We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly owners” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen County NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very friendly owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The best thing Fox Hill has going for it is the owners Sue and Mark...very friendly and knowledgeable and open to suggestions to make their B&B better. The room was quite spacious and the bed comfortable, but lacked a desk or table where one could work. The TV, too, was in an odd position where you could not comfortably see it from either the bed or sofa. We enjoyed the breakfast and they offered coffee at 8 o'clock,which was nice, but we are early risers and had to go to a McDonald's for our morning coffee fix. The countryside is beautiful and Lexington is nearby for history buffs, but for us it was a stopover on our way home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zillexamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxHillBB, Owner at Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We're always glad to have feedback from our guests -- it really helps to know what we can do better. We've added a folding table to this Suite, and just today received the turntable for the TV (shipped from Amazon) so it can be easily moved to view from different places in the room. Coffee earlier than 8:00 am is available if requested -- so sorry these folks went to MacDonalds. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
60
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a lovely stay with Sue and Mark who are excellent friendly hosts. Our room (Cornwall) was large and
spotlessly clean. It was very comfortable with a fridge and soft drinks available. The bathroom was large enough for all your things and had a shower over the bath tub. The bed and breakfast sits in its own grounds which you can walk around and overlooks the Blue Ridge Mountains with lovely views. Lexington is the nearest place to have good food and, although a little distance, it was worth the drive and you could return and sit on the porch and enjoy a glass of wine.
Breakfasts were very good with a different three course menu each day and good home cooking. The blueberry muffins were delicious and light as was the French toast. Compared to other US B & Bs these breakfasts were excellent. It was lovely to see dog owners enjoying the comforts of a B & B, large grounds for the dogs to explore and being able to have breakfast with their pets on the porch. We have never been to a B & B before where dog owners and other guests are equally welcomed.
Sue is very knowledgeable about the local area and is happy to recommend itineries for the day, whatever your interests are.
We would highly recommend this establishment if you are in the area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

It was an nice B&B. The room was large, furniture was pretty, but nothing was over-the-top, OMG special. It had a log cabin, woodsy feel. The bathroom was especially small and disappointing. The tub was tiny and nearly too small for an adult to squeeze in to for a hot bath after a long day driving.

Pet friendly? Kind of, but not really. You sign a waiver stating you won't allow your pet on ANY furniture, bedding or leave your pet in your room. So when we asked about meals and restaurants (after driving all day and several hours in the rain) we were told we have to turn around, get back in the car and drive back to town to get food AND load our dog up and take her with us. We could not leave her in the room, even if we left her in the kennel. The owner did suggest that we could "lock her in the car" while we went out to eat. I don't consider this a pet-friendly suggestion.

So we unloaded, checked out the room, refreshed ourselves and our pet for a few minutes and drove back into the town we had just come through to purchase dinner. We then returned to the inn and ate dinner outside on the wet patio because with our pet on her leash. Again, not really pet friendly.

We were also told at check-in our pet was welcome anywhere outside but not inside, and that we would have to eat out on the patio or again lock or dog in the car. How is this "pet friendly?" So we had breakfast outside on the patio with our dog. This was okay because the weather was decent, but I can't imagine if it had been chilly, damp or pouring rain (as it had been shortly before we arrived the afternoon before). What then? No breakfast?

Having stayed at Bed and Breakfast Inn's all over the country and many in Europe, I can say Fox Hill's owners were friendly, breakfast was good, the room was nice. They did bring our dog a treat at breakfast, but with all of the other restrictions and comments about locking her in the car (made more than once), this is not a "pet friendly B&B." We would not have stayed here had we known this. It was a bit out of the way and seemed special. It was not THAT special.

Room: 3/5, typical B&B room. Bed was comfy. AC cut off at night so room was stuffy. Outside door was nice allowing privacy. Small bathtub was irritating. Decor almost came across as grandma stuffy and prissy complete with coasters. It felt like you were not supposed to actually be comfortable in the room. Just look at how gorgeous it is, but don't use it or be comfy.

Breakfast: 3/5, good, but again not remarkable. Nothing that sent me over the moon or made me want to ask for a recipe. We were not welcomed with a drink upon arrival (it all felt a bit rushed).
Location: 3/5, lovely, scenic but out of the way. You have to go here for a reason.

Value: 3/5, okay. Nothing special. Have stayed at MANY better, nicer, with better breakfasts. Felt a bit conned by the "pet friendly" bit and it was NOT pet friendly.

Would I return: No.

Room Tip: I'm sure pets would love romping the fields. We were only there overnight. It is a beautiful s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuReeBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxHillBB, Owner at Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
As a pet-friendly property also accommodating guests who travel without pets, we try to be sensitive to everyone's wishes. Our pet policies are listed on our website, on-line reservation form, and in every confirmation (we also discuss them with people reserving by phone) which helps sets expectations for all of our visitors. We are very sorry our recent guests did not notice we ask dogs not be left unattended in our B&B Rooms. We do offer the option to leave dogs crated and unattended in our Cottage Suites, which are not adjacent to any other guest rooms, so when dogs bark as they sometimes will when left alone in a new place, other guests are not disturbed. Dogs are invited to enjoy every place on our 38-acre property (all decks, porches and guest rooms) with two exceptions: one B&B room that is "pet free" for guests with allergies and our main living room/dining room. As dog lovers ourselves, we are not bothered with having dogs around the dining table, but we have found some guests are concerned about that, so we serve breakfast to our canine visitors and their companions on the back deck.

We are also sorry our guests were disappointed with other aspects of their visit. Although we are near Interstate 81, we are rural. There are a few fast-food and pizza restaurants within two miles, but for better dining Lexington is the closest option (13 miles south). Several Lexington restaurants offer pet-friendly outside dining; our "Doggies Welcome" information sheet lists all of these as well as pet-friendly shops and nearby pet-friendly activities and attractions (the drive-in movie is a favorite). Guests are also welcome to bring food and eat in their rooms, on the back porch, the front porch, or one of our picnic tables.

We care deeply about providing a wonderful experience for all of our guests, and do enjoy welcoming canine visitors to our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suitland, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I wish I would have stayed two nights but I had to get back to reality....For someone whos never been to a B&B I was amazed it was like going on vacation to my moms house...warm cozy and just relaxing, I have to thank Mark and Sue for making me feel so at home from the brownie bites and personal "welcome to Foxhill" card to the amazing breakfast on Sunday morning ... best nights sleep I've had in months...I cant wait to go back and continue my adventure out there. Definetly plenty of things to do in the area make sure to check the town calendar for special events...

Room Tip: Read the directions sent to you by Sue or Mark and definetly visit the area lots to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Fox Hill was practically perfect. The house is a luxury log cabin, and our room (the Devon) was huge, had all the modern ammenities (wifi etc) and was immaculately clean. The grounds are beautiful and there's a picturesque barn across the lawn, with two horses and a very friendly donkey. The location was a country but not too country, and a short, easy drive to downtown Lexington. It also was convenient to all the other tourist attractions in the area, such as Natural Bridge and the wineries. There was coffee available at 8 am (one tiny complaint: we're early risers and would have loved to have had coffee available earlier) and there was a gourmet breakfast at 8:30. The innkeepers were helpful and friendly, but unobtrusive. We chose it for its dog-friendliness and it definitely was. We loved that our first floor room had a private door going out, so that we didn't have to walk our extra large dog through the public area of the house. And we loved, loved, loved that they cut a path through their 38 acre property, so that it was so very easy to step out of our room for a long walk through the woods.

Room Tip: It didn't bother us (neither they nor we were in our rooms that much), but we did hear every foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thehistorytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

I stayed in the Mountain View Cottage Suite for just one night with my dog. It was absolutely perfect!! I could have been very happy there for a week, the only reason we didn't extend our stay was that I couldn't extend my car rental! The suite itself was beautiful: private balcony looking over the mountains, beautiful views and breezes from the bedroom window too, modern bathroom, charming (but modern) country kitchen with sloping ceiling, comfy bed, and nice extras (like a cute rocking chair and a welcome plate of doggie treats and homemade brownies!). It was also IMMACULATELY clean: I'm normally a 4+-star hotel person, and find most vacation rentals (especially in the country) a bit dingy and grimy, but this place was probably cleaner than any hotel I've ever stayed in! Kitchen was equipped with everything I needed (toaster, coffeemaker, pots, pans etc.), towels were nice and fluffy, and I appreciated the A/C, free internet, and satellite TV.
But the best part was outside: 38 gorgeous acres of land with mountain views all around! My dog was in paradise -- she loved romping in the meadows, exploring the little creeks and ponds, and wandering where she wasn't supposed to go, to get a better look at the owners' cute little dog :). The only sound we heard was the chirping of birds in the background, it was exactly the escape from home (Manhattan, NY) we needed. As an animal-lover, I also enjoyed watching the horses, and saying hello to the owners' cute little donkey. The owners are also super-nice.

Room Tip: The Mountain View cottage suite is fantastic, spacious with beautiful views. (I noticed that the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreamavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

If you are looking for peace and quiet this place delivers. Rooms are nice and they accept dogs in most. When we were there none of the guests had dogs nor did we but it looked like a great place to bring the pooch. They have 38 acres with a fine view of the mountains. Breakfast was good and they are somewhat flexible on the menu. Don't know if they will serve it any other than 8:30 though?

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield
21.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
10.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
11.7 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
22.7 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites

Property: Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites
Address: 4383 Borden Grant Trl, Fairfield, VA 24435-2010
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fairfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and delight in the quiet, comfortable elegance of our 38-acre Shenandoah Valley retreat. Relax in your private suite, or curl up on the porch and watch the clouds float over the Blue Ridge Mountains. We welcome dogs and children, and offer spacious Bed & Breakfast or Kitchen Suites, private baths, AC, HDTV HBO and Showtime, fireplaces, mountain views, walking trails and warm hospitality. Come stay with us, experience the tranquility and beauty here in our Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing