We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Local Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aabee Persian & Mediterranean Restaurant

Aabee Persian & Mediterranean Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 384 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $9 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Previously known as Cooking & Company is one of a kind restaurant serving Mediterranean food complimented by Persian cuisine. Our menu also has options for our celiac allergy, vegetarian and vegan customers. Our food is free from "MSG" and other additives and is made to order. We believe food should give you energy, not bring you down and additives like "MSG" can cause drowsiness or headaches. Eating bad food is a horrible shame and AA'BEE restaurant is one hundred percent dedicated to offering healthy eating. All of our dishes are our favorite dishes and anything you choose is sure to be delicious and healthy. We also now offer delivery to 5 miles surrounding our location.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Local Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Family owned restaurant with great Mediterranean food, mostly Turkish and Italian bent. Atmosphere is cozy and there are extras going on during the week. Food was good, I had the shawarma.

Helpful?
Thank nibblet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    7
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vegan & Vegetarian Options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a great meal. They have so many options for vegetarian, vegan, gluten free and regular diets. Service was wonderful and food was amazing!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Italian and Mediterranean Restaurant with Healthy Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Last night my husband and I celebrated my birthday at a great restaurant in Fairfax – COOKING AND COMPANY. We had been here a few years back when it previously known as Vespucci fine Italian dining. Vespucci's has been merged into its parent business Cooking and Company catering under same management.

The owner, Ray, greeted us and gave us fantastic service all evening. He took time with us explaining their wonderful menu. They really cater to people who want healthy food. They also have items on their menu for those diners with special needs that are Vegan, Vegetarian, 100% Gluten Free and they do not use MSG.

Beside wonderful Italian unique and fresh made from scratch meals, you can enjoy other Mediterranean dishes surrounding the Mediterranean sea as well. We got a great bottle of wine and then ordered.

For starters I had a delicious shrimp cocktail – the shrimp had been sautéed in white wine, garlic and olive oil and came with a house-made cocktail sauce. My husband enjoyed the soup of the day which was clam chowder and was really full of clams. They also brought us some great roasted garlic in olive oil along with some bread that was delicious.

For our mains I had the Chicken Marsala, which was fixed with Portobello mushrooms in a wine sauce which was served with several vegetables as sides. My husband tried one of their specialties of Seafood Thermidor – it had jumbo crab-meat, shrimp, scallops and sea bass that was cooked in a creamy cognac sauce and that was topped with a puff pastry. He can't wait to go back and do it all over again – everything was delicious.

Then as a surprise they brought me some cake while a happy birthday song played. It was a wonderful evening and I can definitely recommend Cooking and Company as a great local restaurant – especially for anyone with special dietary needs. Plus they have the catering side of the business so you can order off an extensive menu and enjoy their foods when you entertain. They open daily for dinner at 5 pm. Earlier in the day they can put on special events in their restaurant, so definitely contact Ray at (703) 352-0331, if you are considering something special. The restaurant is located at 10579 Fairfax Blvd., Fairfax, VA.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoisInsiderTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herndon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Came with family.. took the boys out to dinner. Lots of meals priced under $16, and smaller portions also available for less. Very affordable food yet exquisite quality and delicious taste. Owner is very personable. He really cares about people and the quality of the food. Food of this quality is hard to find even in so-called 'top' places, and you will pay much more and still not beat the food here. In a 5 star rating of food quality and taste, I would give them 6. When I have been there, the place has not been overly crowded, which is nice. The music is soft and not intrusive, and it is quality music, not the canned elevator stuff at other places.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hikaru R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Kind of hidden away, but found it no problem with GPS. Well worth it. I am a picky eater, and they catered to me well. They do true gluten free with no cross contamination. Their food is delicious and very reasonably priced for the high quality. The atmosphere is cozy and classy. They cook their food from scratch, so do not expect your meal in just 5 mins... this is NOT fast food, but the waiting time is very reasonable for food cooked from scratch. They use the best quality ingredients, and the chef has very high standards for freshness of ingredients. They cook with olive oil and absolutely do not use MSG, unlike many other places. They can make smaller portions for children if requested, and they have free wifi.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aabee Persian & Mediterranean Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aabee Persian & Mediterranean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing