We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quiet place to get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wheaton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Quiet place to get away”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our stay was excellent. The B&B was clean and very comfortable. The food is excellent and the hosts are very nice and helpful. The view of the montains is amazing. Their place is really pet friendly. Your unable to leave your pet unattended, but there is a nice pet boarding place nearby that is excellent and cheap. My wife and i really enjoyed our stay. Lexington is an excellent place to visit for a weekend getaway with beer tasting, wine tasting, nice resturants, and good historical monuments.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
60
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a night here on our return trip up Skyline Drive to NY from visiting friends in Nashville, and we loved this place. The hosts, Susan and Mark, were lovely, and the building and grounds were clean, well-kept, nicely updated, and pretty. The breakfast was delicious, but there was only one seating, at 9:00 A.M. We would have preferred a little more flexibility, say from 9 to 10. One other minor negative was that there was no lock on our door from the outside, so when we were out the door to our room was unlocked. Don't get me wrong, this place is off the beaten track and I did not feel unsafe leaving my belongings in the unlocked room, but I would have preferred to have a door that locked from the outside.

Our room and bathroom was very nicely appointed and very clean. The view was spectacular and the grounds were gorgeous. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelhelp4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed 3 nights at Fox Hill while we toured the nearby towns of Staunton and Lexington. An enjoyable and relaxing time with delicious breakfasts! We also liked the mowed paths through the fields for walking and enjoying nature. A truly scenic location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Planning our first trip from CT to visit my brother & his wife in Murphy NC, we needed a pet friendly place half way to rest. I came across Fox Hill B & B. After reviewing it on multiple sites I decided to book a weekend stay before our venture to NC.- a gift to my husband for our anniversary. I called and had a wonderful conversation with Sue. I booked the Mountain View cottage for our weekend and a one night stay for our trip back home. The cottage was amazing! Sue & Mark delightful, our B&B room on the way home beautiful. This was an anniversary we will always remember. Anyone traveling and looking for a great place to stay, look no more, you will be delighted. Lots of places to visit or just relax. The grounds are lovely, very well kept, this B&B top notch! This was our first time on a long adventure with our two labs...and I must say, they had as much fun as we did! Thank You, Sue & Mark

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaSekula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hi,

I stayed at Sue and Mark's B&B for 5 days in the a spacious, clean and very comfortable suite next to the coolest big wood barn. I can't say enough good things about this place. Sue and Mark were extremely accommodating to all my needs. They know the surrounding area very very well and were so willing to help me find my way around to places that met my interest. The food is so so so good. I even got up early each morning to make sure I had breakfast. Sue is a wonderful cook with wholesome great tasting dishes. I'm from California and the scenery the B & B is located within is stunningly green. The best ever were the lightening bugs in the distance each night in the trees surrounding about a third of the property. I have to admit, sitting quietly on my porch in the darkness enjoying the silence of the night, the twinkling lightening bugs made it magical. I would highly recommend this B & B for anyone!!!

Room Tip: If you like horses, get the suite next to the barn. It is very quiet and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler00751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Fox Hill for our first wedding anniversary, and we had such a wonderful time. Sue and Mark helped us plan where to go and what to do, and recommended a great place for hiking (Crabtree Falls), a nice vineyard (Rockbridge), and a nice place in Lexington for Dinner. They took so much time to help us plan our stay there, and they were extremely welcoming and nice.
The room we stayed in, The Cornwall Room, was amazing. It was very spacious and clean, and we loved feel of the room, and the view from the windows. The grounds at Fox Hill are also beautiful, with a peaceful pond to sit by, and plenty of land to walk around. The breakfast they served was delicious and plentiful.
We had such a nice time celebrating our anniversary here. It was the perfect place to getaway and relax for a weekend. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own entrance. The Cornwall Room is on the second floor, and was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My dog and I come here every year for our spring break, and it always makes me wonder why we ever vacation anyplace else! One of our favorite spots in the world. I'm always sorry to leave, and wish we lived a little closer so I could more easily go just for weekends sometimes! We always stay in the "Mountain View Cottage Suite", which is lovely -- comfy bed, pine walls, charming country kitchen, lovely bathroom, immaculately clean, and with a beautiful deck overlooking the mountains. We mostly brought our own food, but did make one trip into Lexington 10 miles away to enjoy some country indulgences (like a Dairy Queen and an Applebees. Yes, sometimes I miss simple places like that in Manhattan!) Even though it was unusually cold, we spent most of our time outside, just roaming the beautiful grounds and enjoying the peace and quiet. I was happy to see that the adorable donkey was still there :), and charmed when he and the horses all came ambling over to say hello.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreamavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
23.1 mi away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
4.5 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
22.7 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites

Property: Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites
Address: 4383 Borden Grant Trl, Fairfield, VA 24435-2010
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fairfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and delight in the quiet, comfortable elegance of our 38-acre Shenandoah Valley retreat. Relax in your private suite, or curl up on the porch and watch the clouds float over the Blue Ridge Mountains. We welcome dogs and children, and offer spacious Bed & Breakfast or Kitchen Suites, private baths, AC, HDTV HBO and Showtime, fireplaces, mountain views, walking trails and warm hospitality. Come stay with us, experience the tranquility and beauty here in our Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing