We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inn Love”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Severn, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Inn Love”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Fox Hill was practically perfect. The house is a luxury log cabin, and our room (the Devon) was huge, had all the modern ammenities (wifi etc) and was immaculately clean. The grounds are beautiful and there's a picturesque barn across the lawn, with two horses and a very friendly donkey. The location was a country but not too country, and a short, easy drive to downtown Lexington. It also was convenient to all the other tourist attractions in the area, such as Natural Bridge and the wineries. There was coffee available at 8 am (one tiny complaint: we're early risers and would have loved to have had coffee available earlier) and there was a gourmet breakfast at 8:30. The innkeepers were helpful and friendly, but unobtrusive. We chose it for its dog-friendliness and it definitely was. We loved that our first floor room had a private door going out, so that we didn't have to walk our extra large dog through the public area of the house. And we loved, loved, loved that they cut a path through their 38 acre property, so that it was so very easy to step out of our room for a long walk through the woods.

Room Tip: It didn't bother us (neither they nor we were in our rooms that much), but we did hear every foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehistorytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
60
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I stayed in the Mountain View Cottage Suite for just one night with my dog. It was absolutely perfect!! I could have been very happy there for a week, the only reason we didn't extend our stay was that I couldn't extend my car rental! The suite itself was beautiful: private balcony looking over the mountains, beautiful views and breezes from the bedroom window too, modern bathroom, charming (but modern) country kitchen with sloping ceiling, comfy bed, and nice extras (like a cute rocking chair and a welcome plate of doggie treats and homemade brownies!). It was also IMMACULATELY clean: I'm normally a 4+-star hotel person, and find most vacation rentals (especially in the country) a bit dingy and grimy, but this place was probably cleaner than any hotel I've ever stayed in! Kitchen was equipped with everything I needed (toaster, coffeemaker, pots, pans etc.), towels were nice and fluffy, and I appreciated the A/C, free internet, and satellite TV.
But the best part was outside: 38 gorgeous acres of land with mountain views all around! My dog was in paradise -- she loved romping in the meadows, exploring the little creeks and ponds, and wandering where she wasn't supposed to go, to get a better look at the owners' cute little dog :). The only sound we heard was the chirping of birds in the background, it was exactly the escape from home (Manhattan, NY) we needed. As an animal-lover, I also enjoyed watching the horses, and saying hello to the owners' cute little donkey. The owners are also super-nice.

Room Tip: The Mountain View cottage suite is fantastic, spacious with beautiful views. (I noticed that the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreamavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

If you are looking for peace and quiet this place delivers. Rooms are nice and they accept dogs in most. When we were there none of the guests had dogs nor did we but it looked like a great place to bring the pooch. They have 38 acres with a fine view of the mountains. Breakfast was good and they are somewhat flexible on the menu. Don't know if they will serve it any other than 8:30 though?

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanexa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Imagine a rustic room furnished with antiques, ABSOLUTELY CLEAN, set upon multiple acres. Friendly, courteous staff. A most enjoyable 40th anniversary experience. We don't recommend anything lightly, but we recommend Fox Hill wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garyanddebbie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Where do we start...Sue & Mark are absolutely wonderful! My husband and I spent 3 nights, 4 days and hated to leave. Our room was perfect and larger than we expected. The Bed and Breakfast is very secluded but still a close drive to many attractions. I think we enjoyed the drives the most and discovering the country on our own. Sue and Mark both were able to answer any of our questions and offer suggestions for everything from shopping to eating. Each morning we were excited to see what was for breakfast! It was always 3 courses and fantastic! This was our first visit to a Bed and Breakfast and we will certainly be back! I've already referred others and talked to friends about joining us on a return trip! Thank you Sue and Mark for a fantastic anniversary, hopefully we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2010

A truly peaceful setting in an excellent location for the Blue Ridge Mountains. Our first experience of B&B's in USA and we were not disappointed. Our room was spotlessly clean, very large and extremely comfortable.
Sue and Mark were friendly, helpful but not intrusive.
The breakfasts could only be marvelled at and enjoyed.
We would dearly love to return given the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaguarDesborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

This B&B provides very clean and comfortable accommodation with lovely grounds and horse riding available nearby. Our cottage suite was a basement apartment with no mountain or meadow views and no windows in either of the bedrooms or the bathroom, so we used the shared porches at the front & back of the B&B to enjoy the view of the grounds and mountains. We could hear the movements of the owners getting ready for breakfast above us early in the morning, but the lack of windows in the bedrooms made it nice and dark for sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lions_Giraffes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
23.1 mi away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
4.5 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
22.7 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites

Property: Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites
Address: 4383 Borden Grant Trl, Fairfield, VA 24435-2010
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fairfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and delight in the quiet, comfortable elegance of our 38-acre Shenandoah Valley retreat. Relax in your private suite, or curl up on the porch and watch the clouds float over the Blue Ridge Mountains. We welcome dogs and children, and offer spacious Bed & Breakfast or Kitchen Suites, private baths, AC, HDTV HBO and Showtime, fireplaces, mountain views, walking trails and warm hospitality. Come stay with us, experience the tranquility and beauty here in our Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing