We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order the mushrooms!!”
Review of Coastal Flats

Coastal Flats
Ranked #2 of 419 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Order the mushrooms!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

First time to Coastal Flats and was impressed with the Chedder Burger with a side of grilledmushrooms and my wife enjoyed the shrimp roll. Our server Julie was very pleasant and I have to thank her for recommending the mushrooms. Will come back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DC_Cazador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    266
    61
    20
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I ate there twice and liked the food. The price was also very reasonable but coming from a high-price area I'm not sure if locals would share this opinion. The bad part was the surrounding. You feel like being in a big train station waiting area, and the noise level was really high. You can not expect a cozy conversation with your significant other as he/she may misunderstand what you are saying. But if you just want to have a good dinner, I think that is a good place to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hiking-har
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Husband and I went last night for dinner, first visit for me. We started with the Blue Crab and Rock Shrimp fritters that were fantastic! Husband had the grilled shrimp over Meditteranean orzo, and I had a grilled mahi special. Both entrees very good, service was prompt. Overall a lovely evening out, would definitely dine there again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicoleS0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Coastal Flats is another one of our favorite "Great American Restaurants." Their specialty is fish dishes, but they also have wonderful steaks, pasta dishes, etc. Their bread pudding is the best in the world, and the shrimp cocktail is amazing. We are never disappointed, and they usually take pride in good service too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReiseLust_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“1st Time Very Good Experience”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

First time visit with a party of five for mid-afternoon lunch on a Saturday. Atmosphere, food & service was very good; plan to go back again without a doubt.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Flats also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing