We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“First time, sad there are not any near me !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #35 of 385 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First time, sad there are not any near me !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have been seeing commercials for Joes on tv for a long time but do not have a location near me. So when my daughter and I were planning a trip to DC we found out there was one right accross the street from our hotel in Fairfax VA. We went on a Sunday night, we were greated enthusiastically from a hostess right away, they sat us at a table and asked if we had ever been there before. We said no so they gave us a run down of how things worked and what to order. I ordered a New England Clam Bake bucket and it was fantastic, two lobsters, clams, corn, patatoes etc. All of the food was cooked well and tasted delicious, my daughter got a crab leg bucket and I shared some of that as well. The service was fantastic !! They only problem was that I probably ate 10 pounds of food !! Really sad there is not one near me !

Visited April 2013
1 Thank auwareagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good family seafood dinner, fun atmosphere many choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was our first time there, it was a different experience for sure. Fun and pleasant greeters, a bit loud but you get used to it. The service was pretty good, not the place for a romantic evening for sure, but above average deals and seafood yes. We had the seafood pots( Citrus Spicy Pot and the Artic Bay) a good portion of food for the dollar. Well prepared and above average flavor. We enjoyed it as something different, a bit pricey but good for every now and again visit.
Definitely better then Red Lobster and similar places or chains.
Dinner for two with a appetizer coupon, about 70 dollars. Not bad.... we both were pleased and will go back. Go to the internet site for a decent coupon. Don't have small children anymore, but they do have a kids play area as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
Thank BigDaddy3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Nothing outstanding. Got the grilled lobster, back wrapped scallops and bacon wrap scallop. Lobster under cook, bacon entrees overlooked. Lot of choices but preparation of food underwhelming.

1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Your average chain seafood place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Quite an expensive place for the atmosphere and quality of the food. Lobster was tough, salmon and vegetables overcooked. When spending this much money, I'd prefer to eat somewhere without a roll of paper towels on the table and kids running everywhere. My brother ordered fish and chips where were clearly soggy and dripping with grease. I think red lobster is a better choice.

Visited December 2012
1 Thank Sandbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
452 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Bring a Fire Extinguisher for your Table”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

OMG! Without a doubt, the WORST we have ever eaten. Everything, no matter what you order, is so spiced that it's almost inedible. Shrimp, hush puppies, lobster, even mashed potatoes. How can mashed potatoes be so spicy that you can't figure out what you're eating?? I went through almost three glasses of water and a beer - when we walked out my tongue was literally burning. Not sure how anyone cooking these things can even reasonably believe it's tasty. I will say the onion rings, salad, and string beans were not spicy, but my guess is they must have run out of whatever they were putting in this food. I had the opportunity to fill out a survey on the receipt and get a free $7.00 appetizer for our next visit. It could be worth $50 and I wouldn't go back. They should supply a fire extinguisher for each customer who walks in the door. NEVER EVER EVER AGAIN.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
1 Thank eaglesclaw121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed


Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing