We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat Hardy and Well in the Heart of Fairfax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Havabite Eatery

Havabite Eatery
Ranked #44 of 416 Restaurants in Fairfax
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Eat Hardy and Well in the Heart of Fairfax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

OK, so we didn't find out about this place until we lived in Fairfax for 12 years, and it's walking distance from our condo. Shame on us, that was five years ago, but we're making up for lost time! We take out at least once or twice a week from this fantastic little restaurant. Everything, and we mean EVERYTHING, is delicious, big portions and absolutely great hosts. You'd think you're in a post card when you walk through the doors. The place is tiny and no frills which means Ida and staff concentrate on what's important, the food. Greek or Italian specialties are first class, and even the simple cheeseburger/fries is terrific. It's right on Main Street in Old Town Fairfax but if you don't see the sign, be sure to ask the locals because for outstanding food and at a reasonable price this is your place. Perfect for George Mason Univesity parents to feed their kids!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our cozy favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is our favorite place to go after a rough day. It's cozy and inviting with fantastic food and terrific service. We've brought many friends to Havabite, and all the food has been fresh and delicious. The owner and staff are very accommodating and treat you like family. There is plenty of parking in front or within a block away, and it's a local, family-run business right in the heart of quaint Old Town Fairfax.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LizaFfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
“Excellent food and quaint enrivornment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband and I went here after overhearing some people rave that "it's not much to look at, but it's fantastic food." The Havabite is a hidden gem in Fairfax, and it's been here forever. The staff seem to know everyone there - it felt like going home even though it was our first time. I ordered the Chicken Parmigiana, and my husband ordered the gyro plate. Everything was delicious, and the prices were great. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hidden little secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a hidden little restaruant in old town Fairfax. It is a small, cozy place owned by Greek people that are "off the boat" if you will. The food is great, prices are better and the staff is top notch. We were treated like we were a guest in their home and given everything we asked for. One of the best Greek places I've ever been to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good,Plentiful,Economic Eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Located in historic old town Fairfax,VA-this family style restaurant was introduced to us by our student son at George Mason University.It features Greek and Italian Specialties and homemade pizza for breakfast, lunch and dinner.We have eaten there several times and have not been disappointed.Featured items include grape leaves, tzatziki,greek salads with wonderful feta cheese,gyros,souvlaki, as well as burgers, subs and other sandwiches. Entrees feature Baked moussaka, spanakopita, shish kabob, lasagna, chicken parm, fettucini alfredo and of course pasta and meatballs. Baklava and rice pudding are great for dessert. They also have homemade pizza including a greek version. They are able to cater with dinner trays for family gatherings. Entrees range in price from 9.95 to 11.95. There is an appetizer plate for 7.99. The largest gourmet pizza (16 in) is only 17.99. Believe me, the prices for this upscale area are fantastic.Ambiance-wise it is rather small, out-dated but clean with Greek music and Greek waiters and waitresses-to be honest some are probably new to this country. Very friendly and very polite and attentive. I've always believed that these little places are great and as for me, Greek food is healthy and tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeCod52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Havabite Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing