We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love Joe's!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #35 of 392 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love Joe's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

No need for a review. Simply awesome! Never disappointed! The food is expensive, so don't let the average price range fool ya. It's a $55 for 2 people, not including appetizers and drinks

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank countrygurl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    36
    18
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Crabs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The title says it all the crabs are great. We both had the Queen crabs and enjoyed them. The waiter was not particularly helpful or friendly so I was glad it was a food specific spot

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lbm1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Joe's has GREAT food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I don't have a Joe's near where I live so I always look around for one when on a trip. Luckily this one was on my way from DC so we had to stop. Food and service was awesome just like the other's I have ate at. The food is a bit on the high side but when you look at the quantity of seafood you are getting it really is a pretty good deal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hank3fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First time, sad there are not any near me !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have been seeing commercials for Joes on tv for a long time but do not have a location near me. So when my daughter and I were planning a trip to DC we found out there was one right accross the street from our hotel in Fairfax VA. We went on a Sunday night, we were greated enthusiastically from a hostess right away, they sat us at a table and asked if we had ever been there before. We said no so they gave us a run down of how things worked and what to order. I ordered a New England Clam Bake bucket and it was fantastic, two lobsters, clams, corn, patatoes etc. All of the food was cooked well and tasted delicious, my daughter got a crab leg bucket and I shared some of that as well. The service was fantastic !! They only problem was that I probably ate 10 pounds of food !! Really sad there is not one near me !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank auwareagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good family seafood dinner, fun atmosphere many choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was our first time there, it was a different experience for sure. Fun and pleasant greeters, a bit loud but you get used to it. The service was pretty good, not the place for a romantic evening for sure, but above average deals and seafood yes. We had the seafood pots( Citrus Spicy Pot and the Artic Bay) a good portion of food for the dollar. Well prepared and above average flavor. We enjoyed it as something different, a bit pricey but good for every now and again visit.
Definitely better then Red Lobster and similar places or chains.
Dinner for two with a appetizer coupon, about 70 dollars. Not bad.... we both were pleased and will go back. Go to the internet site for a decent coupon. Don't have small children anymore, but they do have a kids play area as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigDaddy3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing