We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresher food at breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Fairfax
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Now, breakfast is still a buffet of stuff in warming dishes like at a lot of other places, but a nice lady brings out food often, not just you get whatever was left from six in the morning. And the potatoes actually look like potatoes. And there was salsa and cheese for the eggs (except that they ran out on Saturday), and strawberry topping and such for the waffles and pancakes...little extra details like that.
There was something goofy going on with my TV, and it kept changing ratios. But I really didn't want maintance in my room, so I didn't complain about it till checkout. I'm sure it's fixed now.
It's too bad that that they don't have a hot tub and the pool is outside. It's a nice pool area, but it's too cold there for an outdoor pool to be very useful. We went in August and tried to swim once, but it was still only a high of eighty degrees in the late afternoon. But it looks attractive, it's clean, and it has ivy growing on the fence.
I like more counter space on the sink, but that's okay.
The front desk gave me a list of restaurants you can walk to, but most of them required more walking than what I like to do. But plenty of places to drive to.
The drive entrance to the property is not the best, so if we were driving in and out during busier traffic times that might be a problem. And there are speed bumps in the parking lot, probably because previous guests were idiots. But most were quiet when we were there. Speed bumps are annoying, but that's probably safer.
I would go back if I got the same deal, but I doubt they will have any rooms left at that rate by the time next month's schedule is confirmed.

Room Tip: I don't know why anyway would expect an elevator, cause it's only three stories tall, and it...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dawnell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Fairfax
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 441 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

We paid for a King, and were upgraded to a suite, great room, bed was very comfortable. The front desk staff were very friendly and professional, both when we checked in and out. The breakfast was above average for a BW, hot food, donuts, oj, good coffee. Only here for 1 night, but it was within walking distance of a couple of places to eat as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mnr717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This was our second stay with this hotel and, again, we were not disappointed. If you hate Washington traffic as we do, this is a great place to stay. The bus line has stops on the street in front of the hotel that go to the Vienna Metro station. From there, you can go to any of the Metro stations and one of them will get you at least fairly close to your destination. There will probably be some walking involved, especially if you're visiting buildings and monuments on the Mall, but we think that's much better than fighting DC traffic. The hotel staff is always courteous and helpful, and we've not had a problem with room cleanliness during either stay. It's so nice to have a hot breakfast to start your day, and the food is good with enough choices to suite most anyone. The only drawback we can point out is that the hotel doesn't serve dinner, but there are several good restaurants within a couple of blocks. The cost of the rooms is low for Northern Virginia/DC. Best Western Fairfax is our favorite and is a great value!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank starchild6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel has some great things going for it and we enjoyed our stay very much. What's going on for it are the staff, especially some the front desk, restaurant and room service staff were super helpful. As well, their hot breakfast was a hit with us as it was fresh every morning and the server was so warm and welcoming and we really like her. Sorry didn't get her name.

The room was very clean and changed every day for you. It comes with microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker and flat screen TV. The bathroom is a bit small and the facial sink is in the room but it does the job. I think it was a designing flaw as the hotel is sitting on a huge lot.

Other great things that we liked about the hotel were the free WiFi and parking and its proximity to shopping and malls.

It has lots going for it for its size and they're doing improvements to it so I am sure it will continue to provide value for its customers.

Overall we had a great time and will definitely stay here again. Thanks to the staff who made our stay pleasurable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephenmay, General Manager at Best Western Fairfax, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Afcan,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy that you had a great time and will stay with us again in the future. We continually strive to make improvements to our property. I will also let Gloria, our breakfast hostess, know that you appreciated her service. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great Hotel! The manager and his entire staff are the best! I was given an upgrade to one of the suites. The place is wonderful, whether you are in the area for sight seeing or have kids going to the schools. Buses run that can take you to the metro, no need to do much driving. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Daryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephenmay, General Manager at Best Western Fairfax, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Daryl,

Thank you for your kind comments. We strive daily to make our guests enjoy their stay with us and your comments help justify those efforts. The Cue bus does stop in front of our hotel and goes to the Vienna Orange Line Metro Station. The cost for an adult is $1.75 one way and only takes 15 minutes. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Checked into this hotel. Were disappointed at the condition and cleanliness of the room. When we checked into the room we found a man in a uniform washing his hands at the sink and then he used a hand towel to clean the sink. Needless to say, we checked out immediately and did not stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephenmay, General Manager at Best Western Fairfax, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Paul,

I apologize that you were unable to stay and enjoy our hospitality. Unfortunately, when you checked in one of our maintenance staff was fixing the faucet in that room. He should have had the door open and also should have notified our front desk that he was in the room working. Since he was working in the room, our housekeeping staff would have returned and replaced the towel and any other mess that he left behind. Again, I apologize for not having the opportunity to provide you with a pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our first stay was a horrible disaster as for the cleanliness of the room. The staff's attitude helped a bit though. We were given a two night stay as good will because of our experience was so bad the first time. The second time our daughter stayed for one night and had a GREAT experience and the hotel and staff lived up to all expectations. We are looking forward to staying at the hotel in the future!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephenmay, General Manager at Best Western Fairfax, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Andrew,
I am happy that your daughter was able to return after your unpleasant first experience and have a great second experience. Thank you for giving us a second chance and have that second chance be a success. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
#7 of 21 in Fairfax
135 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn University Center
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Fairfax

Address: 3535 Chain Bridge Rd, Fairfax, VA 22030-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#8 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range: $89 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Fairfax 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fairfax Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing