!

We only had the weekend but plan on heading back soon. The town of Lexington is truly dog friendly. The BnB was perfect.

Oh! Did I mention the breakfast! First morning was sweet potato waffles, fresh fruit coffee and muffins. Sunday morning was a delish omlette.

We will defintely return and soon!!!!!

Room Tip: If you plan on bringining your pet, choose a cottage if you want to leave the pup in the room. If n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jumpinjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Went here for our anniversary. Owners are very friendly and thoughtful, and the grounds are wonderful to walk on. Good location, close to Lexington and W&L University and VMI. 3 course breakfast was scrumptious! Dog friendly and our room was very cozy.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

At first we tried for a hotel in Lexington and had no luck for a busy weekend. We did find the Foxhill B&B listed and the reviews and descriptions made it worth a try. We are so glad that we did. It is tucked away at the base of the Blue Ridge Parkway and the views and scenery are wonderful. The inn is far off the road which adds to the peace and quiet. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. The bed was quite comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was perfect for a long day of activity. Healthy and delicious. We highly recommend this as either a launch point to visit the local attractions or just to sit back and relax.

Room Tip: We chose the Cornwall as it was upstairs and a exterior door. This room is quite large and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our stay was excellent. The B&B was clean and very comfortable. The food is excellent and the hosts are very nice and helpful. The view of the montains is amazing. Their place is really pet friendly. Your unable to leave your pet unattended, but there is a nice pet boarding place nearby that is excellent and cheap. My wife and i really enjoyed our stay. Lexington is an excellent place to visit for a weekend getaway with beer tasting, wine tasting, nice resturants, and good historical monuments.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I spent a night here on our return trip up Skyline Drive to NY from visiting friends in Nashville, and we loved this place. The hosts, Susan and Mark, were lovely, and the building and grounds were clean, well-kept, nicely updated, and pretty. The breakfast was delicious, but there was only one seating, at 9:00 A.M. We would have preferred a little more flexibility, say from 9 to 10. One other minor negative was that there was no lock on our door from the outside, so when we were out the door to our room was unlocked. Don't get me wrong, this place is off the beaten track and I did not feel unsafe leaving my belongings in the unlocked room, but I would have preferred to have a door that locked from the outside.

Our room and bathroom was very nicely appointed and very clean. The view was spectacular and the grounds were gorgeous. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Travelhelp4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed 3 nights at Fox Hill while we toured the nearby towns of Staunton and Lexington. An enjoyable and relaxing time with delicious breakfasts! We also liked the mowed paths through the fields for walking and enjoying nature. A truly scenic location!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites

Address: 4383 Borden Grant Trl, Fairfield, VA 24435-2010
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fairfield
Price Range: $200 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and delight in the quiet, comfortable elegance of our 38-acre Shenandoah Valley countryside retreat. Relax in your private suite, or curl up on the porch and watch the clouds float over the Blue Ridge Mountains. We welcome dogs and children, and offer spacious Bed & Breakfast or Kitchen Suites, private baths, AC, HDTV HBO and Showtime, fireplaces, mountain views, walking trails and warm hospitality. Come stay with us, experience the tranquility and beauty here in our Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing