We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Order the mushrooms!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Flats

Coastal Flats
Ranked #2 of 392 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Order the mushrooms!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

First time to Coastal Flats and was impressed with the Chedder Burger with a side of grilledmushrooms and my wife enjoyed the shrimp roll. Our server Julie was very pleasant and I have to thank her for recommending the mushrooms. Will come back!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DC_Cazador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    231
    58
    18
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
361 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I ate there twice and liked the food. The price was also very reasonable but coming from a high-price area I'm not sure if locals would share this opinion. The bad part was the surrounding. You feel like being in a big train station waiting area, and the noise level was really high. You can not expect a cozy conversation with your significant other as he/she may misunderstand what you are saying. But if you just want to have a good dinner, I think that is a good place to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hiking-har
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Husband and I went last night for dinner, first visit for me. We started with the Blue Crab and Rock Shrimp fritters that were fantastic! Husband had the grilled shrimp over Meditteranean orzo, and I had a grilled mahi special. Both entrees very good, service was prompt. Overall a lovely evening out, would definitely dine there again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NicoleS0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Coastal Flats is another one of our favorite "Great American Restaurants." Their specialty is fish dishes, but they also have wonderful steaks, pasta dishes, etc. Their bread pudding is the best in the world, and the shrimp cocktail is amazing. We are never disappointed, and they usually take pride in good service too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReiseLust_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“1st Time Very Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

First time visit with a party of five for mid-afternoon lunch on a Saturday. Atmosphere, food & service was very good; plan to go back again without a doubt.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Flats also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing